We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Whilst situated in a beautiful location the quality of service we were provided with staying here was disappointing. As soon as we entered the apartment we began to sweat. The whole apartment was incredibly hot and humid. Even after staying two nights and with the a/c on 24/7 the apartment barely cooled down making it very uncomfortable and hard to sleep at night. The apartment had not been maintained as various things were broken/not functioning ranging from the tap in the bathroom to the AUSTAR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricDickinson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Kira.
The Island is a magical place, with the resort being positioned on what is the arguably the best location on Magnetic Island.
Waking up in the morning to a golden sunrise with spectacular views across the Coral Sea, which can only be had from our luxurious apartments is the stuff dreams are made of.
I thank you for your comments on that particular apartment, they help us continually improve our guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    115
    60
    34
    24
See reviews for
107
167
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Overall the location, facilities and outlook of the hotel are good however the room we stayed in was terrible. Our first impression was to enter & turn on the a/c. The roar of this was lucky to not be heard on the mainland. We stayed for 3 nights & the a/c never became cold. We had severely hot days, sweltering inside & obviously restless sleep if at all. No fans at all either so no relief at all. The overall maintenance of the room was poor with kitchen & bathroom tapware almost falling off & leaking everywhere. Fridge also failed to keep very cool, lucky milk didn't curdle. Will never stay here again & will tell everyone we know.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sorohanpdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricDickinson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Grand Mercure Magnetic Island.
We try very hard to ensure that all our guests have a wonderful time not only at the resort but on our beautiful Island as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful location with sweeping views to the North, South and west of the island. Wallabies jump around between the hotel and the shoreline which was a cute surprise. There is an IGA, fish and chips, and a car rental about 100m away and it's the same distance to the ferry. Check in was no problem and the staff were friendly.

Only dawback was no cleaning or servicing. We ran out of toilet paper 2 days into our stay, and also would have pefered a replenishing of towels since we stayed for several days.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Harp00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricDickinson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We thank you for your feedback and appreciate your kind words.
As fully self contained apartments we do provide all guests with starter packs, including toiletries and milk.
Room service is available upon request or should you be staying for a period of 7 consecutive days or more we do provide clean linen, towels etc. on day 5 of your stay.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Highly Recommended!
The Grand Mercure Apartments on Magnetic Island were the perfect location for our summer getaway!
The apartments are quite large, and the ocean views were terrific!
Eric & Rita, and all of the other staff were all great . They were always available if we had questions of needed anything in the apartment.
The location was brilliant. 100m from the ferry terminal and bus stop meant that getting around was very easy. However with the great weather that we had, walking was the preferred mode of transport.
Eric & Rita, and all of the other staff were all terrific . They were always available if we had questions of needed anything in the apartment.
We will definitely be back, and highly recommend this property for your getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Gorgeous room great location. Pots and pans in the rooms are useless everything needs to be soaked in oil to ensure it doesn't stick. No salt and pepper in rooms which I would have expected for a week stay in a serviced apartment. Great information at reception and staff are warm and friendly. I would highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our family of 5 have just stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 2 nights. Absolutely magnificent!! Incredible views! The apartment was absolutely HUGE, with everything you could ask for! Very clean. 3 huge bedrooms, 2 bathrooms/laundry in one of them. Large lounge and dining area and the king size bed in the main bedroom overlooks the ocean! there are 4 pools here, the one near us was beautiful, fully shaded in the afternoons, for a lovely long swim as you gaze at the endless ocean views! A short walk down the driveway to the Ferry terminal and bus stop. Buses take you all over the island and run all day. Get a day pass as its a lot cheaper and you can hop on and off all day/night. Was a relaxing, wonderful stay and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holiday Apartments
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holid...
#7 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Property: Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Address: 146 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the character of Magnetic Island reflected in its distinctive architecture, Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a secluded sanctuary, with oceanfront accommodation comprising of four buildings nestled around tropical landscaped gardens. Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a selection of deluxe one, two and three bedroom beach house style apartments designed to take advantage of uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and enhance the natural space and lighting with sliding door panels, louvered walls and breezeways and private balconyies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Mercure Apartments Hotel Magnetic Island
Mantra One Bright Point Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing