We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs work”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here recently. Was pretty disappointed. Management were very helpful and obliging. The place has very bright security lighting which I guess is a positive, but the rooms do not have adequate curtains. If you don't mind sleeping in daylight like conditions then go here. Management when asked about the lighting , said they had had many complaints but the owners won't do anything about it. We were moved , which was a little better, but the room had moldy cushions, smelt of mould, and was generally very tired. Not worth the money you pay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Territory57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    115
    60
    34
    24
See reviews for
107
167
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Overall we truly enjoyed our stay at Magnetic Island. The location and apartment were fantastic. The only shortcoming was the noise from other inconsiderate guests there for a wedding. (Walking up and down the complex anytime between 12 and 4 am shouting and making as much noise as possible). It's a shame the night manager didn't bother to answer his phone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixson3169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, and were lucky to be able to check in on arrival, around 12:30 pm on a weekday. We'd booked a 1-BR apartment with a water view, and it was fabulous - !!! I still can't get over the pure pleasure of lying in bed looking out at the water, and seeing and hearing the waves. We kept the windows open all night, to go to sleep and wake up to this relaxing sight and sound.

The dining room and balcony also look out over the water, and are very private - you can't see in from other units or the pool. One of the showers (there were two bathrooms in this unit) looks out over the water too, as does the bathtub (although you can pull the blinds if you like).

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, suggesting activities and booking things for us. One excellent suggestion was the Stage Door Dinner Theatre, which we went to and really enjoyed (and probably would not have tried otherwise). They had also pre-booked our ferry tickets for us and sent us the voucher, which made it much faster than having to wait to buy the tickets at the terminal.

We knew that there was no restaurant or food service onsite, so had bought some groceries in Townsville; there is also a grocery store a 5-minute walk away. The nearby Peppers resort has a great (if somewhat pricey) restaurant, and there are other places to eat within walking distance, or by bus, taxi or car.

However, I'd have thought there'd be some milk provided for coffee & tea (small packets of each of which are provided) but there was not. You need to also be aware that the unit will not be serviced unless you are there for more than a week - but there is a washer & dryer, with a "starter supply" of powder provided, as well as a few packets of dishwashing liquid.

I did think it odd that we had to pay $5 each for pool towels.

There is a full-size fridge & freezer, a toaster, microwave, stove and also a barbecue out on the balcony, which we used to grill steaks and chops.

We found dirty, mouldy dishes in the dishwasher and ran the dishwasher twice on them, but it still didn't get all the mould off. We reported this - they said they would send someone over to retrieve these dishes, but no one ever came for them. We also had to ask twice to get a second hand-towel and face cloth.

There is a manual for all the appliances in the unit - it seems geared toward a new owner of the unit rather than a short-term guest, but it was still useful. There's a TV in the loungeroom with DVD player, a stereo, and also a TV in the bedroom. You can sign up for their wireless internet service, which is the same price or even a bit cheaper than at many major hotels ($20 per day I think; we didn't use it.). All kitchen crockery, cutlery and utensils are provided, including wineglasses and BBQ utensils. This makes it very easy to do the economical thing and cook your own meals!

The rooms were large, lovely and luxurious and we would definitely come back if "pampering" ourselves a bit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view. Ours got no sun, but it was warm enough we didn't care - if you want sun o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnB99az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Okay the room was as described on the website. My "water view" apt. was on the lowest level which was okay as I still had a view to the mouth of the harbor and beyond.

I stayed for ten days and had only one complaint that occurred on the first day. A neighbors air conditioner unit was making an excessive racket and it was located above my bedroom window. I notified the office in the afternoon but when I came back in the early evening it was still a going. I knocked on the door but no one was home. I rang the after hours number and requested that the issue be dealt with only to be told that it would be very late before someone could look into it- I said that wasn't good enough and opened the door and held my mobile phone up to let the person know how noisy it really was, only to have her say she could not hear it, then she hung up on me mid-sentence. I rang back and got another person, explained the situation, no one upstairs, knocked on door, no signs of life when looking up from balcony and got the same line- very late before someone could look into it. I requested to be moved or the issue be dealt with. About 5 minutes later the a/c was shut off- thank you.

My unit had another problem that I don't think can be fixed easily- when toilets are flushed upstairs the pipes make a high pitched sound as the water refills the cistern, annoying and the builder/plumber should be ashamed.

Room Tip: My unit was luckily located several units away from the pool- those units do have privacy issues so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We took the family over for a few nights to relax and have a break. We have stayed at a few great places on the Island but think this is probably the better place to stay of the complex type accommodation on Magnetic Island. The rooms was wonderful with a great kitchen,wonderful beds and what a view out over the water.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greatnortherners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Firstly we loved the view from this apartment, and the apartment itself would have been fine if a few issues had been adressed before us checking in. I have written to the property but to date have not had a reply. Although we loved the apartment we did find it dirty and uncared for, as if no one had stayed there for weeks. Our major gripe is the cleanliness of the apartment. Knowing we were coming, (we booked several weeks in advance) and if the apartment had been empty for a while, surely housekeeping would have done a spot check to ensure all was ok before an arrival.

From the ferry we found the property very easily however upon entering reception (with another seperate couple) we couldn't find anyone to assist us. We called out and after a while a lady appeared and said "how did you get in here, that door is supposed to be locked". Nice welcome considering this was only 3.30pm. We were told reception was closed and we had to retrieve our keys from a mail box. As this woman obviously lived on premises and was there anyway we felt the welcoming a bit odd. We found the keys with a note instructing us to present ourselves next morning with a security deposit.

The 1 bed apartment was nice, very odd design with absolutely no privacy between bathroom and living area. All that separates the bedroom is a shower curtain, but fine for our needs. What we did find however was unacceptable for a 4.5 star Grand Mercure or any 4.5 star property.

1) Dirty kitchen and bathroom taps with finger marks and wobbly fittings
2) Dirty and greasy kitchen sink
3) Black mould on the white shower tiles (I also live in the tropics and this is easily cleaned)
4) Finger marks on the glass shower screen, obviously not cleaned properly
5) Odd glasses, 3 differnet champagne flutes including 1 plastic one, told there should have been 6 matching. Replacement set also dusty and stained, needed washing before use.
6) Shelves where glasses were stored were covered in grease, dust and grime
7) Other glasses provided were grimy and greasy and had to be washed before use
8) Door to the apartment rattled all night and we had to plug it with paper
9) Clothes hanger on balcony had rust stains
10) Cigarette burn on couch, we turned the cusion over
11) Bedside clock displaying no time whatsoever, faulty
12) Toilet roll left in opened plastic packaging on top of toilet
13) Stems in pot in corner of room covered in dust

These are obviously housekeeping issues and one or two I can forgive but seriously how can so many issues be overlooked? Remembering this is a 4.5 star property I found it unacceptable considering the rates charged.

There is no service at this property. Several websites promote room service and "breakfast delivered to your room". This is not the case. It is an unlicenced premise with no restaurant or bar facility. My impression of this property is it's a failed apartment complex who have hired firstly Mantra and now Grand Mercure to manage apartments as holiday lets, as there are private owners residing here also. If kept in good condition this is a great place to stay however our experience proved that there are definate issues with the management of this property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricD D, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We thank this guest for their invaluble feedback in regards to their house keeping issues. We would have appreciated the chance to rectify these whenthe guest discovered these problems . As in our previous response to this guest we have taken these issues on board with our House keeping contractor.

We offer a self catering experience in our apartments whereby the guest can use our fully equipped kitchens to prepare their own meals in the privacy of their own apartment. At no time have we advertised "breakfast delivered to your room" as this guest is correct in the fact that we don't have our own restaurant.

Our weekend reception hours are 9am to 3pm on Saturdays and Sundays, which are advertised on the web. We appreciate guests who notify us of their arrival times, if outside of these. To ensure their check in goes smoothly, On site management are available 24/7 to assist or help guests in any way. They just have to call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holiday Apartments
Beachside Magnetic Harbour Holid...
#7 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Property: Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Address: 146 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the character of Magnetic Island reflected in its distinctive architecture, Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a secluded sanctuary, with oceanfront accommodation comprising of four buildings nestled around tropical landscaped gardens. Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a selection of deluxe one, two and three bedroom beach house style apartments designed to take advantage of uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and enhance the natural space and lighting with sliding door panels, louvered walls and breezeways and private balconyies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Mercure Apartments Hotel Magnetic Island
Mantra One Bright Point Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing