We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Whilst the room was clean and modern and overlooked the marina the most disappointing thing was that on both nights of our stay we could not use the restaurant as there were weddings on................had booked this as the most expensive hotel based on the restaurant setting.

Also despite the NO PARTY and noise after 10pm guidelines........said weddings provided a noisy background to any attempts to get a good nights sleep.

Sorry, but no recommend from us and no return visit either!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hello Les,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Peppers Blue on Blue with us and the readers on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for not being able to use the restaurant for your dinners I do understand how disappointed you must ahve been it is a truly beautiful feature of the resort, I also understand the other dining room may not have been to your liking.

We always recommend calling the hotel direct for your bookings 07 4758 2400 we want you to have the best possible experience every time.

Cheers
Abraham & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

Nice modern and clean rooms. Got a great deal that included breakfast and in-house movies. Restaurant is excellent. Were informed before we arrived that the restaurant would be closed for a wedding but food was available in another room. This didn't worry us as we ate somewhere else that night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate03091983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hello Kate,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Peppers Blue on Blue with us and the readers on Trip Advisor.

Nice to read and we look forward to welcoming you back, call us on 07 4758 2400 so we can tailor the best room for your holiday.

Cheers
Abraham & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at peppers for one night in a three bedroom appartment.

The Lady behind the counter was very friendly. The room was clean and big.

It is the most expensive hotel on the island. 520 dollar per night. I found it disappointimg that they put food and drinks in sight in the apartment and ask topdollar for it.


Floors were very slippery. Actually very dangerous.

We had to wait 30 minutes before we could get in the apartment and were not compensated. Not even a drink during waiting. For top dollar I expect top service and that was not delivered.

Breakfast was very good.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hello Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Peppers Blue on Blue with us and the readers on Trip Advisor.

We pride ourselves on customer service so nice to read, we have received several comments on slippery floors so we are investigating.

Cheers
Abraham & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The good
-Breakfast was real good, good choice of foods, healthy and alot
-pool and bathtub in master bedroom
-free movies on tv

The bad
- style was to modern for me
-floor near the lobby is super slippery
-room wasnt ready at check in time, had to wait over an hour
-to expensive for what you get, though MI is a hotspot

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Williewizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hello Willie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Peppers Blue on Blue with us and the readers on Trip Advisor.

Cheers
Abraham & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight, planning a romantic getaway ( as it tirned out my boyfriend planned peppers to propose ) however when we checked in we were informed there was a wedding and we were unable to use the bar and resturant and if we planned to eat we had the option of the function room ( which was a closed in box)or order room service ! My boyfriends plans of a romantic dinner in the restaurant were not to be. He asked for a white table cloth with room service and it came up crushed like it had just been pulled out of the wash ( a small thing but important to us on the night , ) we were then charged a room service fee and as we were waiting for a taxi the foyer( as it was raining ) the wedding photographer asked us and other to move out of foyer so he could take photos ?! Ok so we moved onto the wet footpath .
We paid 345 for the night yet did not have full use of resort and were never informed of this . Though resort beautiful , seems a wedding takes priority, how about a discount peppers or at least indirm us on booking that we could not use the facilities !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicole o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hello Nicole,

My sincerest apologies, we notify all guests of restaurant closures, we have failed to notify you, sorry!

The team and I have taken your comments onboard to ensure we are more diligent in notifying our guests. On the odd occasion the restaurant is closed we do create an alternative dinning location, these range from around the Resort Pool ‘beautiful’ to one of our conference rooms, I can only guess you were not informed of this, again my apologies.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Peppers Blue on Blue with us.

Cheers
Abraham & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Over rated. My daughter and I stayed in a studio room but it was facing the car park view was terrible. The couch had stain marks, the fridge stank like cheese had been left there for months. You could also tell they didn't move couches to vaccum under them because there were a couple of jaffers my daughter found while playing on the floor.
Pools were great though.
Entrance to the Resort is weird/awkward right next to where you board and disembark from the ferry. On arrival you don't even feel the excitement of getting to your hotel because it's just there at the Ferry's doorstop. I didn't like that.
Restaurant food was lovely on the night we ate there. Waitresses looked bored out of their brains and looked like they wish they were else where. Breakfast was boring... usual pastries, cereal, fruit, scrambled eggs, hash brown, chippolattos etc. Not an international breakfast buffet you'd expect from a resort. Nothing like the resorts where you have a chef on the other side, in case you want a fried egg made for you etc.
This resort was over rated. We like there for the pools but that was it. We went out to restaurants instead etc. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure it doesn't face the car park towards the ferry terminal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaq2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hello Jaq,

Thank you for reviewing Peppers Blue on Blue, please accept the teams and my apologies for not living up to your expectations, we did not deliver a true Peppers experience. Most our guests love the close proximity of the resort to the ferry terminal, this way you start your holiday the moment you get of the boat.

All reviews are read by the team to learn and grow, thank you for giving us the opportunity to see ourselves through our guests eyes.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just a one night stay. Yes, very close to the ferry terminal so if you don't plan on driving or hiring a car, Blue on Blue would be a wise decision. I booked a Hotel Room for my short stay and found the room to be spacious and well appointed. Everything worked and the King Bed was comfortable. Rain shower in the bathroom, air-conditioned rooms and free New Release Movies in-room were nice touches. I ate in the restaurant for both dinner and Breakfast and found the food to be well above average. With some mains exceeding $40, you could probably dine elsewhere for less but I had no issue as the quality, presentation and service were all great. My room had part ocean, part carpark views. Strangely designed but other than that, a great property. Amazing Pools but sadly no spa.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hello Jasin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, nice to read of your experience of the Island and Peppers Blue on Blue.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetic Island
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
261 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
118 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
0.4 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $133 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Peppers Blue on Blue offers guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, visit the endota spa. Onsite is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing