We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated Resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over rated Resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Over rated. My daughter and I stayed in a studio room but it was facing the car park view was terrible. The couch had stain marks, the fridge stank like cheese had been left there for months. You could also tell they didn't move couches to vaccum under them because there were a couple of jaffers my daughter found while playing on the floor.
Pools were great though.
Entrance to the Resort is weird/awkward right next to where you board and disembark from the ferry. On arrival you don't even feel the excitement of getting to your hotel because it's just there at the Ferry's doorstop. I didn't like that.
Restaurant food was lovely on the night we ate there. Waitresses looked bored out of their brains and looked like they wish they were else where. Breakfast was boring... usual pastries, cereal, fruit, scrambled eggs, hash brown, chippolattos etc. Not an international breakfast buffet you'd expect from a resort. Nothing like the resorts where you have a chef on the other side, in case you want a fried egg made for you etc.
This resort was over rated. We like there for the pools but that was it. We went out to restaurants instead etc. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure it doesn't face the car park towards the ferry terminal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaq2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Jaq,

Thank you for reviewing Peppers Blue on Blue, please accept the teams and my apologies for not living up to your expectations, we did not deliver a true Peppers experience. Most our guests love the close proximity of the resort to the ferry terminal, this way you start your holiday the moment you get of the boat.

All reviews are read by the team to learn and grow, thank you for giving us the opportunity to see ourselves through our guests eyes.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    297
    127
    53
    25
See reviews for
259
424
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just a one night stay. Yes, very close to the ferry terminal so if you don't plan on driving or hiring a car, Blue on Blue would be a wise decision. I booked a Hotel Room for my short stay and found the room to be spacious and well appointed. Everything worked and the King Bed was comfortable. Rain shower in the bathroom, air-conditioned rooms and free New Release Movies in-room were nice touches. I ate in the restaurant for both dinner and Breakfast and found the food to be well above average. With some mains exceeding $40, you could probably dine elsewhere for less but I had no issue as the quality, presentation and service were all great. My room had part ocean, part carpark views. Strangely designed but other than that, a great property. Amazing Pools but sadly no spa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Jasin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, nice to read of your experience of the Island and Peppers Blue on Blue.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We spent the night on the 17th May 2014. Stayed in room 931, it was ok, didn't have a wow factor like other Peppers Resorts do. Bed was uncomfortable so were the pillows. We were even more disappointed on arrival when we were told the restaurant and bar were closed due to a wedding. Won't be back anytime soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Jess,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, apologies for not informing you of the restaurant closure.

We would recommend always call the property direct (07 47582400) we will always be upfront with closures, activities and the best room for your holiday.

Cheers
The Peppers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Let’s start with the positives.
This hotel is laid out well with a great view across the marina.
Rooms are well appointed and look clean and comfortable.
The restaurant/ breakfast room also is well laid out and has a great airy feel to it.
Front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating + magnetic island is an amazing place to visit.

The negatives-
The mattress in the room was really uncomfortable, super uncomfortable. We only stayed one night but had we been staying more in would have directly complained to the management.
The roller blinds in the room offer next to zero protection from the sun, as such when day breaks so do you.
The restaurant while the food was lovely it took ages to be served or have any service. It was OK as the setting is nice but you expect more than really average service in a Peppers.
In the morning we ordered coffees which was a mission as in had to wait to sign for the coffees but she would bring them to the table, that makes no sense.

We booked a superior double room and for the price in don’t think we received what we should. I am not sure about the quality of other accommodation on Magnetic Island but I’m not sure I would stay at Peppers again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room so you can enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello Rob,

Thank you for sharing with us and other TA reviewers.

We have taken your comments onboard, thank you for the opportunity to see our product through our guests eyes.

Cheers
Abraham & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Peppers Blue on Blue for the April school holidays. The location is fantastic and easy to get to from the ferry terminal just a short stroll away. The reception staff were very friendly and made the check in process a breeze. I was very disappointed in our room though. We stayed in room 932 and whilst in a fabulous location away from the noise and a spectacular view it needs some love and attention. The beds were some of the worst I have slept in!! I do have an expectation when staying in a branded hotel that I am going to get a comfortable bed. Fortunately the reception staff were able to locate a mattress topper for our stay or I may have had to cancel the rest of our stay as I awoke with a very sore back. I was very unhappy that for the amount of money we spent (nearly 4 thousand for the two weeks) that the accommodation wasn't up to par. As much as I loved the location I wont be returning to peppers :-(
The breakfast selection was good but could offer a little more variety. We were very disappointed with the restaurant we ate there the first night and didn't go back - my husband had the steak which was over cooked and I had the risotto which tasted like salt! When talking about our experience with other guests we met they made similar comments about the over salting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canberramum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Canberramum2014,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TA. Apologies the bed was not right for you, great to read the team jumped on board with finding a solution.

Your comments on the food have been passed on to the F&B team, our restaurant reviews are normally always positive, sorry we did not deliver to your expectations and we trust our guests will not chastise us when we do occasionally get it wrong!

Cheers
The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights during Easter break this year. The hotel is right next to the ferry terminal at Nelly Bay. We stayed at a king superior room. It was really nice, clean, and roomie. The bathroom is clean and big. The shower was just awesome. We had a nice view of the hotel marina. The thing with that, the room doesn't get the nice coastal beach and it was quiet warm without the AC. We had nice buffet breakfast every morning while we're there. There's great selection of food to choose from. We also had dinner one night at the restaurant and the staff were friendly. The food was really nice and good size. We also had a massage at the Endota Spa and it was just super especially after 6 km walk. There's 2 pools at the hotel. The lagoon pool was massive, and agree with the other reviewer, it can be cleaner considering all the other areas in the hotel are spotless.

Room Tip: The room facing the marina have nice view but no breeze or the room facing the car park will have ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello LG,

Thank you taking the time to write a review.

Great to read you enjoyed the Island and Peppers Blue on Blue, we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Just an FYI we now have free Internet and Block Buster movies included in all our packages, call us direct on 07 4758 2400.

Cheers
The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We felt welcome from our arrival. Young lady gave us a view of the pool when we realised we originally had a view of the car park. So that's something to ask at time of booking. Our 2 bed room apartment was spotless, no complaints at all. We had dinner and breakfast at the resort, top class. Can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Townsville6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Townsville66,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TA. Great to read you enjoyed all the facilities of Peppers Blue on Blue and the staff where again amazing!

Just an FYI we now have free Internet and Block Buster movies included in all our packages, call us direct on 07 4758 2400.

Cheers
The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 8 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#2 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Property: Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Address: 123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island. Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail. Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options. Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. Maintenance Notice Emergency maintenance work will be taking place in the garden and along the marina frontage of one resort accommodation block from Monday 20 March until Friday 24 March 2017. The work may involve some intermittent noise between the hours of 9am and 4pm. Peppers Blue on Blue Resort management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing