We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful idealic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful idealic setting”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Despite being only a 20 minute ferry ride from Townsville, when sitting on your balcony in Blue on Blue and looking out at the ocean, you would be forgiven for thinking you were a million miles away on a deserted tropical island. The hotel has a feeling of relaxation and serenity. The apartments are clean and spacious. We stayed in 824 on this occasion which had a pool view and we could see the marina beyond. It was clean and beautifully air-conditioned (which is important as it can get very hot and humid, especially in summer). The apartments have full kitchens and laundry so they cater to whatever your budget may be. You can cook yourself or use one of the available webber barbeques by the pool or eat in the fantastic restaurant. We had the degustation dinner on our first night which I HIGHLY recommend. It was fantastic with matching wines. Just be warned, turn up hungry because the portions are very generous and the food is so delicious you definitely wont want to send any back! We had dinner the next night which was also delicious. We have never had a bad meal in this restaurant and have eaten here many times. If its in your budget to eat out, eat at the Boardwalk restaurant at peppers, you wont find anywhere better.
The resort pool is huge. Fantastic for family with lots of shallow ends and steps for kids to play but big enough that if you are a couple there is always somewhere to go where there are no children. There is a second pool close to the reception area which is smaller and is frequented mostly by adults.
We are really looking forward to coming back at Easter with our children to enjoy this little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Coug77,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TA. Great to read you enjoyed all the facilities of Peppers Blue on Blue.

Cheers
The Peppers Bleu on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    321
    137
    54
    26
See reviews for
285
463
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed at Blue on Blue and had an amazing stay. The meal at the restaurant located at the resort was one of the best ever meals and not at all what we had expected to find in North Queensland on an island.
Very friendly helpful staff made the stay so memorable.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graysie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, Front Office Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Graysie51,

Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Great to read you enjoyed the restaurant I know our amazing chefs will love reading your comments, thank you! Just an FYI our new autumn menu arrives tomorrow, we are all super excited.

It is amazing what little gems you will find on a tropical island. Thank you for sharing our secret.
We are happy to know you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cheers
The Front Office Team at Peppers Blue on Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
234 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

After a longish drive down the coast and the short ferry crossing finding the hotel could not be easier. A stones throw from the ferry. I was offered an upgrade and no extra cost and that was a superb way to start what was to be a three month trip through Australia. Super staff on reception and in the restaurant. Good food well presented if a little pricey. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. Lovely apartment room with a view across the harbour. Great facilities in the room and super clean throughout. Good parking underground as well. Huge pool. Great location for buses around the island which leave from the ferry terminal area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Fotofinder,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We love surprising our guests with a complimentary up grade, thank you for your kind comments greatly appreciated.

We believe as does many of our guests (you) that we have the best restaurant on the Island, if not in Townsville. So thank you for your kind words the team will enjoy reading them (the breakfast buffet is always a huge favourite with all our guests).

We are delighted you had a wonderful time and were able to enjoy all we have to offer both here at our resort and the island as well.

Call us on 07 4758 2400 to book your next holiday.

Cheers
The Peppers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The 2 bedroom apartment had everything we needed and was absolutely immaculate!
The staff were very helpful and the food at the restaurant is to die for!
The pool is huge and caters for everyone.
I would stay again any day!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Jenna,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and taking the time to share with others on Trip Advisor.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cheers
Abraham & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. It's just great for the family with huge lagoon pool and plunge pool in the unit. Great Views out to the marina on the back side and front view is the beautiful pool. Spacious, modern, comfortable for 6 with all the amenities we could ask for. We've enjoyed it both times equally. Highly recommended

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Tony,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience of us with others.

Great to read and thank you for your loyalty, we look forward to welcoming you back for visit number 3.

Call our team on 07 4758 2400 so we can thank you for your loyalty.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Mixed review.

We stayed here for 6 nights over New Years. The room itself perfect, big on size very clean, nice view over pool send marina (2 bed). Could do with more cooking equipment for self contained egg no oven trays, rusty can opener. Grumpy cleaners.

Restaurant was nice but expensive ($42 steak) with very limited other choices within walking distance.
( 1( French restaurant which was very awful, 2) take away place cafe sirocco which looked rather unclean and that's it. Don't even get me started about the appearance of Man Friday.

The island itself is very run down and old.
Very spread out - you need a car with air con to get around comfortably.
Bottle shop while prob only 1km away is too far to walk and carry back in 37c heat

New Years event at peppers was ok, dj staff could be better. Fireworks were better than expected.

Breakfast at peppers good though my daughter would have loved pancakes and only on the last day I realised you could order poached eggs over the scrambled on offer in the Buffet - would have been nice to know that early on!


The main thing that let's this place down as a resort is the people here:- within the peppers itself many of the apartments are timeshare / self owned so you get big groups of people who all no each other crowding around the pool each afternoon from early to late drinking their xxxx yelling out with glass beers and glasses in the pool with no one monitoring anything.

Makes it not feel like a resort - " Sheila get me and mike another beer" yelled across the pool while the children swim unobserved or even watched in the pool.

Backpackers sneak in and soak their sweaty And unshowered skins in the pool for all to enjoy.

At $400 ish a night at this time point, not for me.

And not to level I expect from my many peppers experiences.



Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer79x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Nelcums,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers.

It is disappointing to read we did not deliver to your expectations, the team and I read all the reviews to ensure we learn and grow and have taken some points from your review.

Great to read you enjoyed our amazing fireworks literally on the door step of the resort, possibly the most accessible in Australia, with a cocktail in your hand.

Cheers
Abraham & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay on Magnetic Island for our 25th wedding anniversary, but as first time visitors, wished we'd been less attracted by the good rate and luxury accommodations/facilities at Peppers Resort, and opted for something pricier but less opulent on the other side of the island. Peppers is beautiful though, but it's on the shady side, and no island vibe. We didn't have a car, but used the bus to spend most of our time over at Horseshoe Bay. On the plus side,it is an easy 2 minute stroll from the ferry across to Peppers and the bus service is cheap and regular. Peppers has an excellent restaurant and bar, and the rooms are beautifully appointed. Very comfy supersized bed, very spacious room, balcony leading out to the marina (we were in a ground floor room), excellent air conditioning and lots of the little luxuries that makes Peppers a great place to stay. Unfortunately we didn't sample a swim in the gorgeous pools as although the outside temp was quite warm and warranted a swim,the water was near freezing. We did enjoy lounging poolside with a drink watching the swallows dip in and out of the water. You lose the sun early on this side of the island so not great mid-winter. Also, a lot of the rooms seemed to be apartment style / timeshare or owned and were empty which gave the resort a bit of a gloomy feel. Wonderful receptionists and restaurant/bar staff, and the breakfasts (included in the room package price) were exceptional in a fabulous setting.

Room Tip: Our standard room was top quality, large with roomy balcony, and great location alongside the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nelcums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Nelcums,

Thank you for sharing with other travellers.

Peppers Blue on Blue is an amazingly beautiful resort, and yes the transfers to other bays is as easy as walking out the door 20 metres to a bus and you will be there in ten minutes, perfect if you are having an afternoon cocktail.

Great to read you enjoyed our 1.5 million litre lagoon pool, even if a little chilly for you.

Cheers
Abraham & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetic Island
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
7.3 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
0.3 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Property: Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island. Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail. Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options. Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing