We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standout staff make this a must stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were a party of 4, including one 6YO child, on Maggie to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. I was keen to ensure mum felt pampered every step of the way. From organising champagne and choc dipped strawberries on arrival in the apartment to a special (and delicious...did I mention the food here is a real treat) birthday dinner, staff couldn't do enough to help make it memorable for her. Right down to the "happy birthday" foil scatters on the table linen and not one but two singing waiters!

Tracey in particular deserves a special mention. So accommodating and so helpful. I'm sorry I didn't get to thank her personally. So, thanks Tracey! Mum was delighted.

The 3 bed apartment was fabulous, even though it was the middle of school holidays the pool and grounds were peaceful and quite civilised. No issues with noise or anything else. Very restful sleeps and extremely comfortable beds, lots of clean linen and the complimentary pool towels were a godsend. I'm definitely coming back same time next year for the whole school holidays, if I can! What a magnificent place to recharge for all ages. Thanks Peppers.

Room Tip: Rooms around the back near the big pool are great (we stayed in the 800s).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevorosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Bev,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Peppers Blue on Blue and sharing with other travellers.

Tracey will be tickled pink to read of your comments, it’s great that their hard work and commitment to our guests is well appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed here many times. Breakfast is great and fresh with otions for every choice. We always get the bigger room with the kids and a kitchen with a water view. I like it better with water out the back as other wise you get the noise of the ferry arriving. There is an IGA across the street to grab any goodies you might have forgotten.. Only issue is the stroller access is only every few floors so it is quite painful with kids as few rooms have lift access where you dont have to drag luggage down or up a flight of stairs. That aside it is a great place to stay

Room Tip: water view rooms facing away from the ferry are just as pretty but without the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domstar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Domstar,

Thank you for taking the time to review Peppers Blue on Blue.

Some great tips in there for travellers, and please don’t hesitate to ask should you need assistance with luggage, we are more than happy to assist (it’s a quick workout)!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our family, my husband and 4 older children between the ages of 18 - 23 year spent 8 nights in a beautiful 3 bedroom apartment. One of the rooms didn't have an air conditioner, but there was a fan supplied.
We wanted a relaxing holiday and we certainly got that.....thank you.
Beautiful well designed pool, peaceful location, scenery was amazing and breakfast was a treat.
Restaurant staff were extremely friendly and very professional.
Beds were comfortable, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, decor was beautiful.
We arrived on the 11am ferry - we had lunch and received a phone call advising our apartment was ready.
The premises are very clean and well maintained.
The only down fall was my son left a hat, nike runners and a new pair of sunglasses out on the patio table overnight on our last night....not there in the morning.
Never the less we achieved what we set out to do....RELAX, We will certainly be back.
Thank you

Room Tip: Families with older or younger children - 3 bedroom ground level is recommended, You can't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kato816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Kato,

Thank you for taking the time to review Peppers Blue on Blue.

Nice to read you loved our resort as much as we do, sorry to read of the disappearing hat and runners.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I just came back from a 3 day conference at Peppers. The island is beautiful and resort staff are very friendly (especially restaurant staff). On Arrival we noticed that we had a king bed in the room instead of a twin. Someone was sent within 20min and fixed it.
I didn't have any a la carte food during our stay but the breakfast buffet and lunch that was organised for us was always delicious.
The view from most of the rooms is amazing. Unfortunately we didn't have much time to use the resorts facilities as the pool,BBQs, Spa etc but I would certainly come back for a holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelife1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Lovelife,

Thank you for taking the time to review Peppers Blue on Blue.
We invest allot of time and energy into our conference guests and I love reading that we are getting it right.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice resort, good location on the marina, not too noisy as some other reviews had indicated, rooms are nice and basic, house keeping was not as good as I would have hoped - the room was clean but towels and sheets werent changed and we were there for a week (something I like when staying in a resort..) the restaurant was nice, standard Australian fare, cocktails and cheese board on the deck was a highlight of the afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank temma_perry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Temma,

Thank you for the review and yes when booking a ECO stay linen is only changed on request. Please don’t hesitate to ask as the team as we are more than happy to assist.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment with plunge pool for 2 adults and 4 children facing the beautiful views of the marina. It was great that there were rooms to accommodate families as many Peppers don't have sufficient rooms to fit 6 people. Our room was ready when we arrived off the ferry at 11 am which was a pleasant surprise as usually they are only available from 2 pm. The location of Peppers next to the IGA was very convenient for picking up supplies. The plunge pool in the room courtyard was amazing (3x3metres and 1.7 metres deep) - beautifully clean and with views across the marina.

The buffet breakfasts that were included in the price of the room were wonderful and helped to make the stay more affordable. The service at breakfast was terrific with the tables being cleared when required and the food was excellent in quality and variety. Compliments to the cheerful staff member at breakfast who knew our names and had a table prepared specifically for our larger family on our first day at breakfast. We all felt quite welcomed. The venue was beautiful and the views superb with gentle coastal breezes flowing through the restaurant.

The room was very clean, spacious, good fittings but would recommend that the lounges are due for replacing due to wear.

The lake pool had pleasant landscaping and plenty of space for everyone - beautiful.

The carparking spaces were a bit tight for our Prado and this area was not as neat and tidy as the rest of the resort as some bays were being used for storage. The undercover parking was good in the event of poor weather and just to keep the car cool.

On our last day we caught the 5:15 ferry back (which made for a great sunset cruise) and we were welcome to stay and use the resort facilities, pool towels, carparking etc after we checked out until the ferry left - made for a very relaxing and peaceful afternoon. Great way to finish.

Room Tip: Would suggest rooms with marina views - very quiet and lovely vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Chris,

I love it when we get it right, a pleasure to read and thank you for staying at Peppers Blue on Blue.

A tip for anyone with large cars, travel a little further along the car park to find extra room for large cars even boats.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

OK. "Maggie" is a great holiday destination and Peppers is a high-class island resort, it's not like we were miserable in any way. However, some odd service (Queenslandish?) attitudes drew down overall score, especially considering that we visited in what must have been a slow week, there seemed to be very few guests in the resort.

Firstly we arrived too early for check-in, our studio was not ready - understandable, but we were only met by "no, check-in is at 2pm, we'll call you if it's ready earlier" and "you are welcome to (spend money in) our restaurant". Also, we were offered to pay for a room upgrade and have sea views, which we declined.
So, just considering it was a scorching hot day, I'm silently wondering why they didn't offer: "here are a couple of towels, you can also cool off in the pool while you wait"? Remember - this place seemed practically empty... Anyhow, we went for a walk and lunch somewhere else, came back at 1.50pm - sorry, too early, our room was still not ready... Oh well.

Regarding location, website claims "a leisurely stroll from the Magnetic Island ferry terminal". Folks, that translates to crawling distance, 50m from boat to reception, good or bad depending on what you prioritise.
Finally, we did get our studio - with, taadaaa, a view of ferry terminal, huge parking lot and bus stops! With passenger and car ferries basically every hour, buses even more often, commuters, trucks, etc - that's a lot of traffic for a quiet island vacation, let's just say our balcony was practically unusable, unless you enjoy watching Maggie's version of Grand Central Station. At least the door was soundproof, when closed we didn't hear much of the traffic.

A last gripe - restaurant service. We visited our first evening, nice, classy, lots of space, terraces, very few people... but we were still pointed to the worst table, right by food pick-up and bar entrance... made me wonder if we smelt bad?! Instead I asked for one of the many tables by the windows - and sure, we could sit there. Thanks.
Also, it's hot out, right? We should drink water, right? But refills were apparently tight, we had to ask twice before they sort of made a routine of doing water rounds for all tables. Not impressive. Food was good though, but we didn't return.

Hey, there were positives too, large pool area (very quiet) and breakfasts were great! And it was very handy to be close to all transport services. But there are certainly nicer, more personal, places to stay on Maggie...

Room Tip: Many rooms seem to face ferry terminal and traffic, guess they charge more for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Su,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Property. I was disappointed to read that we did not live up to your expectations, for that you have my apologies. The team have and I have reviewed your experience as it is the little things that you mention that can turn an ok experience into an amazing experience.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetic Island
1 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
264 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
119 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#11 of 41 in Townsville
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
0.4 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $120 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Peppers Blue on Blue offers guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, visit the endota spa. Onsite is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing