We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We still continue to enjoy Peppers Resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment with plunge pool for 2 adults and 4 children facing the beautiful views of the marina. It was great that there were rooms to accommodate families as many Peppers don't have sufficient rooms to fit 6 people. Our room was ready when we arrived off the ferry at 11 am which was a pleasant surprise as usually they are only available from 2 pm. The location of Peppers next to the IGA was very convenient for picking up supplies. The plunge pool in the room courtyard was amazing (3x3metres and 1.7 metres deep) - beautifully clean and with views across the marina.

The buffet breakfasts that were included in the price of the room were wonderful and helped to make the stay more affordable. The service at breakfast was terrific with the tables being cleared when required and the food was excellent in quality and variety. Compliments to the cheerful staff member at breakfast who knew our names and had a table prepared specifically for our larger family on our first day at breakfast. We all felt quite welcomed. The venue was beautiful and the views superb with gentle coastal breezes flowing through the restaurant.

The room was very clean, spacious, good fittings but would recommend that the lounges are due for replacing due to wear.

The lake pool had pleasant landscaping and plenty of space for everyone - beautiful.

The carparking spaces were a bit tight for our Prado and this area was not as neat and tidy as the rest of the resort as some bays were being used for storage. The undercover parking was good in the event of poor weather and just to keep the car cool.

On our last day we caught the 5:15 ferry back (which made for a great sunset cruise) and we were welcome to stay and use the resort facilities, pool towels, carparking etc after we checked out until the ferry left - made for a very relaxing and peaceful afternoon. Great way to finish.

Room Tip: Would suggest rooms with marina views - very quiet and lovely vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Chris,

I love it when we get it right, a pleasure to read and thank you for staying at Peppers Blue on Blue.

A tip for anyone with large cars, travel a little further along the car park to find extra room for large cars even boats.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

968 - 974 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

OK. "Maggie" is a great holiday destination and Peppers is a high-class island resort, it's not like we were miserable in any way. However, some odd service (Queenslandish?) attitudes drew down overall score, especially considering that we visited in what must have been a slow week, there seemed to be very few guests in the resort.

Firstly we arrived too early for check-in, our studio was not ready - understandable, but we were only met by "no, check-in is at 2pm, we'll call you if it's ready earlier" and "you are welcome to (spend money in) our restaurant". Also, we were offered to pay for a room upgrade and have sea views, which we declined.
So, just considering it was a scorching hot day, I'm silently wondering why they didn't offer: "here are a couple of towels, you can also cool off in the pool while you wait"? Remember - this place seemed practically empty... Anyhow, we went for a walk and lunch somewhere else, came back at 1.50pm - sorry, too early, our room was still not ready... Oh well.

Regarding location, website claims "a leisurely stroll from the Magnetic Island ferry terminal". Folks, that translates to crawling distance, 50m from boat to reception, good or bad depending on what you prioritise.
Finally, we did get our studio - with, taadaaa, a view of ferry terminal, huge parking lot and bus stops! With passenger and car ferries basically every hour, buses even more often, commuters, trucks, etc - that's a lot of traffic for a quiet island vacation, let's just say our balcony was practically unusable, unless you enjoy watching Maggie's version of Grand Central Station. At least the door was soundproof, when closed we didn't hear much of the traffic.

A last gripe - restaurant service. We visited our first evening, nice, classy, lots of space, terraces, very few people... but we were still pointed to the worst table, right by food pick-up and bar entrance... made me wonder if we smelt bad?! Instead I asked for one of the many tables by the windows - and sure, we could sit there. Thanks.
Also, it's hot out, right? We should drink water, right? But refills were apparently tight, we had to ask twice before they sort of made a routine of doing water rounds for all tables. Not impressive. Food was good though, but we didn't return.

Hey, there were positives too, large pool area (very quiet) and breakfasts were great! And it was very handy to be close to all transport services. But there are certainly nicer, more personal, places to stay on Maggie...

Room Tip: Many rooms seem to face ferry terminal and traffic, guess they charge more for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Su,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Property. I was disappointed to read that we did not live up to your expectations, for that you have my apologies. The team have and I have reviewed your experience as it is the little things that you mention that can turn an ok experience into an amazing experience.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 6 days at Peppers on Magnetic Island, what a lovely resort staff were always willing to help and friendly at all times. The breakfast was fantastic a buffet every morning no need to have lunch after this great feed. The dining at night although expensive was top notch, equal to any 5 star restaurant in Melbourne. They have 2 pools which are both well kept and the gardens around the pools are lovely. The only disappointment was the fact there was no beach at the resort you had to take a bus to one of the other bays to sit on the beach, there is a bus that takes you to all the other bays, it is especially cheap for seniors for an all day ticket, hop on hop off all day. Not much to do on the island unless you like bush walking then there are plenty of tracks.

Room Tip: Request a room over looking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello Cheryl,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Property, great to read of your experience. Great tip for bus trip to explore the island.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay staff extremely friendly and helpful ,nothing was a problem.Rooms were clean and magnificent I would have no hesitation in recommending this motel to any one planning a trip to townsville.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi Lovely70,

Great review, I love reading how helpful and friendly the staff are, thank you for sharing.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really loved the rustic charm of Magnetic Island and thought it would be a great place just to drop out of sight for a while. My husband and I spent just one night there and we probably had the best suite in the hotel. It was huge - three bedrooms, a combined living/dining/kitchen area and a balcony overlooking the marina where we had lunch. The suite had every luxury, stylish decor and top-notch appliances. My one complaint is that wine available on the minibar menu was way overpriced. Luckily there is an IGA just over the road so it was easy to get supplies at a reasonable price. It was very windy while we were there so we didn't use either of the pools but they looked very appealing. I had a massage and facial at the endota spa, which was good and very professional without being amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annielim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Annie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA, sharing your experience with other travellers. Great to read you loved the room, the appointments are beautiful.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our first time at Maggie and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Peppers Blue on Blue,our eight nights were split between a room overlooking the car park and ferry terminal,very interesting, and a marina view room,quiet and lovely.Staff were outstanding ,pools fantastic,great breakfast, ideal location for us as we enjoyed walking to nearby beaches,hotel and cafes. We hired a car for two days just to get familiar with the area,bus service is also good. Recommend Man Friday and take away near IGA Nelly Bay for great food.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Peter

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA, sharing your experience with other travellers. The team and I love reading of great experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for a long week end in July. We booked the standard room, and would not do so again. Unfortunately for us we ended up on the first floor over reception with a view of the carpark. It was quite noisy and meant that it was not pleasant to sit on the balcony! The room itself was fine and what you would expect from a hotel like this. Breakfast was ok, and again what was expected. We ate dinner at the hotel on the first night and it was OK but nothing special, particularly given the price - my steak was slightly overcooked. It was too cold for us to swim in the pools but they looked nice. We had mixed service on the front desk, when we asked for directions to go hiking the woman was a bit vague and not really with it. However, on another day when we asked for restaurant recommendations the woman was lovely - we ate at a very nice Mexican place nearby, outside with all the wildlife a rustic setting but gorgeous food, very reasonable and BYO. For some reason the walking times on everything were outrageous - we were told 20 mins to the nearest bottle shop but it was the same distance as the Mexican place and really only a 5 min walk. There is also a good pizza place in Aracdia about a 20 min walk or the bus stops right outside. I would stay again as there is not a lot of choice in Townsville/Magnetic Island, but I would make sure I had a room that did not have a view of the carpark.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room overlooking the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LionHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Lion HK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read we did not live up to our expectations. We always recommend calling the hotel direct so we can tailor the room to suit your needs, whether you want to sit on your balcony and relax or just a bed for the night.

Happy Travels
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetic Island
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
261 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
118 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
0.4 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $133 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Peppers Blue on Blue offers guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, visit the endota spa. Onsite is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing