We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding delight”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recently had the delight to attend a wedding here and cannot speak highly enough of the whole experience.We dined around the pool with the stars as our backdrop.The lovely staff made the event even more special,they were polite,friendly extremely warm and professional.The cuisine was outstanding in quality,taste,variety and style....

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Michelle,

Thank you for your review and sharing your story with those on TA.

The team will love reading this, thank you!

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    388
    148
    57
    27
See reviews for
335
531
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent the previous 2 nights at Grand Mercure and there was simply no comparison. Granted, our room was upgraded so we avoided the noisy rooms facing the carpark but I think I would have still said the same based purely on the level of service. The staff were exceptional and from the minute we walked in we felt comfortable and like we were on holidays...as opposed to our experience at Grand Mercure where it felt like our arrival was an inconvenience. The room was lovely (although there was no doona on the bed which was a bit odd), lovely toiletries which can make all the difference, quiet and great view over the marina. The restaurant was sensational for dinner. Breakfast was just OK...again a bit odd because the standard of food at lunch and dinner was excellent. I didn't get to use the spa but just walking past the smell was inviting and had we had more time I most certainly would have. The pools are lovely but a warm spa somewhere would be nice as it was too cold to use them! Wifi, as with Grand Mercure was hit and miss. Thanks for the lovely stay , would certainly be back.

Room Tip: The cheap rooms will face the carpark. Probably worth the upgrade as still better value than Grand M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibbonfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello GF,

You are right there are no comparisons, thank you for taking the time to share your story with those on Trip Advisor.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The best thing about Pepper Blue on Blue were all the staff members who were very friendly and helpful. On the other hand there were a few unexpected service issues like beds made up one day but not on two other days, a garbage bag was left untidily in the room and bath towels were not replaced. Small things but one expects better of Peppers. Breakfast in hotels is a bonus but where oh where were eggs to order! Over-scrambled egg baking away in the warmer- a real no, no. Our first dinner in the Boardwalk restaurant was outstanding, fabulous which prompted a second booking next night. Oh dearie me! What happened? That watery risotto, tasteless, left on the plate. Lovely staff, all of them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina are quieter than on the ferry terminal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Carolle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with those on Trip Advisor.

Sorry to read we failed on a couple of issues, yes you can get eggs to order and the team are looking at how this is communicated to our guests as obviously the message isn’t getting to all. The watery risotto, I am so sorry, the risotto is one of my favourites as they cook it from scratch in the pan, normally incredible.

Once again I do find comfort in the fact that the staff where lovely, as we can easily fix the risotto, but caring attentive lovely staff this is much more complex!

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a studio room with a view over the marina for four nights but were very disappointed in the condition of the furnishings. When you stay in any hotel - especially a high quality one - you want to feel like you are the first people to have ever been in that room, you don't want to see any reminders of previous occupants. The carpet, sofa and chair in our room had so many marks (especially seen under artificial light) it made you almost feel uncomfortable sitting / walking on them. The lights also kept shorting in our kitchenette and bedroom area but were looked at (but not fixed) by their handy man when asked.There was also a wedding at the hotel on the Saturday night with many guests staying the night before and after the event. These guests were shouting across balconies to each other till midnight making it impossible to sleep.The noise from the wedding was almost unbearable with guests actually sitting on our door step (we had a ground floor apartment) and refusing to move when asked by management. The conference room for such events is only 15 steps away from the rooms in block 1. If you want to stay at this hotel over a weekend, please check with the hotel to ask if there is a function on first, and if there is - stay away! We also had our 18 month old with us and having a ground floor room was no use as the only way to have an open window and air flow through the room was to open the big sliding doors onto the terrace but because you can walk from one terrace to the next, she kept running off so we had the handy man give us a plank of ply board to put across the door way so she couldn't get out. Classy not! So please ask for a higher floor if you have kids who like to wander!The staff and service here is top notch however and they really were very helpful and understanding when we complained about the noise and we were eventually moved for our last night. It's a lovely hotel in a nice setting with great access to the ferry but the fact that it's a function centre is a huge down fall for guests staying who just want a bit of relaxation and luxury for a few nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away fron function/conference rooms with view of marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FTRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello FTRC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with those on Trip Advisor.

We have shared your review with our wedding team to ensure that we do not get a repeat of all that was mentioned. The event space is shared between corporate day events and weddings, most weddings behave themselves, my apologies this one did not. The only noise we normally get is the clinging of tea spoons on coffee cups.

In addition we are currently in the final stages of a soft refurbishment, so the rooms are going to look better than ever.

I do find comfort in the fact that the staff and service was 'top notch'.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for a relaxing getaway. The hotel was very convenient to the ferry, and looked beautiful and modern. We were checked in nice and quickly, but our room was not ready yet (was before 2pm), so we stashed our bags with the front desk and went off exploring for a while. We went back at 2pm, and were surprised with a free upgrade to a one bedroom apartment! (Booked a standard hotel room). Our room was located in the building just upstairs from reception, and had a slight view of the ocean over the ferry terminal. It looked amazing, beautiful and spacious, with a lovely big balcony. We made good use of the washing machine provided, and spent the rest of the afternoon enjoying the balcony. There is an IGA very conveniently located just across the road where we stocked up on supplies. Later in our stay, we had a quick swim in the gorgeous pool (although it was really a bit too cold for swimming, it just looked too inviting not too!). All the furniture was in good order, and we found the bed to be very comfortable. Unfortunately though, there was very little sound-proofing in the room, so sleeping in proved to be problematic. From about 6am, the IGA started getting deliveries or something, there was rubbish being collected, the bus started its rounds, and the ferry started tooting. Unfortunately, even though the rest of the hotel was just lovely, this would put us off staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zanzibar138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Zanzibar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with those on Trip Advisor.
We are in discussions with the Council and others that use the terminal area to resolve the noise issues.

Thank you for highlighting this to us and always call the hotel direct to get the best room for your stay.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Greetings fellow travellers.
This place has a fantastic pool.
My friend hired a room for her birthday and it was worth the money.
Modern, luxurious, good size and good views.
Breakfast is standard but service is good and the downstairs dining room is a tad sunny.
Close to the ferry.
Magical at night very romantic dining and nice to take a stroll along the break water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ImogenClaireRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Imogen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with those on Trip Advisor.

Great to read you enjoyed your recent stay at Peppers Blue on Blue.
Cheers

Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I agree with SouthcombeRaven - but am much harsher in my review. While the service is top notch and the facilities are great, the noise made this resort one of the worst I have stayed in - ever.

My review here is only about the quality of the room we booked (a motel room) and not a reflection of the other facilities within the resort (each getting a review of their own). I admit that we did book the cheapest room available at the time, as we had only planned on using the room to sleep, and wanted to spend our money on the resort facilities. (We spent approx $350 on the accommodation, but spent approx $1000 on dining and spa).

My husband and I had a weekend here between business trips. We arrived on Saturday morning and were welcomed by the staff. our room wasn't ready (fair enough - we were early) so we left our bags and went exploring. when we did check in - we were very happy with the room. Yes, it was 2 single beds pushed together, and they were very firm, but I wouldn't have complained about that alone. What made me leave this negative review was the noise that disrupted our sleep for both nights of our stay.

On night 1, we were plagued with visitors in the room next door, who seamed to have a stream of traffic in and out of the room. Each time the door opened, it was slammed closed by the automatic door closing mechanism (and there is 2 doors to exit the rooms - this means 2 slams). This was so frustrating. Follow that with the air horns on the ferry that arrives every 30 mins from 6-6:30 am, and you have an impossible sleep.

On night 2 (Sunday) we found that it was garbage day on the Monday morning, and hundreds of empty wine bottles (one assumes these were from the restaurant) were dumped in the bins that I think were right outside our room. Shortly afterwards, the garbage truck came and emptied the bins (one at a time). then the ferry started, and with that, the buses.

If I was to ever stay again it would only be after they changed the door closers on the rooms to 'soft closing', and after they double (triple?) glazed the balcony glass - and even then, I would think twice.

We booked in at the restaurant for both nights of our stay (review to follow) and would dine there again. The Spa was worth every cent - and I enjoyed one of the best spa experiences of my lifetime (thanks to my friendly and experienced masseuse!!).

Overall, extremely disappointed with the room and the sleep quality, but enjoyed the resort itself.

Room Tip: Do not book a motel room unless you pack your ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AustraliaMaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello AM,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with those on Trip Advisor.

Nice to read that you loved the facilities, disappointed to read of the excessive noise. As mentioned in earlier emails we are in discussions with Council to change the bin pick up times. From your email we are also looking at the automatic door closers to see if what we can do remedy this problem.

Thank you AM for bringing this to our attention and I do hope that you return.
Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
255 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amaroo On Mandalay
Amaroo On Mandalay
#4 of 18 in Magnetic Island
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Property: Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island. Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail. Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options. Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing