We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enchanted evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Greetings fellow travellers.
This place has a fantastic pool.
My friend hired a room for her birthday and it was worth the money.
Modern, luxurious, good size and good views.
Breakfast is standard but service is good and the downstairs dining room is a tad sunny.
Close to the ferry.
Magical at night very romantic dining and nice to take a stroll along the break water.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ImogenClaireRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello Imogen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with those on Trip Advisor.

Great to read you enjoyed your recent stay at Peppers Blue on Blue.
Cheers

Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

I agree with SouthcombeRaven - but am much harsher in my review. While the service is top notch and the facilities are great, the noise made this resort one of the worst I have stayed in - ever.

My review here is only about the quality of the room we booked (a motel room) and not a reflection of the other facilities within the resort (each getting a review of their own). I admit that we did book the cheapest room available at the time, as we had only planned on using the room to sleep, and wanted to spend our money on the resort facilities. (We spent approx $350 on the accommodation, but spent approx $1000 on dining and spa).

My husband and I had a weekend here between business trips. We arrived on Saturday morning and were welcomed by the staff. our room wasn't ready (fair enough - we were early) so we left our bags and went exploring. when we did check in - we were very happy with the room. Yes, it was 2 single beds pushed together, and they were very firm, but I wouldn't have complained about that alone. What made me leave this negative review was the noise that disrupted our sleep for both nights of our stay.

On night 1, we were plagued with visitors in the room next door, who seamed to have a stream of traffic in and out of the room. Each time the door opened, it was slammed closed by the automatic door closing mechanism (and there is 2 doors to exit the rooms - this means 2 slams). This was so frustrating. Follow that with the air horns on the ferry that arrives every 30 mins from 6-6:30 am, and you have an impossible sleep.

On night 2 (Sunday) we found that it was garbage day on the Monday morning, and hundreds of empty wine bottles (one assumes these were from the restaurant) were dumped in the bins that I think were right outside our room. Shortly afterwards, the garbage truck came and emptied the bins (one at a time). then the ferry started, and with that, the buses.

If I was to ever stay again it would only be after they changed the door closers on the rooms to 'soft closing', and after they double (triple?) glazed the balcony glass - and even then, I would think twice.

We booked in at the restaurant for both nights of our stay (review to follow) and would dine there again. The Spa was worth every cent - and I enjoyed one of the best spa experiences of my lifetime (thanks to my friendly and experienced masseuse!!).

Overall, extremely disappointed with the room and the sleep quality, but enjoyed the resort itself.

Room Tip: Do not book a motel room unless you pack your ear plugs.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AustraliaMaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello AM,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with those on Trip Advisor.

Nice to read that you loved the facilities, disappointed to read of the excessive noise. As mentioned in earlier emails we are in discussions with Council to change the bin pick up times. From your email we are also looking at the automatic door closers to see if what we can do remedy this problem.

Thank you AM for bringing this to our attention and I do hope that you return.
Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent last Friday and Saturday nights staying at "Blue on Blue". What a lovely resort! I had booked directly through their web-site requesting a superior hotel room with a view. Our spacious room was perfect with a balcony overlooking the marina - certainly did not disappoint. The reception staff were fabulous, most welcoming and very efficient. The Boardwalk cafe was a lovely spot to sit and read with a glass of wine in hand. We had dinner there on Saturday evening - it was quite busy, so service a tad slow - the food, however, was superb and well worth the wait. "Maggie" is a wonderful place for people of all ages, we will certainly return and would not hesitate to stay back at "Blue on Blue". Many thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Request a room over-looking the marina.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello Deborah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with those on Trip Advisor.

Nice to read that you loved the restaurant and food, we are incredibly passionate bunch of foodies and its great reading our hard work and commitment is being well received.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Difficult to balance up the experience - whilst the restaurant, facilities, rooms and surrounds were delightful and the service second-to-none, I'm not sure that a hotel with rooms that face the car park, have two single bedgs taped together for the 'king size' bed and are subject to significant traffic noise from the adjacent ferry and bus terminal (and for Monday morning guests, the seemingly endless emptying of nearby rubbish bins full of glass bottleds) can legitimately call itself a five star.

The staff were absolutely terrific and very, very accommodating, we could not have asked for more in terms of service, whether it was from front desk staff, kitchen staff or wait staff. Our delayed flight meant that we arrived very late but staff were able to supply us with what was, in the end, a terrific 'left overs' pack to take back to our room. The breakfast buffet is comprehensive, tasty and constantly replenished. Our evening meal in the restaurant was also of a high standard. Helping us with luggage storange and late check in was also a great help and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we encountered, who all seemed genuinely happy to be working there, and were skilled in picking the level of engagement guests required or desired.

The pool areas and marina decking were lovely, the general toilets always clean and the reception beautifully airy.

The let-down, however, was the room itself, or more to the point, it's location. It really was very noisy, even with the door closed, which, being in the tropics really wasn't preferable to having the doors open and that beautiful breeze coming in. And the Monday garbage collection really did put a dampener on the morning. It would have been nice to have been told just how close the ferry terminal was (certainly less than the 40m quoted), or to have sound proofing of some type.

Overall, a beautiful hotel in a beautiful locale, with terrific staff but we'd suggest trying for a room away from the car park side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask (or pay for) Marina-front appartments or hotel rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthcombeRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TA, greatly appreciated, as per my response to a previous review we are trying to have the bin collection changed to later in the day.

I appreciate your view and we are always looking at ways to improve our business that is why your feedback is important to us. It is an absolute pleasure to read about the team, engaging, caring, our people are what can make a good holiday a great holiday.

Always call the hotel direct and discuss with the team what you want out of your holiday, some people don’t mind the ferries and find them entertaining. Call us and let us tailor a holiday to suit your needs.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wow what can I say about this place. Great peppers welcome on arrival, apartment beautifully decorated and in prime position to view the marina.
Staff fantastic, from front desk to restaurant to housekeeping, thanks to you all to make my stay most enjoyable and pleasurable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hi Libra

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TA, greatly appreciated, and nice to read you loved your stay.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is hard for me to write, I'm sure under the right circumstances Peppers is lovely. We stayed in early July, the weather was warm during the day but at night it was only 8 degrees and there were only sheets on the beds. Blankets were disgusting! Unwashed with hair and other things that could have been vomit? No heating in this room, only some apparently. Beds were comfortable, pillows acceptable.

Got woken the next morning at 6am after a terrible sleep (those local bird sound like screaming children in the middle of the night!). It was rubbish day and we were lucky enough to be located with a terrific view of the ferry car park next to the rubbish pick up for the hotel. 20 minutes later they'd finished (they came 3 times during our stay at 6am on the dot!).

Asked the lovely woman at the desk if we could move to another room. Guessing they offered us their second worst room on the ground floor with no day light and as far away from reception/restaurant as possible but near the freezing cold pool. Ended up staying in our car park view room as it seemed to much of a hassle to move the family and at that point I didn't know about the rubbish truck frequency.

The cleaning option (paid extra) is not worth it. They emptied the rubbish, made the beds (without the blankets that were needed) and replenished tea/coffee/toiletries - no sweeping or wiping benches? They did remove one of the ant plagues we had but missed the one in our bedroom (they were eating a dead bug) - they ended up on the bed via the side table so that was fun to clean up!

Location is good for the ferry and the supermarket but that's about it. Everything else is a bus or cab ride away so I'd suggest staying elsewhere particularly if you have young kids. There's not even a play ground in the area.

Pool was too cold for our kids (even being from cold Melbourne) and it was the main reason we chose Peppers as it looked lovely. At a different time of year I'm sure it is terrific but it really stuffed up our holiday as the kids got bored quickly as they don't love the beach.

Breakfast was fine with a basic selection and some weird 'scrambled' eggs that were baked and chopped up. Coffee was certainly acceptable and better than some other local options. Dinner at the Boardwalk was lovely - best meal on the Island, room service was also pretty good.

Supposed we should have been concerned when the receptionist was surprised our booking was for eight days. As it ended up we paid $600 to change our flight, didn't get a refund on our accommodation and came home early.

As I said, this was hard for me to write this as Peppers (and Maggie in general) didn't suit our needs in a family holiday. I'm sure it's great if you don't have younger children and you're staying at a different time of year. Think we'll stick to Bali!

Room Tip: Car park side apartment are really, really noisy!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KDMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hi KD,
Thank you for your valuable feedback, from your review we have engaged council in an attempt to have the schedule changed for emptying of the bins, to after 10am.
It is feedback like this that helps us grow, thanks KD.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend at the beginning of the year and had a wonderful time!
We arrived a little early, and the front desk was more than happy to let us hang in the pool while we waited.
Our room was just right for what we needed, we were barely there but the bed was good and room was comfortable for the two of us.
Started off with breakfast which was decent... great wait staff too!
The largest pool in the Southern Hemisphere is definitely impressive, I got exhausted swimming from one side to the other!
The smaller pool was also great, mainly in the afternoon when the sun had moved.
Lunch and dinner at the restaruant were great. We also ate at some of the places just outside the resort too.

All in all, the perfect relaxing holiday to see out the last year and bring in the new one!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stas90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hi Stas,

Thank you for your glowing recomendation to toher travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetic Island
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
258 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
113 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
0.4 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $130 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Peppers Blue on Blue offers guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, visit the endota spa. Onsite is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing