We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked to stay at Peppers on Magnetic Island for 2 nights and were not disappointed. We had a throughly great visit and although our room overlooked the Ferry Terminal we were not disturbed by the noise. The room was a high standard and very spacious. The pool was to die for and was just a real luxury in being so large. The food at Peppers did not disappoint. We had stayed at a Peppers resort before and found the food to be of high quality, but expensive for us Brits especially due to the exchange rate. The food was plentiful and again of good quality, with great wine to match. We had breakfast included and can honestly say that the choice and quality of food was one of the best we have experienced in Australia. We can thoroughly recommend this great hotel and a great asset to be so close to the ferry so not far to travel when arriving and departing this fabulous island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hooxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi Hooxy,

Thank you for your glowing report of Peppers Blue on Blue, we truly do love our food, this is what sets us apart from our competition.

Remember to call the property direct for the best room options.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We cannot rate Peppers highly enough for the fabulous experience of not only our stay in the resort but for the perfect day we had for our daughters wedding on 13th April, on the marina deck at Peppers Blue on Blue, Nelly Bay. Jacquie, thank you so much for all your hard work, the bar staff for keeping the cocktails flowing, the wonderful Brenda who looked after our 23 strong wedding party at the reception, and the chefs who put on such a fabulous feast for us! The weather, the setting, the ease of being straight off the ferry and in the resort made the event for us, and Nelly Bay was the perfect base to explore the rest of this beautiful island from after the wedding. We had the full range of ages in our group, my one year old grandson, the twenty something's who enjoyed the Full Moon festival/party (!!), and grandparents with us and there was plenty for all to enjoy on Magnetic Island. From the bus drivers to the Op shop staff, the waiters at Picnic Bay hotel, the school children on their way to the tiny island school, everyone was very friendly and went above and beyond to make our holiday and the wedding very memorable. Our daughter sailed in with her bridesmaids on The Providence, which we also highly recommend. We all went out again on the boat for the sunset tour, and want to personally thank Lindsay for going out and purchasing our grandson a lifejacket so he could go with us; the crew were fabulous, both on the wedding day and the sunset tour. The resort is still fairly quiet, as is the island, you really can find many deserted beaches in the 20 bays, and the IGA is better stocked and cheaper than our local one back in a Brisbane bayside suburb! For anyone considering a wedding on the island Linda Ross is also highly recommended as a celebrant; like everyone else that was part of that day she exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Of those of us that stayed at Peppers, everyone had rooms facing the marina, we booked with The Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzPrawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hello OZPrawn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.

Great to read of your experience of Peppers Blue on Blue. Weddings can be a testing time for all of those involved, so we love reading that everthing ran like clock work.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Magnetic is an under statement. Hard to break away is for certain.
The landscape views from the accommodation are surreal.
Anne Marie from the restaurant bar makes the best iced coffee & milk shakes.
Our child was over occupied with the huge pool which allowed us plenty of free time to relax poolside or stay indoors.
Stayed during the week so was not too busy.
Highly recommend this hotel to singles, couples, families or groups.

Room Tip: Ask for mariner view room. You will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canberra_Class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hello Canberra CLass,

Thank you for your review and agree Anne Marie is the best barrista on the island.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked a hotel room & were lucky to be given room 2312. Top floor above reception looking towards the ferry terminal. The room was a good size with a 2 seater lounge& an armchair. There was also a toaster, dinner plates, cutlery & glasses. Our stay had breakfast included which was ample for us. The bed was a little firm & if you don't like high pillows I'd suggest you squeeze one in your case. The walk from the ferry terminal is only a few meters, check in was quick & informative. The buses that take you around the island are also near the ferry & are always there when the ferry arrives. We bought an all day bus ticket for $7.20 each & we just hopped on & off when we liked. All but one of the bus drivers were friendly, we also caught a taxi from the hotel to Horseshoe Bay for $22 one night. There is an IGA about 100 meters from the hotel which was handy. During the week there are not too many eating out options, best to check what is open when out & about. There are 2 pools in the complex, we swam in both but chose the smaller one closer to our room which was usually used by mainly adults. We had lunch from the restaurant & we both enjoyed our meals. The island is nice, we stayed 5 nights, 1 of the days we went into Townsville. We bought a 10 ticket ferry pass for $ 102.00 which can be used for 2 adults. Overall our stay was nice, check your bill when you leave as we were almost charged for a bottle of wine which we didn't drink. The hotel & island was very clean, laid back & at times took us back to memories of our childhood weekend coast trips. For a short break to chill out it is a good option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Maree,

Thank you for the review.

Great to read you explored the island, and a great trip for other travelers as the convenience of the buses is the best way to see the island.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue soon.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and were pleased with our stay. It was very busy over Easter so breakfasts were pretty crowded and kids everywhere they could have done a a few more staff in the restaurant those days. All the staff at the hotel were very froendly and accomodating. We stayed in a superior room overlooking the marina which was nice. If I had to complain about anything the beds and pillows were not too comfortable and I would have expected them to be better for the price we paid (was two hard singles put together). The restaurant is pretty expensive and there isn't too much choice around so you kind of need a car to get around. We dove the yongala one day so was really convenient to be right at the ferry terminal. Maybe could have had a few more deck chairs and umbrellas by the pool but since it was Easter probably busier than usual. Overall we had a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Kylie,

Thank you for the review, we have taken your comments on board and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately another Mantra Group property that has let us down, the 4th establishment we've stayed in.

The room we booked wasn't available upon check-in for which we were told by the Front Office Manager, Lesley, that she had spoken to the General Manager and there was nothing they could do about our room other than offer a 50% refund (and there were 2 of us speaking with her so it wasn't a case of misinterpreting the message). Upon checkout the GM confirmed he couldn't offer the refund at that time and needed to investigate which could take 4 days. Either the Front Office Manager lied to us or the GM had changed his mind.

Other service issues included: there were ants in the bathroom, pillows without cases, the wrong room service menu in our room and limited wifi access throughout the property (at least they sorted us with a free modem so we could access in our room but that wasn't immediately offered as we were told to "see how you go".). Not to mention a group of young lads left unnoticed to continually use offensive language, smoke and drink beer in the pool in a resort that is pitched as a family friendly and self-rated 5 on wotif.com.

Suffice to say, we won't be booking in any of the Mantra Groups properties again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank triphappypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Trip happy,

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns on TA, in turn giving us the opportunit to retort.

In most cases we dont discount a guests experience, we always try to learn from it to better ourselves and the property.

However in repsonse: your booking was reviewed and the room type you booked 'online' was the room type you received. Our FOM did advise you that a discount would be offered should it be found that we had not delivered as promised and yes she did advise that a discount of up to 50% could be offered.

Every complaint is investigated this is a standard P&P and yes this takes up to 4 days (allowing for staff days off) as we do not want to under compensate when we get it wrong, or over compensate when the truth is somewhat skewed. Your complaint was investigated and you were contacted within the 4 days!

We are disappinted that we did not live up to your expectations, however in this case the team were not entirely at fault, we do hope that you do return in the future.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed my holiday. Peppers blue on blue is just lovely, friendly staff, fantastic pool area, great location with a beautiful outlook. Room was lovely, very comfortable bed, very clean and well appointed - first time I've ever had a nespresso coffee machine provided in my room !! Could not fault a thing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Eve,

Thank you for the review and sharing your experiences with other travellers.

I agree, how good are the coffee machines, you will find these in all of the Peppers properties.

Cheers
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetic Island
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
262 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
118 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
0.4 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $114 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Peppers Blue on Blue offers guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, visit the endota spa. Onsite is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing