We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place. Staff a little wanting....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
southport
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place. Staff a little wanting....”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My partner and I and 15 year old daughter spent 3 nights here in august 2011.
We originally booked for 2 nights but enjoyed it so much stayed for an extra night.
The room was fabulous. Very modern and all facilities provided,eg, wading machine, dryer, dishwasher.
The pool was simply gorgeous, but cold!! Very quiet around pool area which was great. BBQ provided for our use which was a great touch.
There is free Internet access in the lobby, but only one and you do have to wait around at times to access it.
The ferry terminal is over the road, as is the bus stop, making it very handy.
I was a little disappointed with the staff at the hotel. No warm greeting,very business like. The staff in the restaurant were a little wanting too. Not as attentive as I would expect. We waited 30 minutes one night for 3 drinks to be delivered to the table! Having said Thayer were then given them for free but was enough to put us off returning.
A word of advice....book your restaurant, one night we didn,t and could,t eat as everywhere was closed!! It was eight thirty!! If they know you are coming they do stay open though!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahlivSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueonblue_gm, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for submitting your review. We can only improve if we are aware of our weaknesses. I appreciate your time taken to let us know of your experience with our customer service. Your comments have been taken 'on board' and we look forward to providing better service all round for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    369
    145
    56
    26
See reviews for
321
510
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We got off the ferry and expected a bit of a hastle to find Pepper. No problem, they were right there in front of us! We checked in with no fuss and proceded to our room. The lift was invalueable with our bags packed for the weeks' stay. Breakfast, which was included in our package, was sensational. We then walk over to the bus terminal where buses to other locations around Magnetic Island were both cheap and frequent. All in all, a great stay and we can't wait to get back to Peppers Blue on Blue, particularly during Melbournes' ordinary winter!

Room Tip: The room we had faced the mainland, and because we were so close to the Ferry Terminal we could watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueonblue_gm, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the gorgeous island. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

As visitors from the Uk we had not stayed at a Peppers hotel before. Prior to our visit we found the reception staff very helpful replying quickly to our e mails and answering all our questions. On arrival we were quickly given our room key and my only comment for improvement was the instructions to find our room were not very clear. The premier room over looking the marina was great. Clean and well maintained and we were very satisfied. What a balcony and what a view!
I did swim in the pool, and by our standards found the water warm and would have no complaints!!!! We ate in the restaurant several times and apart from one night when the restaurant was busy and the service was slow would have no complaints. We have since stayed at another Peppers hotel and found the customer service at this hotel much better. Thank you all for a memorable three days.

Room Tip: go for a premier room , the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudi j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPBOB, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your great review,

I hope you managed to pull yourself away from the pool to explore the fantastic island while you were here. it sounds as though you had a great stay and we would love to have you back some time.

Should you return to our amazing country and manage to come past Maggie island again please let me know and I will help you out with a great rate.

Kind regards,

Allan Benfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Friends of ours stayed in a hotel room which overlooked the car park and ferry terminal and had tired furniture even though the property is only 4 years old. The is pool large and welcoming but is not heated so too cold to swim in winter. The 2 bedroom we were in had stained furniture, cups and saucers but no mugs ( and only two of them despite other crockery having settings for 4. No items that one might need in an apartment on holiday like jug for water, sald bowl etc. Huge kitchen but not well equipped.

Cleaners just pull up the bed sheets and change towels, dirty glasses were left where they were. The 2 bedroom backed onto a road and the sliding door was not double glazed so early morning traffic was noisy, this was coupled with being able to hear the ins and outs of the family in the apartment below and adjacent even when we were in the living area ( with the doors open). The property has a lovely feel when you go in but lets you down when you get into the rooms/apartments. Certainly not 4.5 - 5 star.

The secure Car park was so secure that it almost never worked for us and had no button to press to speak to staff, so had to trek back around to reception to get keys re-cut. Once inside the car park there was rat droppings all throughout which didn't set a good impression!

The apartments are a long way from reception and have no lift so more elderley folk may want to ask to stay closer to reception. The rest of Maggie however was beautiful and the full moon party ( which draws 1000's to the Xbase backpackers), nowhere near as noisy as you may expect! Sorry Peppers but this time you didn't live up to your reputation!

Having stayed at Bright Point across the way previously I would certainly recommend it over Peppers.

Room Tip: Stay in an apartment and try to get one that doesn't back onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 25pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPBOB, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your review,

Unfortunately some of our rooms do have a different view to those facing the Marina, and we have ensured this is pointed out on all our websites and also priced them lower to allow for the budget conscious traveler. We do have other rooms available with different views and facilities available to book or upgrade upon request.

I do need to point out that Magnetic island has a very large population of Koalas, Rock wallabies and also one that inhabits our resort is the Possum. These animals leave allot of droppings in the car park and yes it is a constant battle to keep clean, we do not have rats in any form... there was once a population of native water rats in the early stages of development however these animals are fragile to development and moved on.

It sounds as though you stay on the island a bit, I would welcome you to give me a call should you look at returning and i would sort you out with a more suitable apartment for your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me via the hotel line at any time.

Kind regards,

Allan Benfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Myself my wife and seven other friends traveled to Townsville for the V8's and stayed at Peppers. On arrival we were warmly greeted and proccessed very quickly. the two rooms we had booked were magnificent overlooking the pool area down the back. Many thanks to Ash the barman and the rest of the staff for the great service and laughs we had over the seven days we were there. i had read some of the negitive blogs about the place and was a bit worried about what we would find but anyone who thinks this place is awfull needs to get a life, just ease up and enjoy. Always remember, people treat you as you treat them and the guys and girls at peppers are fantastic

Room Tip: Ask for a pool veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyGeorge053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPBOB, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Well done Happy George!!

I had to print off your pics to show the team as they would all remember you well. Please ensure to let me know if the clan are coming back for next year’s V8 Supercars and I will ensure you are in the same area of the resort.

Since the V8s we have had new umbrellas added to the deck and swimming pools and now are awaiting the sign off for some extra furniture, so next year will be bigger and better. Please feel free to contact me directly if there was something you felt missing that would make your stay even better next time around and we will endeavor to see it happen.

Thanks again,

Allan Benfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I had been staying in Townsville for a week on business and flew my wife up for weekend a birthday treat for her. We had never stayed at a Peppers Resort but believed it was a high quality resort. On arrival we were given the key for room 1211. This the same room cthink from July 5 was given. It had list of things wrong a mile long. Dirty carpets, stain chairs, dirty cooking surfaces, ripped bedding to name just a few. I had paid for a superior room at $250 a night and what we got was 3 star. We went back to reception and told them we were not happy. They said 'they will see what we can do, come back later'. When we went back later we were told we had now be given a "premium room", this room was the same as the last just with a better view. However the furnishing were not dirty and stained as the previous one.
After the room debacle was sorted we decided we would go to the restaurant for lunch only to be told it was shutting and being set up for a wedding that night. We also told it would not be open that night (sat). This was very disappointing as we did not have a car or any way of getting around. At this stage we ready to ask for our money back and return to Townsville.
We went to dinner Sunday night and I woke up later that night with food poisoning.
I am a senior manager for a large organization and travel extensively around Australia generally staying at Holiday Inns or Accor hotels. I have never had this type of experience before.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gvbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPBOB, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for your review,

I apologies for the poor standard you first experienced as this is not our intention for any of our guests although reading on I see that once moved the new room was to your standard and i hope that we met your expectations on cleanliness and quality. We have since had all the carpets and furnishings cleaned and a monthly process implemented to ensure they do not return to the way you found them. Due to the high volume of guests experienced over this season it was unfortunately a little difficult to coordinate until recently.

Our restaurant is of very high quality and demand, hence the reason it is heavily booked every weekend. I would love to speak with you more in relation to your upset stomach issue as we have not had any other complaints around this time. It would be good to narrow the cause of this unfortunate illness you experienced.

Please feel free to contact me on the resort number to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Allan Benfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, with breakfast in the mornings in a standard room.
The room and bathroom was very spacious, modern and had everything we needed.
Once you step off the ferry, Peppers, is only a few metres walking distance away. As is the bus stops to get around the island. There's also an IGA supermarket next door. Breakfast was fantastic, with a choice of fruits, juice, hot cooked meals and sweets. The restaurant downstairs was really good and convenient. Staff were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend Peppers. The one thing we found was that we didnt use the pool, as it wasnt heated and was too cold.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hskhsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPBOB, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Good to see you got out and about during your stay.

Thank you for your kind review and we would love to welcome you back again sometime soon, You commented on our tropical breakfast. this is now a complimentary inclusion to all guests staying with us. The pool is a little cool in winter however very refreshing in the summer months, I am in the process of sourcing quotes to have the smaller infinity pool at the front of the resort heated so thank you again for your comment as this adds to my pending debate.

Please feel free to contact us directly should you choose to visit us again and we will be sure to look after you again.

Kind regards,

Allan Benfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
250 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amaroo On Mandalay
Amaroo On Mandalay
#4 of 18 in Magnetic Island
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Property: Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Address: 123 Sooning St, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island. Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail. Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options. Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing