We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sails On Horseshoe
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort(Magnetic Island)(Great Value!)
$229
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand Motel(Townsville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Allen(Townsville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Summit Motel(Townsville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
83
32
2
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
32
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersbeach chairsacross the roadquiet endgarden viewthe early birdlaid backswim in the oceannetted swimming areagreat hostsshort strollapartment was cleanground floornelly bayliving areaan ideal locationquiet road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 122 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fabulous6 days in paradise, really loved the location & view. In the middle of Northern Queensland winter it was 26 degrees most days , fine & sunny.. Bliss. Walk across the road to swim in the ocean . Decor a little tired but perfectly adequate for our needs.

Room Tip: Not serviced but fully equipped with washing machine& dryer etc. . Close to shops for basic groceries & some excellent cafés.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bonny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We went when it was so quiet, very little tourists. Had the island to ourselves. room was spotless and reception was so la be and friendly, easy going staff. Location away from noisy shops. Like a private ebach at your door step. In ground pool at the back door.Full kitchen. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: there are rooms located at rear of property with pool views
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iTravell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at the Sails on Horseshoe for 8 nights over Easter. Apartment was furnished although probably a little moldy (Tropical Climate). As my kids are prone to allergies we washed all the bedding again (dona's/blankets only) & this fixed the mold smell. We were right next to the pool gate so would not suggest having that apartment as you can constantly hear the gate closing with a distinctive bang inside the apartment. The pool area was relaxing & always looked forward to getting back from the beach & jumping into the pool to coll down again. The BBQ was cleaned everyday it was used & i'm only sorry that i did not use it on a nightly basis other than the remaining 3 to 4 nights. Best part about it is that Horseshoe Bay is magnificent albeit it a little crowdy during long weekends etc & the apartments are across the road from the beach. Sunsets are spectacular & we spent many a late arvo sitting on the beach with a bottle of wine & eating prawns whilst watching the sun slowly slide away. There is a guy who sells seafood from his house around the corner that he catches off his own trawler. Cant remember his name or address but well worth looking up or asking around. I would suggest that everyone (local) would know who he is. That's where we bought our seafood from & it was fresh & reasonable priced. The local pub does a great lunch & is a far cheaper option than the evening sitting & the local Mexican restaurant was not too bad albeit expensive. There is a local IGA as you come of the barge & I would suggest that you purchase your groceries from them as i was quite surprised to see them reasonable priced seeing all their goods come across to the island via the local barge service. Overall we had a great time, very relaxing & have booked again for next year.

Room Tip: Try & book 1 of the 2 apartments at the front of the complex. these look directly over the beach out over the Bay. Well worth the little extra you pay for them. Have booked these of next year. Try and stay away from the one that has the pool gate attached if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank apkp6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very nice condo equipped with everything we needed. We enjoyed having the well equipped kitchen and the the outdoor grilling area to prepare our own meals of local produce and fish. Horseshoe Bay is a great place to stay on the island and Sails on Horseshoe was perfect for our needs. Lorakeets visited our balcony every morning and the quiet beach was a stroll across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ponyonmyboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

After a challenging process to checkin with a slightly confusing website and a false start when we arrived having being placed in the wrong room, everything went up from there.

The room itself we stayed in with my wife, our one year old and parents in law was probably the flagship room of the premises. It was a two bedroom apartment on the second floor directly opposite the beach. Amenities were basic but well maintained, only draw back being soap from the last guest still in the bath, underpants in the dryer and many trails of ants in the kitchen.

The one thing we could not get enough of was relaxing on the balcony overlooking that cracking beach. Blue sky every morning for 4 mornings didn't grow old at all!

The pool did the job. It was warm and maintained and the jets you can turn on helped the aching muscles.

Would definitely rate the place to go back. The property could do with some updating soon but I think that's part of the charm compared to the apparent 5 star properties at Nelly.

My one call out would be crank up the cleaning and spend a couple of $ on the website and it would make a big difference.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews