We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical Island - Perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Leisure Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Island – Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My partner and I recently visited Magnetic Island and decided to stay at the Island Leisure Resort based on a friend’s recommendation. It was the perfect place to relax and wind down. It is very accessible, close to the ferry terminal. The public bus stop is only a couple of meters from the main entrance and a regular bus schedule makes exploring the island hassle free. The management and staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and eager to share local knowledge. The rooms are nice and spacious, clean, comfortable and air-conditioned. It is absolutely family friendly with a well-equipped games room, tennis quart and a lovely pool. The grounds are kept impeccably and the little kiosk was stocked with most essentials and ample luxury treats. The beach is a mere 3 minutes’ walk and local convenient store and a couple of restaurants are just up the street. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danjo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandLeisureResort, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Danjo

Thank you so much for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Island Leisure Resort and also enjoyed exploring our beautiful Magnetic Island. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future. Best Wishes Eileen Nethercott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    35
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
86
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

3 of us girls stayed here as a base whilst on a break. Tidy, clean. Helpful, friendly, etc...
Noisey noisey noisey Curlew Birds that screech all night but thats nature....
Room could sleep up to 6 friends.
Great swimming pool, close to resturant, nr bus stop and superette.
Would stay there agin.

Room Tip: Plan travel arrangement, ie what bus to catch, hire a car etc 3 taxi on island. Decide what restura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecouple178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandLeisureResort, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Thecouple178,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort.

I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.

Kind regards
Eileen Nethercott
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Plenty of space and sleeping areas in each room. Good facilities and very friendly staff, including the resident poodle! Close to beaches, bus stops, a great pizza restaurant, cafe and FoodWorks. In walking distance to ferry terminal and IGA. Fantastic place to take the family, especially good entertainment with the resort pool and activities room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessiMayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandLeisureResort, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear JessyMayM,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort.

It was great to hear you enjoyed the many facilities we have here for the children. We have since added a giant chest set and mini golf to our range.

I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.

Kind regards
Eileen Nethercott
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

During our four week travel around Australia this was the best accommodation we stayed at. A must for families with kids, but a couple would be just as happy there. Just as Magnetic Island itself, the resort is small but perfect. The units are spacious, a family of five can stay in one unit. There is a very nice pool and bbq area, tennis court and rackets are available. The kids can play in the games room. And they loved that, having toys away from home! The staff is very friendly and wil go out of their way to make your stay memorable. They will point out best places to eat and even tried to find us a koala!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirjam1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen166, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Mirjam 1967

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort.
It was so lovely to see your children enjoying our facilites and toys in the games room. We were so pleased you got to see our beautiful koalas in the wild and had fun feeding our friendly lorikeets!

I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.

Kind regards
Eileen Nethercott
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Island Leisure resort recently and it was fantastic. The kids loved the pool, the games room is great and the craft room was a hit with the little ones as they really enjoyed painting the plaster casts. We played table tennis, pool and airhockey with the kids. The gardens are beautiful and the owners very helpful. The rooms all open to the gardens and the views are great. Their gardener has a great sense of humour as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolans255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen166, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort. I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.
Kind regards

Eileen Nethercott
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at this resort this year and it was wonderful. I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant and peaceful experience. The price I paid was good (plays a huge part when travelling alone). The beach is right across the road and there wasnt too much trouble finding my way around the island. I stayed in the cottage/house and it was wonderful! It was clean, tidy and well maintained. The owners were so lovely and genuine and happy to help at any time (a big thank you again to them both). I highly (I repeat) HIGHLY recommend this resort!!!! I'll be sure to stay here again in the future. :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beccajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen166, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Beccajade,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort.
I am happy to see you you enjoyed our lovely cottage and the beautiful beach. We certainly love this time of year and enjoy maiking our guests Magnetic Island experience a holiday to remember.
I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.
Kind regards
Eileen Nethercott
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed there with my husband and our little dougher. Great place, especially for families. Games room,craft room, movies night for children and the best thing is the birds - they come at 5pm every day and you can feed them;-), so much fun! I would recommend it to all my friends

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen166, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear KateQLD

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort.
I am so pleased you and your daughter were able to enjoy our new crafts room and the movie nights. Our friendly lorrikeets still visit us each afternoon and sometimes we have up to a 100 birds at a time!
I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.


Kind regards
Eileen Nethercott
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#3 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Leisure Resort

Property: Island Leisure Resort
Address: 6 Kelly Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award-winning resort with a range of fully self-contained burés to suit singles, couples and families. Our standard buré has a large TV, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, kitchen, ensuite bathroom and private dining patio. We also have superior burés and wheelchair-accessible burés. The entire resort is wheelchair accessible. The resort has a lovely lagoon-style swimming pool, with spa and gas barbeque area. This area is lit at night, enabling you to eat outside and enjoy our lovely evenings. We have a full-size tennis court, games room with pool table, table tennis, board games and guest library with books and magazines. We also have a children's craft area, a guest laundry with washing machines and dryers. There is also a licensed snack bar. We are located 50 metres from the beach and 100 metres from the shops and restaurants. The island bus stops at the front of the resort. This is a great resort in a great location with great rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Leisure Hotel Magnetic Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing