We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Leisure Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Island Leisure resort recently and it was fantastic. The kids loved the pool, the games room is great and the craft room was a hit with the little ones as they really enjoyed painting the plaster casts. We played table tennis, pool and airhockey with the kids. The gardens are beautiful and the owners very helpful. The rooms all open to the gardens and the views are great. Their gardener has a great sense of humour as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolans255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen166, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort. I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.
Kind regards

Eileen Nethercott
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 198 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at this resort this year and it was wonderful. I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant and peaceful experience. The price I paid was good (plays a huge part when travelling alone). The beach is right across the road and there wasnt too much trouble finding my way around the island. I stayed in the cottage/house and it was wonderful! It was clean, tidy and well maintained. The owners were so lovely and genuine and happy to help at any time (a big thank you again to them both). I highly (I repeat) HIGHLY recommend this resort!!!! I'll be sure to stay here again in the future. :)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beccajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen166, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Beccajade,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort.
I am happy to see you you enjoyed our lovely cottage and the beautiful beach. We certainly love this time of year and enjoy maiking our guests Magnetic Island experience a holiday to remember.
I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.
Kind regards
Eileen Nethercott
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed there with my husband and our little dougher. Great place, especially for families. Games room,craft room, movies night for children and the best thing is the birds - they come at 5pm every day and you can feed them;-), so much fun! I would recommend it to all my friends

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen166, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear KateQLD

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort.
I am so pleased you and your daughter were able to enjoy our new crafts room and the movie nights. Our friendly lorrikeets still visit us each afternoon and sometimes we have up to a 100 birds at a time!
I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.


Kind regards
Eileen Nethercott
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We arrived late evening an were pleasantly surprised that the friendly owner waited up for us and offered a fully stocked kiosk to purchase from. I had assumed we would arrive to find a key left out and an empty fridge so I had carted some basic breakfast things in my suitcase - no need.
The value for money was great - well equipped bungalow, next to a massive pool, games room, tennis court, kids art club open every day. Opposite the beach. Laundry facilities. All great. It is a leisure park though and like most of these places you need to be OK about having other people's kids running around and making noise in the early hours which can wake you up. There is a fantastic mexican restaurant accross the road, also a foodworks supermraket, chemist, bottle shop and cafe 4 minute walk. The supermarket charges like a wounded bull. Go to the IGA 15 minutes walk away - it is cheaper.
I loved the curlews and lorrikeets.
Magnetic Island is such a lovely laidback place.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit away from other travellers as the noise travels from unit to unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlltheMcKees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen166, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort.
So pleased you enjoyed the curlews and lorrikeets, even though the curlews can be very noisy at times, they are very unusual looking birds.
Oh and Man Friday Mexican Restaurant is so yummy, it is certainly one of the restaurants on top of my list when recommending places to dine close by.
I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.
Kind regards
Eileen Nethercott
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I haven't actually stayed here but was visiting the island and looking for accommodation for a future date. There was a sign out "open for inspection" so my boyfriend and I went in for a look and the manager was more than happy to show us around. While not deluxe, the bungalows are attractive and looked clean, spacious, and comfortable. As you can see from the most recent traveler's photos, the furniture has been updated. The pool and lounge areas around the bungalows looked lovely and well maintained. I think the price was $139 a night for two nights but I found it even cheaper on a discount travel website. I have chosen to stay in a two bedroom vacation rental but had I not found that, this was my next choice. For the price I think it is very good value for a self-contained studio style accommodation.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Spygurl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is well within walking distance from the ferry although, I would definately recommend hiring a car from the ferry port (they are cheap and fun). Island leisure is very well maintained, the pool is immaculate and there is a games room with tons of games & toys for children. The owners were very friendly, approachable and helpful.

The rooms are quite close together so if you it a chase of luck i.e who do you share the facilities with. We don't have kids and if the units were a bit more sound proof and more private and there was no facilites for kids it would have been perfect, we however are not their target market.

So bring your toddlers along for a great break...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezza17june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen166, Manager at Island Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear kezza17june,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort, your honest feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We use the information provided on Trip Advisor to improve and enhance the holiday experience for our future guests at Island Leisure Resort.
I hope you will return to visit us again so that I can thank you in person.
Kind regards
Eileen Nethercott
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Although the new owners are still trying to get all the Resort refubished these clean, efficient units are all that we needed. It is obvious that part of the gardens are still to be completed but I should imagine it will not be long before everything is complete. But hey, what there is now was great. A game of tennis, a swim in the pool and a walk along the beach everything you need to chill out. As for the staff: friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 1 - 5 look out to the finished gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
261 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
1.0 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amaroo On Mandalay
Amaroo On Mandalay
#4 of 19 in Magnetic Island
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Leisure Resort

Address: Island Leisure Resort 6 Kelly St | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $107 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award-winning resort with a range of fully self-contained burés to suit singles, couples and families. Our standard bure has timber cathedral ceilings, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, television, kitchen, ensuite bathroom and private dining patio. We also have superior rooms, family rooms and wheelchair-accessible rooms. The resort has a lovely lagoon-style swimming pool, with spa and gas barbeque area. This area is lit at night, enabling you to eat outside and enjoy our lovely evenings. We have a full-size tennis court, games room with pool table, table tennis, board games and guest library with books and magazines. We also have a children's craft area, a guest laundry with washing machines and dryers. There is also a licensed snack bar. We are located 50 metres from the beach and 100 metres from the shops and restaurants. The island bus stops at the front of the resort. This is a great resort in a great location with great rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Leisure Hotel Magnetic Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing