We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel with awesome tour of Koala Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hostel was in a gorgeous hut, cleanest hostel I've stayed in. Friendly and helpful staff. Cheap beer. And an amazing interactive tour of Koala Park, by tour guide Tony. All praise to Tony, he was awesome and helped with my phobia of snakes! Interact with koala, snakes, lizards, turtles and more. Only negative was the pizza served. They charge $10 and it's just a pizza packaged from a supermarket, but hey you get what you pay for.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank VikkiC1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 468 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

What a fantastic hostel! I had specifically chosen this hostel, and was not disappointed. The 6 bed dorms are a must (much nicer than the 8 bed alternative) and not at all overpriced. They are air conditioned, and were spotlessly clean (something which is very important to me!). Staff were really helpful, and I really enjoyed the Champagne Brunch which they have on offer. Would definitely recommend this!

Room Tip: Definitely pick the 6 bed 'flash packer' rather than the 8 bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights at the Bubgalow Bay Koala Village. First of all we got a room, which was obviously full! After complaining we got another room, which was very small and we haven't seen a cleaner during the whole time. One of the staff members were behaving like a real bit** and completely overreacting because of a simple misunderstanding....there are better places to stay on magnetic island!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephanie1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was really looking forward to staying at Bungalow Bay as they advertise their 'resident koalas' being there.. I read this as them actually being around the hostel site but no you have to pay to go into the wildlife park- completely mislead you!

We were given the key to our cramped hot room to discover ants all over the bed it was absolutely disgusting! We went to reception and they put us in another room which was fine until the ants started appearing (THOUSANDS of them) we had to use all our insect repellent to kill what we thought was most of them but no they just kept on and on appearing, we had to keep our food bag (which was fully sealed) inside our room as we were checking out at 5am and the ants managed to get into everything, we had to chuck our food bag and the majority of our food too. I cannot explain how many there were, and I understand we are in the middle of the woods I expected to see ants and other bugs but not to the extreme these were, it was like something from a horror movie, all over the floor, all over our personal belongings and all in our beds.

For what we paid we certainly did not expect to be sharing our bed with ants, there is even a sign on the bedroom door saying not to be afraid of the ants they just want to share the room with us - is this some kind of sick joke. Even the staff have said they haven't lasted more than a week staying there because of the bugs.

We went and spoke to the nice lady behind the bar who offered to move us to ANOTHER room but we had already moved once, and we were so tired from spending our evening trying to get rid of the ants that we didn't see the point moving again at 10pm. But she gave us a complimentary drink each and couldn't apologise enough.

I have never ever wrote a review before but I felt I needed to as the hostel has so many good reviews and I feel this is misleading.

If you are fine sharing your bed with ants then this is the place for you, We couldn't even eat our dinner in the dining area because the ants were all over the table!! But we spoke to so many people who said Base hostel was much better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The price is the draw card but if one looks around critically there are other options 5 times as good for just a few extra dollars. We stayed in a 'cabin' - I call it a tepe with bed on the floor and an AC that made enough noise to keep those in the campsites awake as well. If it were $40 a night t would be just ok but at $76 it's rubbish and you're way better off to spend 20 bucks more on a booking site to get good value for money. This place is rubbish

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NotQuiteAWinnebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

After staying at base on the other side of the island, bungalow bay was a breath of few hair with nice sized, clean rooms and a welcoming reception! Pool area was very nice and it's a good location. If anyone is wondering where to stay at magnetic this is definitely the place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a private double bunker, it was basic, clean and comfortable. Only quibble was that the aircon didnt work and it was so hot with it being summer. It had a double bed, fridge, bin, mirror and a few sockets.
You could buy wifi and internet access very cheaply from reception.
All the staff were extremely helpful, knowledgable and friendly. They even booked us on to The Breakfast with Koalas when they were just closing reception for the day.
The breakfast with Koalas was one of the highlights of my trip to Oz. We didn't actually eat with the Koalas though but we did eat with various other animals and reptiles and then went to see the Koalas after, we paid to have a photo taken with one and its a photo I will treasure for a lifetime.
: )

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Upfronthook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
118 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
#1 of 19 in Magnetic Island
645 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $48 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Bay Koala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing