We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Siglufjordur, Iceland
1 review
“Amazing staff”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed there only for one night because we didn't have more time. But the staff was amazing, they helped us organize our trip down to Sydney, I don't know how many calls they made for us! The area was really good and a good swimming pool. I would definately recommend this hostel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    148
    73
    35
    17
See reviews for
39
141
96
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on our trip to Maggie! We thought it would be nice to stay in a shack in the woods, however we were wrong! When we arrived we couldn't check in til afternoon for rooms to be clean so had to wait which was fine as we were early, however when we finally got our room keys to a double private room, we found a mattress on the floor and that bed hadn't even been changed. So we went to reception and told them and they gave us another set of keys, to which we went to another room to find this had not been cleaned either! So we went back, the woman was very apologetic and came with us to find a room that had been cleaned! She gave us some drinks on the house for the trouble. We had to pay extra for wifi just for an hour!! We then went went to sleep, well tried to! It was boiling hot even with the air con and fan! I didn't dare stick my leg out incase I got bitten by the ants that were all over the floor!! 6am arrived after about 2 hours sleep and we got up and checked out ASAP!!! The pool was ok, not clean enough to swim in though!! Was ok for one night but for the price id have a look at hotels!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Myself and a friend booked in for three nights in a twin basic cabin. When we got there we were really impressed with the place, it feels really tropical right in the thick of the wildlife.

The actual set up of the place is great but I feel the customer service is poor.

Firstly wifi is not included, which is fine but its very expensive. Most places we stayed charged around $12 for three days, here was $30 for ten hours. The wifi is also very slow, and can only be used in the bar area. This is not ideal for Facetime/skyping as the bar plays load music making it impossible to hear (even using headphones.)

Secondly they have a strict no bringing your own alcohol onto the premises, even in your rooms or in the kitchen/dining area.
One night we went to the bar to buy a glass of wine to have with our dinner, we were told we were not allowed to drink the wine anywhere but the bar because there would be no one to monitor us as to whether we were drinking our own alcohol or not in the dining area. We then asked if we could eat our dinner in the bar, that was also a no.

I felt this rule was very odd and was not advertised when booking the room and actually really ruined any positive customer relationship.

You also have to pay a deposit to the bar if you want plates and cutlery.

Overall it came across that they were just trying to get every penny off you, when the hostel was already fairly pricey.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 3 share cabin which was clean and comfortable. Back to nature within the rainforest surroundings and wonderful wildlife. There's an absolutely amazing 'koala cuddle express' 2 hour tour where you can hold not only a koala (which is awesome) but I also held a crocodile, bird, snake, echnida, bearded dragon and much more. I cannot recommend this enough...not only were the animals amazing so was the guide, Tony...such a great bloke who was both hilarious and knowledgeable. Definitely amongst my favourite places in Australia and I even went to Australia zoo. The YHA itself was fab too...friendly staff, especially Declan and a really cool, chilled out atmosphere. It's also just a short walk to the lovely beach, restaurants, bars and the brilliant Nan's Tea Rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Austraveller2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to stay in magnetic island specially if you are looking for some peace. Its close to the beach and has a sweet swimming pool. The rooms are good and cute. The staff is friendly and the environment is really nice too. It's a good spot to relax and there's a bus stop in front of it.. So you can go around the island.



  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inespinto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed in a lovely little 3-share cabin and really enjoyed the "summercamp" vibe of it. The hostel had a great atmosphere with the koala sanctuary on site, the bar/restaurant and the pool area. The only thing that keeps me from rating the hostel as "excellent" is the location. The hostel is located quite far away from Nelly Bay (where the ferry departs) and they offer no shuttle whatsoever. Plus the cleanliness in the kitchen and bathroom facilities could be improved!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and got an amazing deal on the room. This made me expect a little less but the place was generally very good. My only issues was the cleanliness of the bathroom. I was in an en suite dorm of 8 people and the bathroom never seemed to be clean.

Other than that, the site was very pretty, the pool area fantastic, the kitchen large and clean with nice outside seating and the bar area cool. I was a chilled hostel with the bar stopping serving at 10pm, so not noisy when trying to sleep.

The on site koala village felt a lot like a zoo and was very overpriced but it was great to see the animals and get to handle so many of them.

I would stay again!

Room Tip: En suite rooms are best otherwise you have to go outside to go to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
2.8 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.3 mi away
CStay
CStay
#1 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Property: Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Bay Koala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing