We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koalas and Possums!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Koalas and Possums!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We're a couple in our 20s and we stayed here for three nights in a private bungalow...

Good
- The Koala Village breakfast & tour is worth the trip. Definitely make sure you don't miss this!
- The facilities are clean, they've got a good kitchen too and a pool
- Our private bungalow was very nice with A/C, a fan and a mini fridge!
- Close to Horseshoe bay, and the buses run right outside to get your around the island
- The whole place is teeming with wildlife, possums and kangaroos and parrots

Bad
- The problem with our room was that it was REALLY tiny, you could barely stand up and had very little room for two big backpacks!
- The wi-fi is very expensive. Come to think of it, everything was really expensive. The coffee, the ice cream, the food. But then again you're on Maggie Island, everything is expensive.

Magnetic Island is a beautiful place and Bungalow Bay is a really beautiful spot. Make sure you get to horseshoe bay and go to the fish'n'chips shop there, it's delish!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    153
    76
    36
    20
See reviews for
41
147
101
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

There was seriously only one electrical outlet in the entire 8-bed dorm, and it was in the bathroom. Come on.

The animal sanctuary tour was great, had a lot of fun there. The guide was really knowledgeable and friendly. The kitchen facilities were also pretty good. The front desk staff were also really helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworthville, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I didn't stay at Bungalow Villiage, but did visit the animal sanctuary, where you can get very 'up close & personal' with some cute and not so cute ozzie animals. The koalas are just lovely, especially one little tyke called "Cuddles". He was so lovely and seemed to really like the keeper. Cuddles had been abandoned by his Mum, but was doing well. Good talks about the different animals we saw, their lifestyles, what they eat etc. Very informative. You can touch, hold or even have your photo taken ($15 for the koala one, not too bad really) with pythons (smallish one's) a young croc (mouth taped for safety) cockatoos, a frill necked lizard and a blue tongued lizard. Bungalow Bay Village is about a 10 min. walk from Horseshoe Bay, which is a lovely area. The bus stops outside Bungalow Bay Village. Lovely beach front at Horseshoe Bay, plenty of eateries. The public bus meets the ferry from Townsville and it cost me $2.50 bus fare (pensioner) to go to the other side of the island, where Horseshoe Bay is (half an hour drive).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Possomchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My self and my partner stayed here for 2 nights for a quick weekend trip. We arrived on the bus from the ferry terminal which was really convenient and cheap. There were several other people who got off the bus and checked in with us. This meant that the person checking us in basically just shouted info and instructions to us all so that she wouldn't have to say it several times. It didn't feel like the friendliest or most welcoming of arrivals!

We got our key and headed up to the A frame bungalows which we'd booked. The room itself looks fine from the outside but is not the cleanest inside. The bed sheets and bed clothed did look very clean and the pillow and mattress felt comfortable. The floor was dirty and the walls looked dirty. Yes, there were a few ants in the room, but I have no issues with that - it's the nature of where you're staying! The room has a good sized fridge but no where at all to hang anything up or put any clothes away so they just stayed in a bag on the floor. I liked having a veranda with chairs to sit outside on. We weren't too far from the amentities block which I thought was generally fine and clean. The showers were ok and teh toilets were clean. It's not the best amenities block but certainly not bad at all.

We had a drink in the bar in the evenings before going into town for dinner. Drinks were not really cheap but were reasonably priced. Bar service was ok. I was surprised to find that the bar closed at 10pm which suited us but as it's a backpackers place I thought it would be open later.

We liked seeing the wildlife around the accommodation - lots of rock wallabies, possums, rainbow lorikeets and kookaburras.

There is also a kitchen and pool which we didn't use so can't comment on that. We also didn't do the koala tour. We had a snack in the restaurant (garlic bread $4.50) but they also had basic pizzas for $12.

The location of the YHA is good. Only 400m to the beach so just a few minutes walk to Horseshoe Bay which has a few restaurants, pub and Foodworks grocery store. The beach is lovely and they have stinger nets allowing you to swim during the stinger season.

Overall, I liked the location and the wildlife around the accommodation. The rooms were average (some pros and cons) and the staff were ok but not especially friendly or welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved staying here and te koala village. We were only here for 1 night but it was really easy to get to and from Nelly Bay. The rooms were great and loved the Eco friendly vibe the park has got going. The beer is cheap, company is good, and I'd definitely recommend the koala park. We did the breakfast and the tour and absolutely loved both. Cannot fault anything here! Staff were amazing and just can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aj0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This has been one of my favourite hostels to stay at so far. Its a 20 minute bus ride from the ferry terminal, but thats ok as the hostel is only a short walk from a lovely quiet bay.
The hostel itself is clean, and has plenty of wildlife running around the place which was always interersting....Parakeets in the day, and then Wallabees at night. And the bar has different things going on every night.
The Koala sanctuary connected to the place is defintely worth a visit too, as you get to hold loads of wild animals.
would definitely recomend this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-of-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hostel itself is not really good. The bar is nice (closes quite early), the toilets near the bar were clean. The staff is friendly. But the bungalows/dorms are very very basic, old and in need for renovation. It was raining while I was on Magnetic Island, and water came inside our bungalow, falling from the roof in one of the (luckily empty) beds. There were also holes in the 'mosquito net' in front of the 'windows'. Just the bathroom seemed a bit newer, and was clean! But the wildlifepark and the tour with the ranger was great!!! The ranger is so friendly and knows a lot about the animals, the nature and the country. The koalas are sooooo cute!!! I also liked the bird feeding the afternoon before, between the wildlifepark and the bar..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciadenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,088 reviews
4.3 mi away
CStay
CStay
#1 of 18 in Magnetic Island
70 reviews
3.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
#2 of 18 in Magnetic Island
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Property: Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Bay Koala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing