We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Koala Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My friend and I travelled all around Australia as this place hands down has the cleanest and most cuddly Koalas :) The small but well kept sanctuary was really nice and it felt good to support a small organization for a change. The picture with the Koala was good quality and the overall interaction with all the animals they house there was above my expectations. I highly recommend this place for the sanctuary as well as a nice quaint place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the Bugalows with an ensuite, this is much better than having to walk far to the toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 468 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in the 6 bed dormitory, which one of the bungalow huts next to the car park. The room was very comfortable with its own shower, toilet and free lockers (bring a padlock); the whole room was very clean. The location was great for Magnetic Island; Horseshoe Bay is only a 5min walk away.

The pool area is also great, with a bar right next to it. The camp kitchen was well-stocked, although there was no freezer which was disappointing. Furthermore, only one of the fridges was working; a problem which did not affect us too greatly. There is a laundry area with washing machines for $3, or you could use the sinks and washing lines to do a free hand wash.

The main let-down of this place was the slightly money-grabbing attitude. $10 to hire a stingersuit, with $10 deposit. $10 key deposit and $5 deposit to borrow cutlery. Strictly no BYOB, and drinks were quite pricey ($6.50 for a bottle). Internet is $4/hour... I could go on.

The rooms aren't the cheapest available at $33 for a 6-bed dorm, so perhaps they could offer the wi-fi for free? Other than that small complaint, Bungalow Bay remains a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had my van in the caravan park there.
Awesome place and super friendly staff.

If you are backpacking alone or with friends this is the place to be as you will meet people in the same situation and can hang out on the beach.

Always something good going on in the evenings in this place.
They also have guided tours in their zoo.

It was a great experience.
Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backpacking_Eskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

When the bus from the ferry dropped me here in the pouring rain, I was with a huge crowd of backpackers and had to wait over an hour to get booked in. It was when I walked my bags to the little hut that was to be my home that I loved it. It was a small hut with a bed in the middle, geckos on the wall and little else but I did go to the communal kitchen and walk to the beach.
I did not go on the booked Koala walk as it was too wet for photographs but when I walked to the beach through the forest and a butterfly walk with no butterflies I really enjoyed it all.
Its more like a Community caravan park than a resort...and you can bring your tents and vans and stay here too.
The kitchen was friendly ....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladymaggic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a find. Very comfortable, very affordable accomodation, in the middle of a travellers hotspot. The little huts are very simple, but have all you need. The lower walls are just mesh to let the fresh air in and keep out any mosquitos, not that we found any outside either. Waking up is pure heaven, to fresh air and a trpoical aussie morning chorus, of kookaburros, lorrikets, cockatoos and the odd gecko. You cannot really see any other huts from where you are so you might as well be alone. An the bus stops right outside - perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We ended up here sent by the tourist office of Townsville, not expecting to be in a hostel/camping but however my first impression was good. It was actually kinda nice to sleep in the jungle in a bangalow. Unfortunately the shared bathroom was really dirty, not to mention all insects in it which is of course not much of a surprise if you are in the jungle. Prices for accomodation was ok 75€ per night, but what I found crazy were the prices of the bar (considering there are only 3 other restaurant quiet expensive near the beach). 3aud for a kit kat, 12 aud for a frozen Pizza margherita (which i didnt dare trying) and 12 aud for cocktails.. Wasnt it supposed to be backpackers friendly???

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancing_Queen_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Dont get me wrong, I really enjoyed my 2 nights at Bungalow bay. It's nice and quiet , perfect to chill out. It's got good amenities : big swimming pool, hammocks, in door wild life and koala park, free electric scooters to hire, wifi (2hours for free), snorkeling gear to hire (15$ half day, 20$ full day), 100 m away from the beach and shops, bar, free bird feeding, free Wallabie food to go and feed them in the wild, and tour desk.

But the staff was pretty rude and the looked miserable all the time . I understand were they are coming from, they seemed to be doing everything : printing photos from the koala park, booking and reception of new customers, telephone, tour desk, hire of the snorkle equipment, cooking the pizza (or put frozen pizza in the oven and charge us 12$ for them !!!) bar ...
BUT it's not fare to take it off on us . Everytime I asked something to one of them, They answered rudely and coldly.
Althoug there is a tour desk, none of them were keen on helping us booking activities or a car for the day. We had to pay to phone our self (no reception on the island).

The dorm was big enough but for 3 days and 2 nights I stayed there I did not see the bathroom being cleaned even once . It was pretty dirty (hair, sand, and slipery because wet !! )

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karendurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
118 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
#1 of 19 in Magnetic Island
645 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $48 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Bay Koala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing