We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel styled Resort on Magnetic Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Reviewed December 10, 2012

When the bus from the ferry dropped me here in the pouring rain, I was with a huge crowd of backpackers and had to wait over an hour to get booked in. It was when I walked my bags to the little hut that was to be my home that I loved it. It was a small hut with a bed in the middle, geckos on the wall and little else but I did go to the communal kitchen and walk to the beach.
I did not go on the booked Koala walk as it was too wet for photographs but when I walked to the beach through the forest and a butterfly walk with no butterflies I really enjoyed it all.
Its more like a Community caravan park than a resort...and you can bring your tents and vans and stay here too.
The kitchen was friendly ....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladymaggic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 470 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a find. Very comfortable, very affordable accomodation, in the middle of a travellers hotspot. The little huts are very simple, but have all you need. The lower walls are just mesh to let the fresh air in and keep out any mosquitos, not that we found any outside either. Waking up is pure heaven, to fresh air and a trpoical aussie morning chorus, of kookaburros, lorrikets, cockatoos and the odd gecko. You cannot really see any other huts from where you are so you might as well be alone. An the bus stops right outside - perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We ended up here sent by the tourist office of Townsville, not expecting to be in a hostel/camping but however my first impression was good. It was actually kinda nice to sleep in the jungle in a bangalow. Unfortunately the shared bathroom was really dirty, not to mention all insects in it which is of course not much of a surprise if you are in the jungle. Prices for accomodation was ok 75€ per night, but what I found crazy were the prices of the bar (considering there are only 3 other restaurant quiet expensive near the beach). 3aud for a kit kat, 12 aud for a frozen Pizza margherita (which i didnt dare trying) and 12 aud for cocktails.. Wasnt it supposed to be backpackers friendly???

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancing_Queen_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Dont get me wrong, I really enjoyed my 2 nights at Bungalow bay. It's nice and quiet , perfect to chill out. It's got good amenities : big swimming pool, hammocks, in door wild life and koala park, free electric scooters to hire, wifi (2hours for free), snorkeling gear to hire (15$ half day, 20$ full day), 100 m away from the beach and shops, bar, free bird feeding, free Wallabie food to go and feed them in the wild, and tour desk.

But the staff was pretty rude and the looked miserable all the time . I understand were they are coming from, they seemed to be doing everything : printing photos from the koala park, booking and reception of new customers, telephone, tour desk, hire of the snorkle equipment, cooking the pizza (or put frozen pizza in the oven and charge us 12$ for them !!!) bar ...
BUT it's not fare to take it off on us . Everytime I asked something to one of them, They answered rudely and coldly.
Althoug there is a tour desk, none of them were keen on helping us booking activities or a car for the day. We had to pay to phone our self (no reception on the island).

The dorm was big enough but for 3 days and 2 nights I stayed there I did not see the bathroom being cleaned even once . It was pretty dirty (hair, sand, and slipery because wet !! )

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karendurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were booked in for 2 nights but decided to stay for a third, it was great!! We did the champagne breakfast and the Koala tour in the afternoon. The ranger, Cathy, was really good, I don't think there is anything that she does not know about her animals. It was close and personal and we felt really welcome. Lots of backpackers and singel travelers so it's a great mix of people you will meet in just one night. We loved it here and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: There are two rooms with ensuite the rest is shared. It was small but very nice, clean and a small p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethAagren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Loved our stay here...great rooms which were modern and spotlessly clean, good location close to the bus stop and a short walk to horseshoe bay with lots of wildlife in the surrounding countryside. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Only downside for a was the cost of wifi which was a little on te pricey side. Would definitely recommend this hostel however and a trip to their wildlife park is well worth it too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It's a very nice place to stay, a basic camping, reasonable ameniiesgreat kitchen (but no barbecue!!). It seems to be in the middle of the jungle and there is also plenty of wild-life (possums and kangaroos) strolling around... just don't be scared to go to the toilet at night time ;-) Be careful in relaying on the suggestions of the front desk people; a lady made us confident about a road that actually was unsealed and very dangerous for a campervan (to Florence beach).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivianross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
119 reviews
3.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
#1 of 19 in Magnetic Island
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,280 reviews
4.3 mi away
CStay
CStay
#2 of 19 in Magnetic Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $57 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Bay Koala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing