We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel with 4 star hotel prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We ended up here sent by the tourist office of Townsville, not expecting to be in a hostel/camping but however my first impression was good. It was actually kinda nice to sleep in the jungle in a bangalow. Unfortunately the shared bathroom was really dirty, not to mention all insects in it which is of course not much of a surprise if you are in the jungle. Prices for accomodation was ok 75€ per night, but what I found crazy were the prices of the bar (considering there are only 3 other restaurant quiet expensive near the beach). 3aud for a kit kat, 12 aud for a frozen Pizza margherita (which i didnt dare trying) and 12 aud for cocktails.. Wasnt it supposed to be backpackers friendly???

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancing_Queen_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 470 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Dont get me wrong, I really enjoyed my 2 nights at Bungalow bay. It's nice and quiet , perfect to chill out. It's got good amenities : big swimming pool, hammocks, in door wild life and koala park, free electric scooters to hire, wifi (2hours for free), snorkeling gear to hire (15$ half day, 20$ full day), 100 m away from the beach and shops, bar, free bird feeding, free Wallabie food to go and feed them in the wild, and tour desk.

But the staff was pretty rude and the looked miserable all the time . I understand were they are coming from, they seemed to be doing everything : printing photos from the koala park, booking and reception of new customers, telephone, tour desk, hire of the snorkle equipment, cooking the pizza (or put frozen pizza in the oven and charge us 12$ for them !!!) bar ...
BUT it's not fare to take it off on us . Everytime I asked something to one of them, They answered rudely and coldly.
Althoug there is a tour desk, none of them were keen on helping us booking activities or a car for the day. We had to pay to phone our self (no reception on the island).

The dorm was big enough but for 3 days and 2 nights I stayed there I did not see the bathroom being cleaned even once . It was pretty dirty (hair, sand, and slipery because wet !! )

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karendurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were booked in for 2 nights but decided to stay for a third, it was great!! We did the champagne breakfast and the Koala tour in the afternoon. The ranger, Cathy, was really good, I don't think there is anything that she does not know about her animals. It was close and personal and we felt really welcome. Lots of backpackers and singel travelers so it's a great mix of people you will meet in just one night. We loved it here and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: There are two rooms with ensuite the rest is shared. It was small but very nice, clean and a small p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethAagren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Loved our stay here...great rooms which were modern and spotlessly clean, good location close to the bus stop and a short walk to horseshoe bay with lots of wildlife in the surrounding countryside. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Only downside for a was the cost of wifi which was a little on te pricey side. Would definitely recommend this hostel however and a trip to their wildlife park is well worth it too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It's a very nice place to stay, a basic camping, reasonable ameniiesgreat kitchen (but no barbecue!!). It seems to be in the middle of the jungle and there is also plenty of wild-life (possums and kangaroos) strolling around... just don't be scared to go to the toilet at night time ;-) Be careful in relaying on the suggestions of the front desk people; a lady made us confident about a road that actually was unsealed and very dangerous for a campervan (to Florence beach).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivianross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a beautiful looking place, very natural, spaceous and green, with lots of wild birds flying around and loads of possoms in the evening, it felt very peaceful. We booked a package which included the ferry ride to and from magnetic island, 2 nights accomadation, pizza dinner, 30 mins free wifi and entrance to their animal sanctuary (Koala photo included!). The staff member who greeted us at reception I think was very friendly and chatty if a bit rushed as it was so busy! We were given a map to our three bed room (there was only two of us) which we had to ourselves, walking through the grounds was wonderful and we loved the look of the huts that we were staying in. Ours was way way out the back with no path (not good for wheel luggage) and where everything looked a bit run down. The hut is very cute with a verandah! The matresses looked very grubby in our room but as soon as we got the fresh sheets on it looked lovely! The room was clean and tidy, with a wall fan. The toilets and showers were a mintue walk away and although clean was in desparate need of some care, it looked very run down and grubby which make it look dirty. The kitchen was a bit more of a walk (not a problem) it was tidy and clean, the fridges needed a bit of a wash, again the whole place looked a bit run down and in need of some TLC. We sat on the outside tables with our breakfast, in the sun made it feel like a resort! We went to the animal sanctuary, where our lovely guide showed us around, you can basically hold EVERYTHING at no extra cost, from a not so tiny corc called Barbie, lizards, tortoise, snakes, stroke a wombat, and cuddle a very particular cockatoo. Hold a koala (extra cost if not part of the package) there was a baby koala too (no touching its only tiny) that we got to see right up close! it was an amazing afternoon!
Overall it was a lovely place to stay, better than the other hostels on the island (in my opinion) Close to horshoe bay and bus stops right outside, not a party hostel theres lots of families as well as backpackers there, staff were good, the whole hostel needs some extra attention to get it really up to scratch and the sanctuary made it amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshTraveller_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I travelled here with 2 friends on a packagefor 2 nights and really liked the value of it all. The dorms that we stayed in (8 share) were clean and the bathroom we had in the room was clean as well. The kitchen area was never messy as well. The staff were friendly and helpful. They were knowledgeable about the area as well as questions I was asking about the animals that we kept seeing. Going in the sanctuary was amazing. Tony was very knowledgeable and well as kept it funny and engaging (honestly get the pic holding the koala)! The location was close to the beach. With my package I did get food to feed the rock wallabies which is about a 5-10 min bus ride away. They had bingo on one of the nights which had a lot of partakers to it. The bar closed at about 11:30 so it wasn't rowdy at night. Also it was cool being surrounded by all of the animals out there. My one tip would be to bring some bug spray, there are a lot of horse flies around (they call them march flies here) that will go for you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
119 reviews
3.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
#1 of 19 in Magnetic Island
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#3 of 7 in Magnetic Island
189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,278 reviews
4.3 mi away
CStay
CStay
#2 of 19 in Magnetic Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $55 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Bay Koala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing