We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Buderim, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“relaxed place to stay”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a package deal including a dinner and drink, wi-fi access, etc and ferry from mainland, and stayed 3 nights. Our cabin was clean and comfortable, the shower/toilet block was fairly clean.
The camp kitchen was very popular and very clean, plenty of room in fridge and shelves for your food.
If you don't want to cook your own dinner, there are plenty of places to eat at the beach nearby.
We joined in the trivia night for some fun and found staff friendly and helpful.
There are grassy areas for camping but it's not flat. There is also a nice pool with lounges and hammocks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niknikjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    153
    76
    36
    20
See reviews for
41
147
101
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Cristobal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Awesome 3 bed share, real forest hut, clean and amazingly friendly staff. Free motorized scooter hire too.
The Koala tour was THE BEST, kids will really love it, totally hands on, Tony the guide was really friendly and knowledgeable, we had a fab stay here! Only 4 minutes walk from the beach, bars and restaurants. Regular shuttles are available to and from the port.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last week and were really looking forward to it, we booked a double room which was nice and clean and good value for money. The bathrooms were gross, really dirty which was a shame, don't get me wrong I understand your meant to be all "at one with nature" but jeez some Eco friendly cleaning wouldn't go amiss!
We met up with some other travellers on the first night and we decided to join in on the trivia night but the staff behind the bar were so rude they just spoilt it a bit really when it could have been great fun there was a family there playing too who said the same thing so it wasn't us being rowdy! We then got cleaned around as a hint to bugger off at 10pm!!
Other good points are the kitchen was clean and facilities were good and it's not too far from Horseshoe bay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The 2 person bungalow we stayed in was pretty cool. Styled to be eco friendly, on stilts off the ground for good air flow, clean and spacious. Plenty of wildlife to see even outside of the Koala sanctuary on site. Roos, wallabys and stick insects ect ect. Staff where very knowledgable and friendly in all aspects.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasmccool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped at the Magnetic Island for a day during trip along the east coat of Australia. We left the campervan at Townsville and got onto the ferry to go the island. The island bus stops right in-front of this amazing Bungalow Bay Koala Village. We booked a bungalow via wotif website and were lucky to get a room at the last minute. The price was very cheap and the bunglaow was in great condition. The bungalow had a/c / fan(although the a/c switch had a lock) and a fridge. We had a good night sleep there and the bed was comfy. The room was clean and there were two chairs and a coffee table on the patio to enjoy the afternoon. It was only 10 mins walk to the beach. There were a lot of restaurants by the beach.
The best thing about this place is the affiliated animal sanctuary. The ranger was very entertaining and knowledgeable. During the trip, we hugged a Koala (they charge you extra for the photos), crocs, dragons and fed cockatoo/ a lot of wild rainbow lorikeet- they land on your hands and eat soggy bread off you. It was a great experience. They also have wombats and wallabies in the sanctuary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thshoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights at Bungalow Bay Koala Village and loved it! We had originally booked 3 en suite rooms but when we got there one was out of action due to urgent maintenance issues - the staff were very apologetic and helpful and refunded us the difference. Our kids got the en suites and my partner and I had the more basic accommodation with shared bathrooms, this was a good move as it meant we could interact with the rock wallabies on our way to the toilet in the middle of the night! All the staff were really pleasant and helpful, the bar area was good and the pizzas were excellent (but beware the predatory possums ready to snatch them from your table!) the communal cooking area was well equipped so we didn't need to spend too much on eating. We won the trivia quiz, so enjoyed some free drinks at the bar (go team Gay Koalas on Acid!). Visited the site's wildlife area and got to hold a crocodile and hug a koala! Really nice beach and a few shops 5 minutes walk away so you've got everything you need for a few days relaxing in a great setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place was not fantastic, it really is a shame this is the only place you can legitimately camp on the island. The location was perfect, 5 min walk to Horseshoe Bay and the forts was only a 20min walk from here. The wildlife was also really great (excluding the famous curlew bird, the noise they make is terrible and it goes all through the night) we had wallaby's, laurikeets and baby possums hanging out with us all the time. We didn't do the koala sanctuary which is on site because we saw some in the wild when hiking. Now for the bad stuff, I dreaded anytime I needed to use the bathrooms, the floors were wet and muddy everyday and all day despite it never raining when we were there. The cleaners were useless, they would clean and mop at 8am which was the busiest time in the bathrooms then come back in with muddy boots after they mopped the floor, I even saw one girl with her feet in the basin, grose!!!! Most of the staff were friendly and helpful but there were a few that struggled with customer service, you could tell by their look and tone that you had caught them at a bad time. Done buy into their free meal special if you work for your accommodation, it is pizza every night and they are disgusting!!!! I would stay here again for location only.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Mill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,092 reviews
4.3 mi away
CStay
CStay
#1 of 18 in Magnetic Island
70 reviews
3.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
#2 of 18 in Magnetic Island
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Property: Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Bay Koala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing