We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping - Bungalow Bay Magnetic Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place was not fantastic, it really is a shame this is the only place you can legitimately camp on the island. The location was perfect, 5 min walk to Horseshoe Bay and the forts was only a 20min walk from here. The wildlife was also really great (excluding the famous curlew bird, the noise they make is terrible and it goes all through the night) we had wallaby's, laurikeets and baby possums hanging out with us all the time. We didn't do the koala sanctuary which is on site because we saw some in the wild when hiking. Now for the bad stuff, I dreaded anytime I needed to use the bathrooms, the floors were wet and muddy everyday and all day despite it never raining when we were there. The cleaners were useless, they would clean and mop at 8am which was the busiest time in the bathrooms then come back in with muddy boots after they mopped the floor, I even saw one girl with her feet in the basin, grose!!!! Most of the staff were friendly and helpful but there were a few that struggled with customer service, you could tell by their look and tone that you had caught them at a bad time. Done buy into their free meal special if you work for your accommodation, it is pizza every night and they are disgusting!!!! I would stay here again for location only.

Stayed: August 2012
11  Thank Mill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Bungalow Bay Koala Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 463 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great place to stay....nice and clean accommodation, get events for each night, minutes from horseshoe bay, great wildlife. However, all of the staff that I encountered (except one who had dreads, can't remember his name) were horrible, rude and unhelpful and things such as towels and such are extra. We arrived with about three other bookings, and the they were short staffed and extremely disorganized. It seemed like one had no idea what to do. We eventually checked in, got our bearings and headed back to the desk to inquire about a tour we had booked. The staff seemed like we were an inconvienance to them. In addition, during the nightly event (drinks should be cheaper and the meal was overpriced), one of the guys running the event was so rude and sarcastic to me. I was so ready to leave the place in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adkamp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

positive:
- cool location, your bungalow is located in great garden with wallabys, opossums and lots of birds
- no waterfront, but only 5 minutes to beautiful beach
- cool bar with evening specials (coco bowling, bingo, trivia, bbq) where you can win free drinks
- friendly staff
- local bus drops you off here
- Magnetic Island is really amazing


negative:
- in winter months bungalows become very cold at night, no temperature regulation
- no cheap supermarket on the island, so do your shopping at Townsville

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank CarniGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I arrived having had a terrible time in Townsville, little sleep in Airlie, a great, but bad weather sailing trip in the Whitsundays and in need of peace. I got just that. The wonderful receptionist upgraded me to a 3 share (from an 8 share), which I had to myself for the stay.
Lovely setting with curlews, chickens, cockatoos, wallabies in the grounds. They make a lot of noise, but you soon get used to it.
Kitchen was a disappointment as there were only two double hotplates working, which made dinner time very busy! Good shower/toilet block and good wifi with log on/log off instead of the usage counting down from the time you log on.
Great room with plenty of plugs, fan and blanket. Fly screens for lower walls, so lots of breeze going through.
and the Breakfast with the koalas/wildlife tour was AMAZING. Great food and lots of opportunities for holding the animals and informative, knowledgable guides.
The island itself is beautiful and I recommend the Forts Walk to see koalas in the wild.
After 3 nights here I feel refreshed and ready to continue north!

Room Tip: Heard from others that the dorms near the wildlife park are a bit smelly...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Most of the rooms have shared bathrooms, we took one of the three en-suite rooms and got a nice no frills room.
The room itself was recently built and therefore was new though few more fixings on the walls were needed as well as a blanket as the A/C did not have a heating option and the night was quite cold.
The place itself is very nice and guests can enjoy some of the wildlife simply by sitting on the porch.
There's an attached Koala park and a small swimming pool.

Pros:
- Good location - close to the horse shoe bay and the few bars there
- En-suite room was brand new
- Nice setting
- Trivia nights are fun
- Koala park
Cons:
- Rooms need some additional fixings and sockets
- Bar only serves pizzas and snacks
- Champagne Bush Tucker Breakfast with the Koalas - disappointing - see separate review under restaurants

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a wonderful setting, minutes from the beach and surrounded by forest. Its a neat set up being surrounded by bush- spotting possums and koalas from your dinner table! Alas the organised games and nightly frivolities at the bar mean no falling asleep to the sounds of the bush, just the drunken goings on; you could be in downtown Cairns.
During the day the outside spaces are cool - the pool is wonderful.
The aging A frame dorms are clean and tidy, but a bit chilly. They have a bathroom en suite- more than the private rooms!
With initial glances the kitchen looks nothing more than a (grotty) camp kitchen but with further investigation its well equipped (bar the Aussie obsession of rent-a-plate).
I’m not sure about the 'eco'-status of this hostel. Yes there are solar panels, but theres no rain water collection or reuse, no food composting or collection and all the cleaning products are cheap and chemical laden...

Room Tip: Avopid the A frame dorms near the entrance.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Camped here for one night. Was blown away by the amount of wallabies and possums just roaming the campsite- they were vey friendly and not a nuissance at all it was brilliant!
Short walk to beach, bars and restaurants.
Basic bathrooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
113 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
#1 of 19 in Magnetic Island
611 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,139 reviews
4.3 mi away
CStay
CStay
#2 of 19 in Magnetic Island
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $55 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Bay Koala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing