We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend a couple of days!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Palm Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a couple of days!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Bungalow Bay is a great place to chill out for a couple of days.
It is set out well with nice cabins, a lovely pool with a nice bar area along side.
The staff were warm, friendly and very helpful. As well as looking after us on the premises they were able to give great information about the island and were happy to book things for me for the rest of my trip.
It has all the usual facilities like ATM, Bar with games and deals. The only downside is that the bar shuts at 10pm!
Food in the form of pizzas were available from the bar. These were ok and served the purpose but would have been nice if they had a bigger selection of food. Saying that they had a good kitchen area where you could prepare your own food.
There is an air conditioned internet room, laundry room, pool which is lovely and has sun loungers and hammocks for you to relax and watch all the parrots in the trees.
They had a parakeet feed every day at 4.30 which was free with Lots of beautiful coloured birds that will perch on you while you feed them and take photos.
The animal park - which is more like a petting zoo that a zoo was nice. You get to go around and meet and hold the lizards, snakes, birds and koalas.
They also do a bush tucker breakfast 3 mornings a week where you can have a big buffet breakfast with the usual selection plus fresh honey straight from the hive, barbequed lamb chops, fresh local fruit, champagne and you get to cook your own toast on an open fire!.
At the end of your meal they bring the animals round to meet you so you can learn about them and take some photos.
There are plenty of things to do near to the resort. The beach with restaurants, bars, coffee shops, supermarket, ATM and water sports centre are all 5 mins walk down the road. Be advised if you are wanting to party in to the night you you will be disappointed as the restaurants and bars all seemed to close by 10pm.
There is also a horse riding ranch 5 mins the other way where you can do a horseback ride through the jungle and take the horses down to the beach and in the sea! (Horseshoe Ranch I think – i would recommend this!).
The bus stop is right out the front of the resort with busses running every half hour to the rest of the island.
The bungalows themselves are clean and comfortable with their own bathrooms. The newer ones have air conditioning and luggage lockers in the hut / dorm!!
I would definitely recommend spending a couple of days here if you are passing through Magnetic Island!!!

Room Tip: If there are a couple then it would be worth paying the extra for a private cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    149
    74
    36
    19
See reviews for
39
146
99
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I had an amazing stay here. Nice and quiet area, lots of walks and nice beaches, but not much if you're looking for lively bars and entertainment. I did the 'Champagne Breakfast' and the 'Koala Sanctuary Tour' which I highly recommend. Great food, very informative and friendly rangers. Plus a chance to hold a variety of Aussie animals.
The actual hostel was very pleasant and the chalets were basic but cosy. The shower block was not the cleanest I have seen in hostels and I also never saw anyone cleaning them. Unfortunately my only complaint is the hostel staff. The were very rude, grumpy and unhelpful. The prices at the bar varied from day to day and were different to what were being displayed. One member of staff at the bar who was helping himself to a drink actually refused to get us a glass of water and if we wanted one he would start work not for another half an hour.
We didn't use the kitchen onsite, but did have the pizza from the bar. $10 a pizza with an option of four different types. A bit over priced, but tasted good, although we could never get the vegetarian option. Also the are pre-made so there are no special requests.
Otherwise I did enjoy my stay here. I love Maggie Island and found this a great location to get out walking and see The Forts and some of the gorgeous bays only accessible by foot or your own boat.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room with communal bathroom. We were at the back of the site quite close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

One of the most chilled out hostels ever,you come away so relaxed its unbelievable. All huts have ensuite and just a very calm atmosphere. Short bus ride to the rest of the island. Quite primitive but still an amazing stay. Really friendly and helpful staff, with some thing going on every night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I took the 'Maggie Madness'-Package and stayed for two nights. Otherwise I would have left after one night.
The location is great and I loved the on-site koala park, but the staff at the reception and the bar were horrible. I did not feel like being a guest, more like being a prisoner. They were very rude and grumpy. It seems like the only one who could smile was the older lady working there.
The WiFi is very expensive and so is the entrance for the park and the rent for a car.
I slept in a 8-bed-doorm which was very noisy. The bathroom was tiny and the room not very clean.
If you are planning to stay there you'd better bring your own food. I ate a pizza which was 10AUD and the worst one I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrot745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I had a great time at the YHA Bungalow Bay! The staff was very friendly (except of one girl who was stressed and grumpy all the time..), the area is really great.
The bungalow (8 dorm) was nice, but the bathroom was very small and the shower curtain was disgusting! and there where no power plugs in the room.
but besides that, i would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank california2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on a package deal. Package was really good - included 2 nights accommodation, entrance to the koala sanctuary and a photo with a koala plus a couple of other bits like internet. Firstly the sanctuary was brilliant. Well worth doing. It's a really hands on experience - we held koala, croc, birds & snakes. The tours are with approx 10 people so got to see a lot as there weren't lots of crowds and the keepers were really informative and friendly. The village is basic to be honest - if you are looking for rooms with tv's etc then this isn't the place but its nice to be in the midst of nature - lots of possoms running round at night which was nice to see. The hostel has a bar that do drinks + pizza. Unfortunately they no longer have a restaurant which was a bit disappointing as we didn't really fancy pizza both nights. It's not a big party place - if you are looking for parties a hostel called Base was spoken about a lot which is a bit more lively. If you do stay and you see a sign for Donny's football you should definitely do this. Donny is a local man who has land where he holds footy matches between locals and backpackers on certain dates. Really lovely man with welcoming friends and family. My boyfriend had a great game of football while I sat with the other WAGS on the side lines. Had a great afternoon and some beers after so look out for it! Lovely friendly islanders.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I thought I had stayed in some pretty good hostels until I checked in here. This place is in it's own little paradise. Set on acres of land with bungalows as dorms, this feels like luxury. The dorm I stayed in had air con, and ensuite. I really felt like I was at home. There is also space for camping and campervans.

The whole site is well looked after and tidy, and the kitchen is fully equipped.

You will feel like you are living out in the wild with all the wildlife that surrounds the area. You will see Wallabies roaming around, Lorkakeets and Cockatoos flying around in the air, and the naughty little possums that come out at ight to try and steal your food. It's awesome.

I would recommend that anyone stay here.

You also have Horseshoe Bay which is just a 2 minute walk from the hostel along with a few bars are a shop.

Room Tip: I chose the Maggie Madness package which gives yoa 6 bed dorm with Ensuite and also comes with 1/2 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
998 reviews
4.3 mi away
CStay
CStay
#1 of 18 in Magnetic Island
67 reviews
2.8 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Property: Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Bay Koala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing