We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Had a great time staying here, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms clean and good food from the bar. My boyfriend had the base burger and said it was possibly the best burger he had ever had! Right by the bus stop to get around the island and right on a beach which feels almost private. Only down side was ants everywhere, but not a lot that can be done about that especially if guests aren't clean, also got the worse mosquito bites here!

All in all would definitely stay again and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollyframcesca3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Base Backpackers Magnetic Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 610 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

A beautiful property, set right on the beach. Staff were really helpful in suggesting things to do around the Island so we could get away from the property for the day then back to the bar at night for ladies night..
Had an awesome time here, would recommend a break from the norm.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are amazing
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy_9c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed at base towards the end of my trip as it was included in my oz experience package. I was supposed to stay for two nights however after only a few hours I felt I couldn't stay. The 'rooms' are actually tiny sheds if that, with too many people in too little space. The air on was absolutely useless so it's impossible to be comfortable. As the rooms are literally like sheds, the design of them makes it impossible to sleep when every time someone moves or walks past outside will sound like an earthquake. The bar isn't too bad as long as you're drunk enough to ignore the tackiness of girls getting naked for free drinks etc. I managed to stay one night but was happy to lose over $60 to stay still another place across the island, 'bungalow bay koala sanctuary' and was so happy the minute I arrived there. Do not stay at base!!!!

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, ask to be as far away from the bar as possible!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Where to start? The only thing this hostel has going for it is the view! The staff are unbelievably unhelpful, uninformative and don't smile. It was supposed to be an 8 bed female dorm - we had a male in there; they accidentally messed up the bookings and put 9 people in the 8 bed dorm. The extra person was a female, not the male. My bag was stolen from the side of the pool, whilst I turned my back for 5 mins, there were no night staff to report it to! When a member of staff did eventually show up, he said there's nothing he can do. My bag was found by a member of staff behind the huts (where the staff live) with money and camera gone. The staff were totally not bothered or concerned by it at all and had the kind of attitude that I deserved to have it stolen for being slightly drunk. Two members of staff were acting ridiculously suspicious but I had nothing to prove it. The kitchen is disgusting; there's nothing to do; they don't have any food on the menu available when the kitchen DOES eventually open (they don't apologise for this either), they don't have working vending machines, the shower/toilets are disgusting.. i could go on for days. I have not spoken to anyone with anything good to say about the place. Worst hostel in Australia!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust89x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was booked into this hostel because I had an open voucher for Magnetic Island from Oz Experience. I probably wouldn't have booked a base again after the experiences in New Zealand.
When you arrive on Magnetic Island you have to pay 1.80$ for the bus to Base, there is no pick-up service.
The hostel itself is built up like a little village, to get to the rooms (which are actually little beach houses!) you have to go past the pool, the kitchen and shower and cross a little bridge.
It's located straight at the beach and the view from most of the rooms is amazing.
Unfortunately, the walls are as thin as I was used to from Base and you could here every word that was said outside. The showers weren't very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you want a hostel on the beach which beautiful views and you want a bit of night life on this teeny island then stay here, yeah the rooms are small and stuffy and a bit like wig wams but if your like us we don't like to spend the whole holiday in our rooms so it doesn't really matter. The reception was good and we got a free breakfast and welcome drink. Staff are happy to help and there's lots of snorkelling to do. We hired a car and went and saw the whole island and it was amazing. Also go to the wildlife sanctuary if you can . Bathrooms we clean. Nightlife was good, they had activities going on and it was a laugh. We saw another one of the hostels on the beach and it looked depressing compared to base.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mccanna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is one of those places that does everything as cheaply as possible hence facilities are inadequate very basic and its dirty. The hostel is right on the beach which is one redeeming factor but it is difficult to get anywhere else in the evening as it is in a quite isolated spot so you are stuck with a burger and chip menu or dirty kitchen. The entertainment at the bar may appeal if you are a chavpacker. Didn't experience full moon party so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_MiniMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
258 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
113 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#3 of 19 in Magnetic Island
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Magnetic Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Magnetic Island

Address: 1 Nelly Bay Road, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $24 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Magnetic Island 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Magnetic Island is a must do on any East Coast trip - in fact it's a destination holiday in its own right, especially as the only backpackers in Australia with 100% beach frontage. Boasting on average, more than 320 days of sunshine per year, Magnetic Island is the ultimate tropical adventure for anyone looking for something special Spend your days sipping a cocktail in the sun by the pool, spotting koalas from North Australia's largest wild Koala population or learning to dive at our on site SCUBA facility. From lazy days on the beach directly in front of the property to heaving parties of over 4,000 people for our Full Moon Down Under events - Base Backpackers has something for everyone. From ocean front en-suite private cabins - to shaded camping grounds and everything in-between, we've got an on site travel shop, cafe, restaurant and party bar and a team of staff that are willing to help in any way we can. Come stay and play in one of Australia's premier backpackers, on beautiful Magnetic Island. Getting here: Catch the SealinkQLD ferry transfer from Townsville to Nelly Bay, then it is a short ride on the Public Bus heading towards 'Picnic Bay' the bus stop is out the front of our property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Magnetic Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing