We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best decisions.”

Road Runner Scooter Hire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a scooter & motorcycle hire company which has been in operation for more than 30 years, the last 16 under the same management. We cater to all experience levels from experienced motorcycle riders to complete beginners (although we do require a basic level of competence on a bicycle). Minimum age is 18 for legal reasons and a car licence is required by law for a single seat scooter while for a dual seat the rider must hold either a scooter or motorcycle licence, and for trail bikes a minimum of 250cc motorcycle licence is needed. We now also have four and five seat four wheel drives for groups/ families which also allow access to West Point and Radical Bay although road conditions can limit access through the wet season
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We made a last minute decision to hire scooters while we were on the island. We didn't want to be waiting on the bus (though they do have a great bus system), and honestly there aren't many paved roads for any rental vehicles to travel on, so a car seemed excessive. Best decision ever! We popped into town, to hiking trails, or to restaurants at either end of the island and had fun doing it. The scooters were a blast on the mountain roads. Of course, you want to follow the traffic laws and use common sense while on the road. The owner gave use a very detailed training on the scooters, with traffic rules included. After the training, we practiced before we were allowed to venture out. I had never ridden a scooter and was apprehensive at first, but I felt very comfortable after a short amount of time. When we returned the bikes our deposit was refunded, and we were on our way. We had a wonderful time on the island, and the scooters added to our fun!

Thank MMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"ferry terminal"
in 7 reviews
"radical bay"
in 6 reviews
"these guys"
in 8 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 2 reviews
"negative reviews"
in 2 reviews
"west point"
in 5 reviews
"great fun"
in 4 reviews
"my partner"
in 3 reviews
"explore the island"
in 2 reviews
"nelly bay"
in 3 reviews
"picnic bay"
in 2 reviews
in 6 reviews
in 5 reviews
in 3 reviews
in 2 reviews
in 3 reviews
in 3 reviews

54 - 58 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Be aware of the con!! I was hired a damaged bike and was then not given my full deposit back because of the damage. At no point was I given a condition report before leaving the depot. Overall I would advise one of the other companies on the island.

37  Thank Jamesp8052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Magnetic Island is a beautiful, tropical paradise but not a good place to hire a scooter. Especially because of the many rental-restrictions. Although there are a few paved roads they only allow you to use one main-road from Picknick Bay to Horseshoe Bay. But this they only tell you after you signed the contract and paid for the scooter + 100$ deposit.

After we drove that same road up and down for a day, because we wanted to fully utilize the scooters, we went back to their depot to hand in our scooters. The unfriendly owner of the Scooter Hire looked at the scooters and said we caused scratches that haven't been there before which was not true at all.
Result was that she kept our deposits and we couldn't do anything against it as we had to hurry to catch our ferry. We couldn't believe we just lost 100 $ each, that now this awful lady had to spend on beer or entertainment. We are backpackers, traveling on short budget and didn't calculate such a huge loss of money.

When we talked to other backpackers on the ferry, they told us that exactly the same happened to them.

Be aware, folks!

31  Thank Consti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoadRunnerMaggie, Owner at Road Runner Scooter Hire, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Please note the only restrictions on scooters are the same as for any non 4 wheel drive vehicle, they are two roads - both unsealed - and one private un-maintained driveway and the restrictions are there for the riders safety. The restricted roads are listed on the contract all hirers are required to read prior to signing and a map is provided which clearly marks these areas as well as a comprehensive map of the individual bays (suburbs) which are all unrestricted. Should you not agree with the restrictions you are not required to hire the scooter.
Our terms regarding damages are also clearly stated on the contract and any amount charged for damage is used to repair the affected bikes, suggesting that we would do otherwise is simply offensive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Dam's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

1  Thank Caro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Road Runner Scooter Hire also viewed

Magnetic Island, Queensland
Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island
Magnetic Island, Queensland
Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island

Been to Road Runner Scooter Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing