We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island Palms Resort
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our first stay on Magnetic Island . The 2 Bed large unit was really well appointed even down to an Ice bucket .BBQ and Pool excellent .The pool was heated and magnificent the only extra we personally would have liked would have been a TV in main bedroom. Probably not really suitable for any one who has difficulties with stairs as there is no lift and no ground floor units ,the bathrooms are tiny other wise perfect. Nothing appeared too much trouble for the managers John and Sheena.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPmanagers, Manager at Island Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for you posting and we're sure other readers will find your observations helpful, especially noting the stairs only access to our property. We take extra special care ensuring this is very clearly outlined in any profile of the property. Wishing you many more holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at Island Palms resort with our 27 year old son, who managed a few days with us, which was lovely. Enjoyed the helpfulness of both John and Sheena... what professionals. Recommend hiring a car from the resort as not a bad price and means you can explore almost the whole island.
To be honest when I saw the outdated facade I was a little disappointed but my disappointment was short lived because the units themselves are really, very comfy, everything including picnic gear that you could possibly need for your stay. Even a proper container of dishwasher powder, not the norm, You usually get a tiny sachet, which you then need to eek out for the whole week!
Island Palms may not be the most luxurious Time share we have stayed in and we have stayed in a few, but it is one of the most thoughtfully fitted out one for sure... so well done to everyone concerned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPmanagers, Manager at Island Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we're sure other travellers will find them helpful. Your comments about our property's "outdated" appearance was certainly timely, painters have been here for just over 2 weeks and we hope to have the full exterior finished by the end of this month. We're putting progressive pictures on our Facebook page and when completed will certainly update all other photo listing. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was my first trip to Magnetic Island June 2013 and Island Palms was the perfect accommodation for me as an over 55 solo traveler. The apartment was spotless, with a well equipped kitchen, large flat screen TV in the lounge room, two bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, air conditioning and enough space for a family of four or more. I was happy to spend most nights "at home" cooking my own meals and sitting out on the balcony with breakfast in the mornings. I am of an age that I prefer not to do the "twin share option" and Island Palms was happily affordable for me.

Sheena and John made me feel very welcome and made every effort to help me have the best possible relaxing week. With tips as to when and where to go snorkeling, where to eat, where to go for the best bush walks etc. They both literally made me feel at home in the first hour of my arrival!

Island Palms is in an excellent position on Nelly Beach, as Picnic Bay and Arcadia are close enough and far enough for an early morning walk and a short bus trip from most other spots of interest. I also rented one of their four wheel drive car for two days and thus walked and snorkeled at the harder to get to bays. Fabulous!

I will certainly be coming back to stay at Island Palms on my next trip to this wonderful paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Solo_traveller_over5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPmanagers, Manager at Island Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

And it was a delight meeting you too, a great perk of the job .. meeting happy holiday makers. The Island certainly shone for you that week. Hope to see you back here - you'll definitely have to do the snorkelling next time. Regards, Sheena & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was an exchange time share, we travelled from Adelaide South Australia to this Island and what a pleasant surprise. We were picked up from the ferry by the resort managers and taken for a very short drive to the resort. Our unit was as requested not to far from the stairs and what a lovely surprise when we opened the door - the "unit" was so large and looked very inviting, 2 bedrooms both with ensuites!!! although there were only the two of us but if you intend going with another couple there is plenty of room, and an outside balcany overlooking the pool. Everything you need is close by and the local bus goes right past the resort. We had a lovely time there everything was clean, neat & tidy, this unit did have a dishwasher so we were pleasantly surprised with this extra. The furniture is a bit "70's" but we had been advised that they are in the process of updating the units. Had a great 2 weeks there - only thing wrong - it's a long way from South Australia. (By the way they do have hire cars if like us you are without wheels)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CruizingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed for a week at Island Palms and really enjoyed the quiet and relaxed lifestyle.
John and Sheena are extremely friendly and were helpful in booking tours, airport connections etc.
The Island Palms is an older complex and the out side is in need of a repaint.
However the room was comfortable and well appointed with plenty of dishes etc. including plastic plates for B.B.Q's and picnics. There are good, clean, B.B Q.facilites by the pool which was also very clean and inviting.
The grounds are well kept and tidy. A place where we would stay again on our next trip to visit the family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaybee2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just spent a lovely week at the Island Palms Resort, Sheena and John made us feel very welcome and the apartments were very clean with all amenities, the whole resort was very clean and tidy, it was most relaxing and there were restaurants, supermarket, bottle shop, transport nearby. I would thoroughly recommend the Island Palms Resort to anyone only wish we could have stayed longer than 7 days and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of visiting Magnetic Island off Townsville in Queensland. We stayed at the Island Palms Resort. This Resort is extremley well managed by Sheena and John and right from when we first made our booking they sent us an information pack which was of great assistance. Some of the information included follows.
You neeed to take a Ferry ride from Townsville and can buy return tickets, but even if you only go back into Townsville once whilst on the island its actually cheaper to buy a 10 trip pass, 2 people can share the pass they simply click 2 trips on it. You may not use all 10 trips but getting to and from the island and doing one return trip and 2 people use 8 trips up then toss the other 2 away and you are still in front.
The resort is only 1 km from the Ferry terminal and they advise that you can walk, catch a bus (that meets the ferry or take a Taxi) we took the bus which drops you at the door if requested.
The Units themselves are in a 3 storey building and the only downside is there are no lifts so unless you can handle stairs thats a problem. However if stairs dont bother you everything else is wonderful. The units have recently been renovated and are fully furnished, have excellent airconditioning systems, modern kitchens complete with dishwaher, washing machine etc.
There is a lovely swimming pool on site, a supermarket in the next street and restuarants close by.
A really great place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
264 reviews
3 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amaroo On Mandalay
Amaroo On Mandalay
#4 of 19 in Magnetic Island
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Palms Resort

Address: 13 The Esplanade | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $158 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Palms Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Palms has been providing quality Magnetic Island accommodation for almost 30 years. Our large 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, air-conditioned, fully self-contained apartments provide very comfortable accommodation for up to 6 occupants. Enjoy our very attractive outdoor swimming pool (heated in the winter months for your comfort), play half-court tennis or table tennis, stroll along Nelly Bay beach which is only 150m from the apartments. If you are after a fun filled family holiday or a peaceful couples getaway, Island Palms is the perfect Magnetic Island Accommodation for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Island Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing