We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There will be nothing like it anywhere in the world.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There will be nothing like it anywhere in the world.”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Hard to belive in the modern day world there are people like Phil and Robyn who will take you to see wild Koala , butterflies and the beuatiful birds many flowers in the island including the wonderful Eagles and the Brahminy kites on the beaches - with the zeal and spirit of really true naturalists - which will take you back in time and make you think of the good things in the world you shared when you were a kid.
I captured many excellent photos of so much wiild life during my vist to the island.

The island itself is a piece of paradise - hope that we will be able to go there again and be with them.
Excellent room , huge beds, absloutely spotless Bath and toilet , magnificient garden , a wonderful dog and fabulous birds around and not to forget the delightfully tasty breakfast with great brown toast and home made delicious lemon butter, great tropical fruits ( we were given atleast 8 x varieties) fresh eggs from the poultry , bakon, tomatoes, juice, coffee, tea and what not.

I doubt whether in my life I will stay in a more plesant place ( I am lucky that I have travelled to a lot many countries in the world). Also I doubt if I will get a host who will show us the beautiful butterflies with so much spontaneous vigour and warmth - you can feel it was straight from their heart.
They are great people and I would strongly recommend a stay with them when in the island for an experience of a life time. Pity that we were there just for 1 x night and half a day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ujjal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
87
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Well what can we say!!...first class!!...everywhere we stay has to try and match up to the high standards that Robyn and Phil have set!
From the moment we were picked up from the ferry terminal we were not only taken to our accommodation we were given a great tour of everything and everywhere we should try to visit enroute to their beautiful home! Robyns fantastic breakfasts, cakes and especially her cookies were more than a treat!...resulting in us requesting the cookie recipe! Both Robyn and Phil were two of the nicest Aussies we met on our travels!...they are so friendly, knowledgeable and caring that we would have loved to have stayed longer!
It was our first proper chance to et up close and personal with the wildlife and we were not disappointed!..seeing kangaroos, rock wallabies, koalas, tree frogs and parakeets...and of course not forgetting kitty!!...all in their natural habitat!
Robyn and Phil definitely deserve the number one spot on tripadvisor for B&B's on Magnetic as they always go out of their way to make you feel at home and enjoy stay to the fullest!
Thank you!
From Hayley & Suze
P.S. The mountain bikes are unforgettable!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyandSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in early July 2011. Having experienced many B & Bs in the UK, we have to say that this is probably our number 1. Here are just a few of the reasons:
-Magnetic Island is a beautiful place and this B & B is in a quiet location almost with a 'country' feel.
- Robyn and Phil's hospitality cannot be beaten
- Decor is lovely and the rooms are spotlessly clean
- Breakfasts are magnificent and set you up for the day
- The ambience is relaxed and friendly - you can linger outside over breakfast for as long as you want
- Loved Kitty the Border Collie and the chooks - you can take Kitty for a walk if you wish
-Lorikeets to hand feed before breakfast
- a lovely flat 20 min walk to the beach and a 7 min walk to the bus service that is cheap to use
- Back to Robyn and Phil! - they will do anything to make your stay enjoyable - including driving you around the island if you so wish. They would have to be the best hosts we have ever encountered

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had a 3-days staying in Robyn and Phil B&B.

Room, bathroom and common rooms are absolutely clean and very spacious. Robyn is cooking every morning gorgeous breakfasts. If you are in the mood you can even share the cost of buying food with the landlords and have dinner together at night, they are people very nice and interesting to have dinner with. Not far away there is a fisherman shop who sell delicious barramundi, prawns and all sort of seafood at a very attractive price ... by Australian standards

The B&B is located in the northern part of Magnetic Island in the Horseshoe bay area a bit far from the beach (20 mn walk).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

First of all, thanks to Phil & Robyn for looking after us during ou stay. The wonderful wildlife in their garden, the morning bird feed was a wonder of colour. The breakfasts were typically Australian, BIG and good. From the B&B it's only a short walk to the beach and shopping centre. A 20 minute trip with the bus takes you to the other side of the island with shops, restaurants, etc. Once again thanks to Phil & Robyn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceHerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My daughter and I had only one night to spend on Magnetic Island so we had a list of things to accomplish and such a short time to do it in. We were met by Robyn at the ferry with her wonderful pink sign and she whisked us off to a supply store so that I could pick up a stinger suit. Then onto the accommodations, which are beautiful and peaceful. Robyn and Phil made us feel as though we were extended family. Very warm and very comfortable. They were truly accommodating to all our wants and needs. Magnetic Island has so many things to do...just wish we had more time to sit and relax in their beautiful gardens. Seeing the lorikeets first thing in the morning was absolutely amazing. Breakfast was delicious! Helpful suggestions on how to navigate the island was wonderful! Thank you, thank you Robyn and Phil! Hope our paths cross again some time!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy6013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed there 3 nights in April 2011 and had such a relaxing time. The owners Robyn and Phil were great, their tips and recommendations have been very helpful, the breakfast tasty, not to forget the carrot cake. Would recommend any time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lofts3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
112 reviews
2.0 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
190 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast

Property: Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11 Dolphin Court, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phil & Robyn welcome guests to their home for a Traditional Bed & Breakfast stay. You can feed the lorikeets and admire the kookaburras, Koalas, wallabies and birds while you dine outside. We are set on 1 acre of gardens and the property is surrounded by National Park. Relax by the pool. We also have a family suite comprising separate queen bedroom and lounging areas inside and out, separate bathroom, and sleeping for up to four children. Tea and coffee making in room. Contact us for details ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing