We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Setting”
Review of Canopy Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canopy Chalets
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Setting”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Everything about Canopy Chalets is first class. Beautiful, clean accommodation. Lovely garden with clean, relaxing pool. Great BBQ area. Walk to supermarket. Owner, Alan is friendly and happy to give you any island tips you need. 10 out of 10 Canopy Chalets. Well done.

Room Tip: All the rooms here have a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Luxurious and confy chalets, beautifully equipped with all you need for a short or even a longer stay . Unfortunately we´ve planned only three nights . We would ´ve loved to stay longer in this fantastic, peaceful oasis. We simply loved it !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Chalets are very well appointed, and in peaceful location.
Centrally located and very well maintained swimming pool.
Nice homely atmosphere at the BBQ’s.
Walking distance to the shops and close to the ferry.
Could not think about a better place to stay.
The owner is very helpful.
Andrew and Urszula.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Canopy chalets was brilliantly conceived and brillianty executed. Just lovely, quiet and relaxing with all mod cons for comfort. Close to beach, shops and restautrant and a bus stop out front to make the whole of Magnetic island available.
Service and asistance from Alan and Angie was great. We were not concious of other visitors unlesswe saw them coming or going.
4 days wasn't long enough.

Room Tip: all chalets are similar, front chalets are close to BBQ area. Pool fronts all chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl and Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

clean, large chalet, well appointed. good location and pretty garden/pool. great for couples. would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank affie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a relaxing post-easter holiday at this lovely spot for two days at a reduced price during the low season. We loved our chalet. The place is centrally located, close to the ferry, the grocery store, and a couple of restaurants. If you are on a budget there is also a takeaway cafe nearby where you can get a burger, chips, and a drink for $12. These self-contained units are very spacious, clean, and inviting. There are plenty of windows to let the cool air flow through and everything is there for a comfortable stay. The beds are very comfortable. We were able to unwind and cook for ourselves to save money on going out every night. They even gave us four eggs from their free roaming chickens.There are a lot of lovely birds including the curlews to be heard throughout the property. The pool is refreshing and very large. I did not have any mobile phone service at the chalets, but my boyfriend, who also has Optus was able to call out on his iPhone. We couldn't access the internet from our bungalow, only from the BBQ area, but the owner is working to rectify this soon, so hopefully all the bungalows will have internet access. Our host was friendly and helpful, picking us up at the ferry. The place was pretty quiet at this time of year and we requested and were granted an extended check-out time which was great. It rained on Friday but we had beautiful weather on Saturday and we went down to a secluded beach at Arthur Bay to snorkel which we highly recommend. I enjoyed an incredible sugar glow massage at Massage on Magnetic which is only a 3 minute walk from the chalets. Be sure to get a massage while you are there. The beach is also within walking distance. For a quiet, secluded romantic holiday spot close to Townsville you cannot do better than Canopy Chalets. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in the back, chalet #6 and it was quiet and we got a lot of sun. Any chalet would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spygurl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witta
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Angela is a wonderful woman and we had a completely relaxing stay. We initially booked as part of a party who booked all 12 chalets. We had a great night around the BBQ and were able to have music and dancing without disturbing other guests or residential neighbours. An awesome venue for a group. We also stayed on after the function and even though there were other guests the privacy and tranqulity of the chalets was unique. The chalets themselves are extremely well appointed and comfortable with self catering facilities and even a washing machine a dryer. The gardens are a credit to Angela's hard work. We would highly recommend this venue and really loved the fact there were no kids the peace was amazing. We also thought it would be really hot and raining at this time of year but there was no rain at all and a good mix of sun and cloud during the day so you could get around in comfort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChampagneSuzyWitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
249 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canopy Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canopy Chalets

Property: Canopy Chalets
Address: 42 Yates St | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautifully landscaped site, is a huddle of just 13 A-framed chalets. Holding centre stage is the stunning lagoon pool. The rest of Canopy is devoted to a large grass barbecue area and native trees and shrubs – just the way nature intended.Reflecting the best in relaxed contemporary tropical design, each of the chalets consist of a living/dining area, designer kitchen, bathroom with separate toilet, separate laundry and a loft-style bedroom upstairs. High ceilings add to the wonderful feeling of space and freedom. Ideally suited to two guests, additional guests can be accommodated with the sofa bed. The front veranda enjoys views of the lagoon pool and large landscaped area, while also being screened by native plants for more privacy. Different external colour schemes, that take their inspiration from the National Park backdrop, add an extra flourish of individuality. A green enclave off Yates Street, at the popular Nelly Bay, Canopy offers complete privacy close to everything. Magnetic Harbour, Marina village and the ferry terminal are all less than a kilometre away. The allure of the palm-fringed beach is just a 400 metre stroll down the road. Shops, restaurant, cafes and supermarkets are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing