We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I stayed in a 4 share dormitory, I think the only one. It was very spacious, nice floorboards, aircon and very clean. the 2 bathrooms are at the end of the corridor, one bath and the other shower. I paid 30dollars/night, great value if you compare to the backpacker/hostel on the island! there were also 2 living rooms and a barbecue area facing the beach. you can use the kayak and the bikes for free. they also have double rooms and tents.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    38
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
75
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I have been travelling for years and have never met a woman with such a snobby attitude towards people. I felt so uncomfortable and unwelcome. No one goes the extra mile and makes you feel welcome here. I felt like I was greeted by the old witch headmistress at pickup and check in.. very unpleasant.. not a good vibe to be had. I wonder how this person got into this industry.. sacked from the school system lol

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie270271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABGH, Manager at Arcadia Beach Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding the unfriendly host. I am writing to let you know that the managers here at the guesthouse have changed.

We the new managers strive to make every guest have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We always go the extra mile and aim for guests to relax and enjoy themselves from pick-up to drop-off :)

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Arcadia Beach Guest House again soon.

Kind regards,

Louise
Manager
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

The location is perfect. What we didn't like was having NO door between the toilet/bathroom and tea making area and bedroom. The room we had was basically one big room that had been partioned off. A sliding door would have offered privacy when using the toilet area. This needs to be addressed. Also the walls were so thin that we could hear clearly the folk in the room next door talking .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We got picked up from the ferry terminal in a Rolls Royce and taken the short distance to the guest house. The guest house is situation on a quiet road opposite a beautiful beach. Make sure you walk to the end of the prominade to see the Rock Wallabies at sunset. This was recommended to us by the owner and is unmissable.

The room was really comfortable and when we stayed it was just before Easter and was quiet with few rooms occupied at the time. The owners invited us to a pizza night the first evening with their family and they have a woodburning stove in the garden for cooking the pizza's. It was nice to be invited and felt so welcome.

There's a kitchen out the front of the guest house with a bbq grill which is for guests to use. This was a nice touch grilling food overlooking the beach.

In the mornings, the breakfast was on a tray in the fridge so you can eat at whatever time you want and its very flexible.

Would definately recommend staying here and would go back again. The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to be hospitable. The only negative thing is we didn't stay long enough.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Really love place to stay on Magnetic Island. The Arcadia Beach Guest House is 5 minutes from Horseshoe Bay or 5 minutes from Nelly so the location is perfect. There is a beach right across the road. It was a really big place with many common areas. There was an outdoor deck at the front that had a nice BBQ area, an outdoor pool, two separate TV areas (one that was ultra modern and very nice) and two kitchen areas. There was also an internet cafe right out the back door. There were hardwood floors throughout that were beautifully maintained. Each room has a shelf assigned in a fridge and things were very organized making cooking a breeze. There are many different types of room/bedding choices available. We stayed in a twin share room with shared bathroom. I normally avoid shared bathrooms cause they make me feel dirty but this one was very clean and well maintained. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean this accommodation was! It was also fairly quiet and very comfortable. My only regret was only being able to stay for one night because this accommodation was the best of our trip! A really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcbbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
250 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
190 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#3 of 18 in Magnetic Island
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Beach Guest House

Property: Arcadia Beach Guest House
Address: 27 Marine Pde, Magnetic Island, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Beach Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Beach Front Quality Accommodation for all types of travellers. Stay in our 4-bed Dorm rooms, Deluxe Safari Tents, Ensuite rooms, a two-bedroomed Beach House sleeps six, and we even have the Fisherman's Hut, the choice is yours. Facilities include two communal kitchens, two lounge areas with flat screen TVs, pool table, swimming pool, BBQs and two pizza ovens. Pick up to and from the ferry in a 1970 Rolls Royce Silvershadow! Cars and Snorkle gear for hire. So..... what are you waiting for? You stay with us and the memories stay with you. See you soon in paradise on Lovely Magnetic Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Arcadia Beach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing