We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked the dorm room, ended up having it all by myself. But service is good and the staff is very friendly. Good beds and beutiful location. Very cheap compared to what you get. Would gladly recommend it to others !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    38
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
74
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at the Acadia Beach Guest House. It took us a while to get into the vibe of this unique place, but we really enjoyed it. Initially we thought our room was rather strange, a queen sized bed raised up off the floor and nothing else in the room. Not one chair or table. The bathroom does not have a door. I left a box of cookies out on the shelf next to the kitchenette...... big mistake, the cookies were overrun by teeny little ants. But look, it's the tropics, there will be bugs.

Our continental breakfast was left for us in the refrigerator in the common area, and that's when we began to appreciate the Acadia Guest House. There is a wonderful huge common area. It has a big TV, a pool table, toys and games and ride-on vehicles for kids. Couches and chairs and a big, fully equipped kitchen. You are obviously not intended to spend all your time in your room, but to get out and use the facilities.

The Guest House is in a great location, lots of nice beaches nearby. I did notice that some of the pricey hotels on Magnetic Island have rooms overlooking parking lots and ferry landings, so be careful about that.

The management was very friendly and helpful. I had to re-schedule my ferry reservation and they took care of that for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CenterMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My elderly Mother and I stayed in the fisherman's cottage over the Christmas period. The decor is well done with fishing net suspended from the ceiling, drift wood for curtain rods and towel racks but unfortunately we were really turned off when we went to get cutlery from the drawer and found the drawer riddled in cockroach poo and the odd cockroach leg. Further to our dismay was the shower recess as mould had been allowed to grow in the grouting. The beds were clean and comfortable but during the 1st night we had an unwelcome visitor which we assumed was a possum. The windows have fly screens with little doors which allow the opening and closing of windows. These windows in keeping with the rustic look are wooden flaps but unfortunately again these could not be locked and one window in particular had the bottom corner missing and this is where the possum came through. We avoided the situation the next night by taking the screen off and turning it up the other way with the little doors to the top. I informed the Manager the next day and he was very pleasant and thanked me for my feedback. We won't be staying here again unless we hear that the cleaning and security have improved. Julie A.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have just returned from a marvellous trip on the Magnetic Island (8-9.12.12). Guys, if you're looking for a quiet escape with beautiful landscapes (to say beautiful is to say nothing - breathtaking!!), I would recommend to stay at Arcadia Beach Guest house. I stayed with them 2 days. I literally slept in the tent in the garden. Even though I must admit that the fan was providing me with a quite good source of freshness, but I could still feel a bit of stuffy air inside of the tent during the night. That's together with some moments of loudly screaming birds during night were the only disadvantages of sleeping in the tent outside. BUT the rest: sanitary equipment, cleanliness, friendliness, accessibility - all was marvellous. The two lovely managers of the guesthouse (I am so thankful to them) helped me to resolve all my questions and were extremly welcoming and ready to help every minute. A BIG THANK to Tony and her husband for that!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A great place to enjoy the island. The couple managing the property are lovely and very helpful and knowledgeable about what is available on the island. I stayed in a queen size safari tent which had plenty of room for one-two persons. The only issue was not being able to lock the tent but I was able to put valuables in the safe at the office. It is walking distance to a deli, the ferry, and a hotel which has cheap meals to eat there or take away, also a bottle shop. It has a pool and a deck which looks out to the ocean, bbq facilities, laundry, big kitchen and multiple fridges. I was very satisfied with it and they have rooms and a unit if you would like more upmarket accommodation. The tents may be too hot in summer but they have fans.

Room Tip: a liked the tent but if you want comfort ask for a room in the main building. there is also a self c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked two nights in the Jungle Safari Tent accomodation. To get to it, I had to get a bus after the ferry, and the bus sailed right passed where I was staying, meaning I had to haul my luggage for fifteen minutes back down the road. I arrived and they told me that wotif has overbooked (not the first time, I always book last minute), and so I would be in a jungle safari accomodation but its off the side, down the back and doesnt have a corrugated roof over it like the rest do. She said as I'd already paid, I could have a free breaky or something (though I never did). So my tent was all the way down the back, away from the rest, and backing onto a nature reserve. They had no padlocks for the tent, and travelling alone with items like a laptop, left me feeling a little unsafe.
Part of the lame experience was not so much to do with the accomodation, but maggie island as a whole was just so boring! I was expecting a little nightlife as I heard it was frequented by backpackers...i went to horseshoe bay in the day for a swim, which was nothing spectacular, and the beaches at arcadia weren't really that appealing either.
Each to their own, but if I could choose my time over there again, I'd just do a day trip, or only one night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Compared to some of the accommodation on Magnetic Island, this place is excellent. Set beachfront at Geoffrey bay, it offers unspoilt ocean views. Overall the rooms were very tidy and clean. Kayaks and snorkelling gear can be hired out at an affordable price and are well worth it. The pickup from the ferry terminal was also very convenient and allows you to arrive in style. Overall a great accommodation choice when visiting beautiful North Queensland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perculaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#3 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Beach Guest House

Property: Arcadia Beach Guest House
Address: 27 Marine Pde, Magnetic Island, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Beach Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Beach Front Quality Accommodation for all types of travellers. Stay in our 4-bed Dorm rooms, Deluxe Safari Tents, Ensuite rooms, a two-bedroomed Beach House sleeps six, and we even have the Fisherman's Hut, the choice is yours. Facilities include two communal kitchens, two lounge areas with flat screen TVs, pool table, swimming pool, BBQs and two pizza ovens. Pick up to and from the ferry in a 1970 Rolls Royce Silvershadow! Cars and Snorkle gear for hire. So..... what are you waiting for? You stay with us and the memories stay with you. See you soon in paradise on Lovely Magnetic Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Arcadia Beach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing