We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Magnetic - pure magic!”
Review of Pure Magnetic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pure Magnetic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We recently returned from a three-night stay at Pure Magnetic Villas on Magnetic Island. The villas are absolutely fantastic, set in beautiful tropical gardens with a great pool to cool off in! We loved sitting outside each evening, sipping on some wine, watching and listening to the multitude of tropical birds feeding in the trees. We also found the antics of the resident curlew quite amusing.

Pure Magnetic is very conveniently located at Nelly Bay, about 1km from where the ferry stops. They are directly across the road from a park on the beachfront. What's nice about this location, rather than nearer to the ferry terminal, is that you can look out over the bay to the mountains on the mainland, uninterrupted by the marina infrastructure. The esplanade is also very quiet with hardly any traffic at all.

There are shops and restaurants located at the marina (about a 15-minute walk) or two blocks back from the beach (two-minute walk).

The villas themselves are well appointed, each with two bedrooms (including TVs in each) - one queen, the other two king singles or zipped king - and two bathrooms, perfect for two couples sharing or a small family.

They have a full kitchen (oven, cooktop, microwave, full-sized fridge, dishwasher) and laundry, making them ideal for a longer self-contained stay. The open planned living area has a stereo, large flat-screen TV and DVD player, comfortable couches for lazing on and a dining setting off to the side. Outside there are also two cushioned loungers, an outdoor setting and a BBQ located outside each villa.

The bedrooms and living area are air-conditioned for those warm summer days and nights but equally the design of the villas with insect screens, louvres and ceiling fans let the breeze through to keep you cool.

We had a wonderful stay and loved everything about Pure Magnetic Villas. The surroundings are lovely and the island vibe so relaxed we really didn't want to leave. Next time we'll definitely go for longer!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank templc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

My 3 children and husband really enjoyed our stay at Pure Magnetic. We had a beach front unit( there are 2 beach front ones and 8 others). The location is completely perfect, just across a small road to beautiful golden sand Nelly Bay. Our unit was beautiful, clean and near new. It was equiped with everything we needed. The grounds are well kept and the pool is lovely (although it is much smaller than the pictures suggest). It is only a 2 minute walk to a good little supermarket, and a 10 minute walk from a fantastic IGA at the ferry terminal. The regular buses that run up and down the inhabited side of the island stop right outside and are very cheap and easy.
It was a nice walk to Picnic Bay or Arcadia. Magnetic Island is spectacular with far better beaches than Cairns or Port Douglas. The sea is crystal clear and was warm enough to swim in in June. One of the big pluses is that it is so quiet and there are few people about. As a consequence the cafes, shops and restaurants are limited - but that was not a problem for us. We recomend the Butler's Pantry at Arcadia.
There was no point in hiring a car as you couldn't go much furthur than you could on a bus. We loved hiring a boat to get to the more remote beaches.
Pure Magnetic has no reception and so often there are no staff on site. We were lucky as the place was quite empty during our stay. However on our last night some of a big wedding party arrived. They partied between units and the noise was excessive ( the units have glassless windows - just shutters and have no soundproofing). We had adapted to sleeping through the loud bird noise at night, and enjoyed hearing the surf, but it would be frustrating if you were there at the same time as a noisy crowd. Dont book if they have a wedding on.
It is much nicer than 1 Bright Point which looked to me like a sterile urban block - as opposed to the tropical paradise that is Pure Magnetic. The rest of the accomodation on the island was of a much lesser quality.
We enjoyed feeding the parakeets, kookaboras and cockatoos infront of our unit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aucklander68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

I'd hear about Pure Magnetic from friends and colleagues so decided to give it a try on a 3 day business trip to the Island.

WOW - how classy is this place!

Pure Magnetic consists of a number of Balinese style villas built amid a stunningly beautfil garden which incorporates the best resort pool I've ever plunged in to.

Each villa is two bedroom, two bathroom and includes a fully functional kitchen.

The decor is extremely tastefull and Balinese in style.

The villas are fully self contained and there's a large flat screen TV (and cable) in the main lounge and each of the two berooms.

We made our stay arrangements through Pam Young of a company called Best of Magnetic.

Her courtesy, professionalism and attention to detail was remarkable.

I take it the whole resort is often fully booked out for wedding parties (which is Pam Young's main business). What a great place to come for something as romantic as a wedding - it would be totally unforgettable!

Pure Magnetic is situated on the beach at Nelly Bay. A shopping centre (including a bottle shop) and a number of restaurants are within walking distance.

The eateries are generally fairly good, although one place, Man Fridays, could do with a bit of a shake up. I waited for more than an hour to be served and the food, when it did come, was nothing to write home about.

But that small critism aside, Magnetic Island has a host of excellent dinning venues and is a place of great scenic beauty.

On a recent previous trip to "Maggie" I stayed at One Bright Point.

It's hard to compare the two - both are fantastic - Bright Point for it's views and Pure Magnetic for it's stunningly beautiful garden setting and baech access.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tlb2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We recently took a winter escape to Queensland and after some searching on the internet discovered a new property known as Pure Magnetic on Magnetic Island.

Dealing directly with the property, we quickly arrange a 7 night booking for our family of 2 adults and 1 six year old.

Arriving at the property was a breeze. Easy flight to Townsville airport, quick tranfer to the Sun Ferries terminal for the fast 20 minute jetcat to Magnetic Island. We were met at the terminal by the staff and driven 5 minutes to the accommodations.

And what accommodation it is. Pure Magnetic is nestled on the beach and consists of 10 stunning 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom Balinese themed villa's tucked around beautiful gardens and a lovely pool. Each villa has all the modern conveniences from big plasma TV's and DVD players to ceiling fans and air-con, to a lovely outdoor deck and BBQ area.

It was peace on earth. Waking each morning to the sound of lorrikeets, cooking meals on the BBQ supplied to each unit and drifting off to sleep to the sound of the waves and sea breeze.

All amenities are at hand, especially a supermarket at Nelly Bay for those that like to cook in. Service from the staff was quiet but attentive with the apartments cleaned each day.

Magnetic Island is a quiet spot and we loved it. Whether beach combing to jet skiiing at Horseshoe Bay to taking the jeytcat out to the reef for some scuba diving, it was a fantastic stay.

We highly recommend Pure Magnetic to anyone looking for an elegant get away in a peaceful location.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ringsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 2 Villen haben direkten Blick zum Strand, allerdings liegt eine Strasse dazwischen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fernweh1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
262 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
0.7 mi away
Amaroo On Mandalay
Amaroo On Mandalay
#4 of 19 in Magnetic Island
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pure Magnetic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Magnetic

Address: The Esplanade | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range: $174 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in your own two-bedroom, two-bathroom luxury villa, with private courtyard and bbq area, just metres from the beach. Enjoy the rich island architecture, beautiful decor, temperature controlled swimming pool, walk to local restaurants and cafes, or enjoy quiet evenings on your own private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pure Magnetic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing