We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Route 66 Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Route 66 Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Emerald
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were very impressed with everything about Route 66, the layout of the room was superb, the rooms were very clean, everything needed for a comfortable, pleasant stay was in the room. We think it is excellent value for money. We can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: I can't say a bad thing about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
18
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I typically stay in 5 star places so was a bit worried before checking in. Was hopeful though about the name :) It was great though. I'm always scared about motel pillows. Have bad dreams thinking about all the scanky action that take place in beds in non-descript motels in remote areas such as this! No 5 star accreditation to step up to and dark blankets will hide a multitude of sins...

The bed was great and the room quite dark - not the typical hundred lights from various electrical equipment to keep your brain awake. The bathroom well lit, very clean with big working space and mirror.

Dinner was lovely. Simple food with fresh veges that were steamed al dente. Desert was OK nothing to write home about. Brekky basic and 3 star.

Overall good value for money for this town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katelouisemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Whilst travelling on business I stayed at this place, the staff are amazing, rooms are fantastic, food is great, even the buffet breakfast was fantastic. I would recommend this place to everyone, and will b my hotel of choice when I return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Staying at Route 66 is definitely a home away from home feeling. This place has it all, has gracious staff, generous hospitality and fantastic food served in the restaurant and not to mention a nice modern room with an excellent bed. Gym junkie and also on my stay have access to gym free of charge. Was surprised how close it was within walking distance to the shopping centre and the CBD definitely this place is not to be missed when staying in Emerald.... Will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for your own private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed two nights in room 127 which fronted the highway and while there was no view, I was working during the day so I didn't care about that. The hotel room was very clean and modern and the bed was comfy, the bathroom was tidy and clean and the microwave and big fridge most welcomed. They didn't do restaurant breakfast on the weekends so I had to have continental breakfast delivered the night before (2 slices of bread on a plate) which I toasted myself the next morning plus a great fresh fruit salad and juice. The one night I did eat in the restaurant they had top notch food, and even a dedicated vegetarian dish which suited me. My companions had lamb and steaks and salmon and were all complimentary. The star of the night was the sticky date pudding that had a special custard on the side which was like a cross between custard and creme brulee. Delicious!

Overall I was very happy with this motel which is within walking distance to town. The only downside (and it's a little one) was the freight train which came past at 3am and woke me up both nights. It ran right near the motel, but it runs through the centre of town so I doubt any motel is going to be away from it.

Thoroughly recommend this motel for an Emerald stay. I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLou5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I arrived at night, left at dawn. The property had made provision for me, and arriving and leaving at odd hours was no problem. The room was lovely – wish I could have spent more time there. May not be the cheapest, but you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at the Route 66 whilst travelling through Emerald for work. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the rooms were well maintained. The hotel is located on the outskirts of town with a shopping centre within walking distance, but you do feel a little isolated. Notwithstanding, if you are in need of a comfortable nights sleep and you are not in need of going out, I would highly recommend this as a destination. The room price is a bit on the expensive side, but then so is all accommodation in Emerald due to the mining in the area.

I wouldn't stay here for longer than one night at a time due to the location but will definitely come back when passing through town.

Room Tip: All rooms are located far enough from the highway as to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Emerald hotels
0.6 mi away
Emerald Park Motel
Emerald Park Motel
#7 of 11 in Emerald
29 reviews
10.0 mi away
Emerald Explorers Inn
Emerald Explorers Inn
#5 of 11 in Emerald
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Western Gateway Motel
Western Gateway Motel
#11 of 11 in Emerald
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Midlander Emerald
0.4 mi away
Abode37 Motel
Abode37 Motel
#4 of 11 in Emerald
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emerald Maraboon Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 66 Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Motor Inn

Property: Route 66 Motor Inn
Address: 2 Opal Lane, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Emerald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Emerald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Route 66 Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Route 66 Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing