We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average motel....but no way $180 a night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalby Homestead Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dalby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Rooms are clean and adequate - nothing special and a little dated. For some reason the advertised restaurant is not open Fridays, Saturdays or Sundays ! Don't know why - but hey....why worry about customer needs?

In-room booklet contains only the Foxtel TV guide - just a minor problem - there's apparently no cable at the motel and therefore no Foxtel. No other TV guide was available.

Overall, your average country town motel - but $180 per night? No way. (can get a room at Brisbane's upmarket Stamford Plaza for not much more).

Not 4 star and not worth the money.

Small tip for the reception guy.....calling customers 'mate' about 10 times during check-in-out might be OK with some - but sometimes it can grate (particularly when the client's name is clearly available). It doesn't add to the overall first impression of quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham M, Manager at Dalby Homestead Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2015

Please note that the Dalby Homestead Motel has been under new ownership / management since early 2014. Yes - During the peak of the resources boom - the law of supply and demand meant that rooms were scarce and prices went up. But hey - we have new motels in town now and the resources boom is well and over - so rooms are plentiful and prices are much lower. YES we have Foxtel. If you were to return - please ask reception for assistance in switching to the Foxtel / Cable channels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Dalby Homestead Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Big comfortable bed, fluffy thick towels, plenty of room to accommodate bags, only downer was the TV reception, couldn't lighten the picture. Very friendly managers, breakfast was delivered on time. The decor was exceptional. No highway noise. Will certainly return to this motel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Manager at Dalby Homestead Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

That's what we like to hear - People who absolutely love staying at the Dalby Homestead Motel. We look forward to accommodating you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This motel has it all - country decor, excellent air-con, thick fluffy towels, parking, great shower, absolute cleanliness, and ideal location. Everything about this motel is quality. Why it even has access to refreshing tank water in the room.

It actually feels like 'home away from home'. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suratkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Manager at Dalby Homestead Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Today to be told via an email that they had double booked and my 10 Corporate guests would have to find alternate accomodation. To my frustration they could not explain how my phone call, followed by my email with a list of names and then a subsequent email confirming my booking from the Motel owner all some 2 weeks earlier had created confusion. Other than to say it is standard for double bookings to occur and quiet common in Melbourne. Just another case of "Dont make your problem my problem". Not happy.......

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham M, Manager at Dalby Homestead Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2015

It should be noted the The Dalby Homestead Motel has been under new ownership & management since early 2014. We have implemented new quality assurance systems to ensure all bookings are managed and that there is no risk of overbooking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Dalby Homestead is a clean and tidy motel. Staff are friendly and efficient. Room was clean and tidy. Dinner you can choose room service or the dining room and was tasty. Breakfast is only in room. Pity kitchen is not open Friday to Sunday nights means after a long day of travel you have to go find something in town.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Manager at Dalby Homestead Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Thanks for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Friendly, welcoming hosts made my stay a pleasure, accommodating every request. Delicious room service breakfasts delivered with a smile, and right on time. Attractively decorated room with a large, comfortable bed and quality linen. I appreciated the overhead heating in the bathroom, as well as the variety of traveller accessories. Well-stocked mini bar. However, on weekdays, a considerable amount of early morning noise is generated by guests who work in the mining and construction industry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Manager at Dalby Homestead Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Dalby Homestead Motel. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Motel does not shine in any way neither does it dissapoint, it is your typical country town motel ideal for an overnight stop or business trip. the room was clean with a well stacked mini bar which was reasonably priced. unfortunatly the restaurant was closed due to most of the motel staff being off with the flu, however the manager did offer to provide room service which he would prepare himself. I opted to walk into the town centre and had a meal at one of the local taverns. again the restaurant was not open for breakfast but they were happy to make what you wanted and deliver to your room at a pre determined time. I would have no issue staying there again but I will probably try another place next time.

Room Tip: Further away from the main road as there are alot of truck moving through during the night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Manager at Dalby Homestead Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalby hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Pathfinder Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Dalby Manor Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Kobbers Motor Inn
Kobbers Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Dalby
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalby Mid Town Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Dalby Fairway Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Motel Myall
Motel Myall
#7 of 8 in Dalby
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalby Homestead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalby Homestead Motel

Address: 27 Drayton St, Dalby, Queensland 4405, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Dalby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dalby
Price Range: $114 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalby Homestead Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are stopping overnight on business, or longer to visit the area's many attractions, the Dalby Homestead Motel is the perfect place to stay. Located right accross the road from beautifull Thomas Jack Park and only 2 minutes walk to Dalby's central shopping district, the Dalby Homestead is the ideal place to base for you to visit the Bunya Mountains, historic Jimbour House, Lake Broadwater or local wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Dalby Homestead Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing