We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but make sure you check your reservation!”
Review of Drovers Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drovers Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Dalby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great, but make sure you check your reservation!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This place is really nice. New, clean, large rooms, well appointed. We were very pleased with the room and the reception staff member on checkin was friendly.

It really meets everything you could want from a motel. Location on the main drag is great too!

Only thing I would say is that it wasnt the cheapest place ($145/nt), but I dont know what else around in Dalby there would be. Still, Id pay that to have such a good room.

The one thing that they really need to fix though (and why I dropped this a star), is their reservation system. They seemed like they had no clue!

We booked well ahead of our stay (was a wedding). However, we didnt get any confirmation in writing or email. No problems we thought, thats just the way it rolls in the country. Anyway, I got worried on the way to Dalby and called ahead to check.

We were told they had no reservation for us!!! Needless to say we were very disappointed, but luckily they said they had a room available and that we were very lucky.

That alone is pretty bad for a motel/hotel. But the icing on the cake was on our way home after checking out, we got a call from them asking why we didnt arrive for our reservation!!!

At least we had a room and were on our way home, so we laughed it off. But really, this is pretty unacceptable. If we had been on our way and didnt have a room to stay at, this would have been a much, much worse review.

My advice is definitely stay here. But make sure you get something in writing from them whenever you book!

Room Tip: There are some rooms upstairs, which will have less foot traffic coming past, at the disadvantage of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
12
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and is relatively new. The room was spotless and in great condition. The staff at reception was efficient and professional.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nicely appointed and equipped with dispensers containing bath gel, shampoo and conditioner.
The room also included a small refrigerator and microwave.
WIFI service was just OK, I had difficulty connecting, due to a weak signal.
Lastly, the hotel does not include a restaurant, but takes orders for in-room breakfasts, orders must be turned in by 7:30pm the night before...

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable for a one night stay on our way up the QLD Coast. Rooms were very large and spacious, bedding very comfortable- including the pillows. Only downside was the mini bar wasn't stocked and I needed water in the middle of the night after a coughing fit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mauricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed a week at the Drover's in a room that had a kitchenette. The decor was nice, the rooms were clean and the bathroom was spacious. I didn't have problems with noise from the Warrego highway, but my room was located in quite a sheltered position on the back corner.

Everything worked as expected, but I was disappointed that despite being the size of a full kitchen, the kitchenette only had a microwave for cooking facilities. A stovetop or oven would have made things much more palatable.

Drover's do offer room-chargebacks from a number of places to eat in Dalby, probably most noticeably the Criterion.

The corded internet was fast and consistent, but I found the wireless to be slow and very inconsistent. I would not rely on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Drovers is on the main drag, so noise from the 5000 (per day) passing trucks are heard. The rooms are great, new, clean, quality bed, and just what was required. Room service breakfast was almost served in bed !? Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room at the rear - if you can get in as accom is scarce in Dalby at present
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucketlist_Travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely experience after the debacle with the Homestead Motel in Dalby. This motel is clean and fresh and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was on time, and was huge, as you would expect of a country motel. Free wifi, what else do you need. Very friendly staff only too eager to help. Huge disabled room, very comfortable and well set out. Will stay here again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roryhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Very large rooms well equipped with mini bar, toaster and microwave.

No issues with road noise considering located on main road.

Everything about room was very very clean.

Only 'issues' were no shower gel in the dispenser, cracked soap dish in shower and wasn't offered access details to wifi and didn't realize until after reception had closed. All issues were minor and didn't ruin my stay.

Will definitely be booking in here again when in Dalby for business and pleasure!

Lady on reception very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalby hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Pathfinder Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Dalby Manor Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Kobbers Motor Inn
Kobbers Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Dalby
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dalby Homestead Motel
0.5 mi away
Dalby Mid Town Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Motel Myall
Motel Myall
#7 of 8 in Dalby
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drovers Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drovers Motor Inn

Property: Drovers Motor Inn
Address: 87 Drayton St, Dalby, Queensland 4405, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Dalby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dalby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drovers Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drovers Motor Inn has been uniquely designed with quiet comfort in mind – offering superior Dalby accommodation, delicious seasonal dining, a stylish guest lounge bar and dedicated technology enriched meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Drovers Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing