We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Daintree Magic Hideaway & One of the best spots...”
other travelers have booked this property
Front side view of The Barn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front side view of The Barn.
Right side of the house. Left side view of The Barn.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Front side view of The Barn.
Right side of the house.
Left side view of The Barn.
Right side view of The Barn.
Front entrance of The Barn.
First floor view.
A monitor lizard trying to sneak a dip in the pool!
A monitor lizard trying to sneak a dip in the pool!
Pool.
'3 cassowaries crossing the front drive way!!' A photo taken by our guest!
Second floor indoor sitting area.
We can mail you free ferry tickets for entrance, along with a copy of the direction guide book!
Second floor.
Second floor indoor sitting area.
Pool.
First floor front veranda.
First floor front veranda.
First floor front veranda.
View.
Master bedroom on the third floor.
Master bedroom on the third floor.
Master bedroom private front veranda.
Master bedroom private front veranda.
Master bedroom private front veranda view.
Master bedroom bathroom.
Master bedroom bathtub.
Extra beds setup on the third floor for children/guest close to master bedroom.
These can be setup anywhere around the house.
Second floor area, pool table and a small game area for children and adults.
Second floor area.
Second floor, indoor dining area.
Second floor front veranda.
Second floor front veranda.
Second floor front veranda.
Second floor front veranda, BBQ.
Second floor front veranda and out door dining area.
Second floor front veranda view.
Some gears to take down the beach/out doors.
First floor left bedroom.
First floor left bedroom.
First floor left bedroom.
First floor left bedroom.
First floor right bedroom.
First floor right bedroom.
First floor right bedroom.
First floor bathroom for each room
First floor bathroom for each room
First floor front veranda/pool.
Second floor kitchen area.
Pool table.
Pool.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Daintree, Daintree Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter H
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Daintree Magic Hideaway & One of the best spots in the World”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed with friends and family at this magical Oasis very many times. The architecture of the building is absolutely dynamic, so spacious with massive high ceilings. There is an enormous amount of glass windows that let the natural light in with the beautiful rainforest and ocean views in the background. Margaret, Charlie, Frank and the entire family are generous, kind are the most welcoming people I have ever met in my life. This fantastic place is a must to see on your list. You will never forget the magical moments at this extremely rare property. A big thank you to the Barn Family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marg_from...
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magical Experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to be the first ever paying guests at ‘The Barn’, a house built some 25 years ago by the mother of the current owner, Frank. On arrival our breath was taken away by the house and its spectacular location.

The house is beautifully designed and built predominantly of timber. The living area is massive with soaring cathedral ceilings over two stories in height. The inclusion of extensive banks of windows and bifold doors creates a wonderful connection with the surrounding rainforest and views to Cow Bay.

The property has an exceptional feeling of exclusivity – we could have been the only two people in the entire world, with not a sign (or sound) of any other humans or human habitation to be seen. Just the ocean and the ancient rainforest, although the activities and attractions of Cape Tribulation are not far away and are easily accessible.

The master bedroom on the top level is also huge with even more spectacular views if that were possible, complete with two comfy chairs & a table on the deck the better to enjoy wine and cheese and relax in the ultimate getaway location. A king bed and bathroom with oversize bath complete the picture.

The house is on three levels with massive decks on the lower two. There is a large well-equipped kitchen and an abundance of space, with furniture which matches the stunning and beautiful architecture of the house.

Unusually in this non mains-powered area north of the Daintree River, the house has sufficient solar panels and storage batteries to power a dishwasher and washing machine, both of which we used. Everything is on a generous scale – couches, tables, living spaces, pool, even the number of pots and pans. Peace and quiet, luxury and nature, adventure and wonder, all these you will find in the Daintree and The Barn. Wholeheartedly recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2014
We remember it well! Our very first guests, it was certainly a bit nervous for us as it was our very first time doing this, and it was a great relief when we received a text message knowing you enjoyed your stay.

Certainly was a surprise for us to see that you have written up this great review! we really appreciate it, and hopefully we'll get to be your host again sometime in the future!

Thanks again.

Best wishes,
The Barn Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plodfish
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic view!”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

For us this was a truly unique property that my parents, my partner and I thought was terrific. It's a great place to unwind and relax out on the balcony with 'million dollar' views of the sea and surrounding forest.

The house really is something. You enter to the open-plan middle floor with high ceilings, a kitchen area, dinning area, sitting area, TV sitting area, full sized snooker table and a bathroom. 3 of the Barn's walls have floor to ceiling windows, which make you feel like you really are 'staying in the jungle'. One side can be completely opened up to the huge balcony that runs the length of the house and has a fantastic view of the sea. Just the perfect place to lounge around with a G&T reading a book, doing the crossword or having a BBQ!

Upstairs, the 'mezzanine', has a landing with space for 2 single beds (when we were there there was a large daybed). There is also a large master bedroom with huge ensuite and its own private balcony overlooking the sea. The bottom level has more outside decking, the pool and pool bar. On either side of the bar are 2 seperate bedrooms with their own bathrooms. There is also a laundry, garage and another bathroom. We went in August and the weather was perfect, so we didn't need to use the fans, plus the pool was great for a 'refreshing dip' after some 'jungle trekking.'

The grounds are fairly steep and heavily vegetated, but it's an easy walk out onto the road and it's only a 15min walk along the road to the unspoilt Cow bay. One morning we were fortunate enough to encounter 3 cassowaries crossing the front drive way!!

On arrival we were greeted by Frank the owner, who was very helpful and showed us around the property. It is important to note that the house is in the middle of forest and you do need to be conscious of electricity/water usage and any local visitors! There is also no WiFi, so you really can escape the outside world.

Just before the turn off from the main road to Cow Bay there is an Ice creamery and a pub/ bottle shop, which 'officially' stays open until 10pm, but closes earlier if there is no one there. If you are driving up from Cairns I do recommend you stop at the large Safeway in Mossman and stock up. (You can't miss it as it's on the main road). There are small grocery shops dotted around the Daintree, but most close early.

One thing to be made aware of is there are no curtains in the property. This means you'll wake up to a spectacular view of the sunrise, which for us was great. It also means that the place can get very dark during the night. This also applies to two of the downstairs bathrooms, which also have floor to ceiling windows on one wall.

Overall we found this place to be truly magic and a great place to escape and explore the Daintree.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views, Unusual property
Liked least: No curtains in bedrooms (it was a pro & con!)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
We are very happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay! And we can't thank you enough for this great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write this up and we're so glad to have all of you as our guests and hopefully we will again in the future!

Best wishes,
The Barn Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing