We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daintree Valley Haven
Ranked #4 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Secluded beautiful”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Spent 3 nights, wish it could have been longer. Comfortable and private cabins. Lovely hosts. Only comment would be that we were not aware it was a little out of the village - not really a negative as the location is worth the short drive .

Room Tip: All the cabins have their own charm and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We recently enjoyed 3 nights at the Daintree Valley Haven ( and haven it is). Daphne and Peter are wonderful hosts willingly to share their extensive knowledge of the area. it is secluded and private, just what we needed for a break away from the city. The breakfasts were delicious, lots of tropical fruit, cereal and toast and homemade preserves. So nice to come back to after a busy day out sightseeing. Loved the ulysses butterflies and the kookaburra. It is a great base while in the Daintree.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review - we love to hear guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Friendly hosts, clean and very comfy accom. breakfasts were enormous but we persevered! We stocked up with food (for other meals) in Mossman on our way to Daintree. Book exchange was a great touch. I, too, like to keep in touch with home via texts but a signal can be had down by the jetty in the village (had to time it right allowing for time differences). The wildlife didn't disappoint even if the weather did. However it was fascinating to see the bone dry "waterhole" become full after 48 hours of rain. 5 types of rain in QLD - spitting, showers, rain, torrential rain and OH MY GOD. We had the latter but it couldn't spoil the beatuty of this beautiful place. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a rainforest experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Thank you so much for such a lovely review - happy guests make us happy too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Lovely location and friendly hosts.

The absence of mobile reception and TV was a blow to me but my partner enjoyed our stay more for their lack.

Nathan, marrickville.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eepunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
We very much appreciate your review, thank you, and hope our lack of mobile reception and TV was not too inconvenient.

All our communications in the Valley are via satellite and our closest mobile reception is in nearby Daintree Village, however most guests seem happy to be 'out of touch' for a while!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights in one of the three lodges (Sunbird), and were delighted with our stay. The lodge was clean, comfortable, and peaceful. Peter clears out rubbish daily, delivers wondrous fresh breakfasts (those marmalades!!), and still manages to make you feel completely private. Sitting on the veranda at breakfast with the sounds of the rainforest was truly magical. All is provided, even an outdoor jacuzzi and barbecue. Peter and Daphne go those extra miles for their guests. I was unwell briefly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We felt we had made friends. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paracelsus515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We love to hear that guests have been happy staying with us! Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was the perfect B&B for two adventurers! Daphne and Peter were wonderful hosts who were very friendly and offered advice when asked, but gave you plenty of privacy also. The breakfast was really good and left you prepared for your day. The deck was perfect for reading and relaxing while watching the birds and butterflies. And the last morning we even saw a wild wallaby in the yard! Daintree was a cute little town also and everyone we met was extremely nice.

We will definitely return next time we are in Australia!

Room Tip: There are only three, and I don't think any of them are bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeka1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday here and thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed in the Sunbird cabin for two nights and it was just beautiful. Clean cabin with a great king size bed and good shower. The balcony was wonderful to sit out on and listen to the birds.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueleighC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you Sue - lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
3.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
546 reviews
4.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
9.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
938 reviews
8.6 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
4.1 mi away
Red Mill House in Daintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Valley Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Valley Haven

Property: Daintree Valley Haven
Address: 766 Stewart Creek Rd, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Valley Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daintree Valley Haven is a secluded tropical 30-acre hideaway at the end of the beautiful Daintree valley near Daintree Village. There are three very private self-contained B&B bungalows - perfect self-catering accommodation for couples, birdwatchers, honeymooners and wildlife enthusiasts and for relaxing for a while during a busy holiday. Colourful tropicals gardens, over 140 species of seasonal birds, more than 20 varieties of exotic fruits, butterflies, rainforest, walking trails all surrounded by the rainforested hills of Daintree National Park. A complimentary daily breakfast basket, delivered to bungalows each afternoon, includes home-grown exotic fruits and home-made jam and yoghurt. Total peace and tranquility yet within easy driving distance of Cape Tribulation, Mossman Gorge, Port Douglas, the Great Barrier Reef and the Atherton Tablelands (Cairns Highlands). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daintree Valley Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Valley Haven Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing