We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really comfortable and pleasant venue.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Andrew and Trish are energetic, enthusiastic hosts who make you feel more than welcome as soon as you arrive. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. En Suite is spacious.. . Great breakfasts - fruit, yogurt, cereals and "full English". Really good value If you are into wildlife this is the place to stay for trips on the Daintree River and access across the ferry to Cape Tribulation and Cow Bay. Plenty of reference books and advice on where to find what you want to see. We saw Cassowary, which at 2m from us , was a bit scary for some of the party, but it ignored us and fed on fruit on the ground.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 421 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Trish and Andrew run a very tight ship here at Red Mill House. They are committed to you getting the absolute maximum out your stay with them. The rooms are comfortable and airy, we a had a good sized bathroom with a well functioning shower. The verandah where breakfast was served was spacious and pleasant to sit in. Whether you are enthusiastic bird watchers or just have a casual interest in the natural environment, Andrew and Trish will ensure that you will get the most out of what Daintree and North Queensland has to offer. Red Mill House is close to the amenities of Daintree Village with regard to restaurants and river trips, although when we stayed in November, restaurants do close early because it is not high season, so make sure you book!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamS4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Many reviews of Red Mill focus on the bird watching which is undeniably great,assisted by the wonderful Trish and Andrew. But this location is also great for getting away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. A place to sit back and relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility. You can't help but make good friends with the hosts. The accommodation is excellent, comfortable and spacious. Lovely breakfast with local fresh fruit. Nothing is too much trouble here.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room which gave good views over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darwin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights to focus on birding in the Daintree. The birding was excellent and greatly helped by Trish and Andrew’s local knowledge. Each morning they gave us tips on where exactly to find the speciality species, as well as having some very good sheets of local walking and driving tours stating specifically what birds you might see at each spot.

The accommodation was of an excellent standard. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom roomy and good. A delicious and plentiful hot breakfast was cooked to order. We particularly liked that coffee/tea were freely available all through the day.

All in the all we had a great stay.

Chris & Ursula, UK

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBandUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Trish and Andrew are the ideal hosts for nature lovers. Their passion for the birds (and all things natural) is incredible. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful and the perfect way to start a day of adventure. If you are heading for the Daintree, this is THE place to stay. We spent 3 nights here and wold have stayed longer if we had more time. Our room, the grounds, our hosts, all perfect. If (When) we return there is no doubt we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirderRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

In a 43-day trip across from Cairns to Broome, I, my wife, and our two friends did not find a better place to stay. The rooms were great, breakfasts were outstanding, and it is hard to imagine any hosts being more helpful than Trish and Andrew. The location is convenient and very quiet. Best of all, standing by our front door, we saw a bird in the yard's pool a bird (Little Kingfisher) that we saw nowhere else in Australia!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank attuguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had three nights at Red Mill House recently, the rooms were great, the breakfast was wonderful, but most of all the hosts were charming, personable and full of hospitality, they really made us feel at home. With so many positive reviews on Trip Advisor what more can I say, except that I am going back as soon as I can :-)

Room Tip: Our group of three had an upstairs room and a downstairs room, both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Con F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
576 reviews
19.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Daintree Village Bed and Breakfast
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
984 reviews
15.9 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range: $146 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing