We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay @ Red Mill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay @ Red Mill”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Clean & comfy B&B with great hosts who really know the area and their birds! They go the extra mile to make sure your stay is wonderful. Great breakfasts. Easy access to other places to eat or just pick up supplies. Lots to do in the Daintree area. A great "home base" for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
86
254
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I can't say enough about how marvelous this place is! In every way, Trish and Andrew (the hosts), know how to make you feel treated like long time friends. The house is pristine with the room just so well decorated and comfortable. Trish served up delicious breakfast with homemade yogurt and bread! They were both so happy and helpful, really taking an interest in making sure that you were having a great time. My husband and I LOVED THIS PLACE and when I ever leave Denver, CO to visit Australia again, I will want to stay here. The location of the house is prefect for exploring from. We went on a Daintree boat tour, explored the town (had crocodile burgers), and drove around. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were very clean and set in a picturesque location. The hosts were very welcoming and more than happy to share their knowledge of the area. The food was excellent, especially the local tropical fruits which were delicious! Would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_J_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I just spent 3 nights at Red Mill last week. What an unforgettable experience. Right in the middle of nature, clean room, delicious breakfast, and most importantly, friendly and helpful hosts. I and my wife had not made much preparations for this trip, and did not make detailed plans while in Daintree. We just listened to the hosts' detailed suggestions and we simply enjoyed every minute there.
I heard they are considering retiring, so hurry up and go and stay there!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This B&B was selected because of comments from previous guests. What we found was that every thing wonderful written about this place, together with the hosts Trish and Andrew, was absolutely true. The location was perfect for daily excursions to enable us to experience a host of activities. The warmth of our welcome and the ready assistance with our daily sightseeing could not be faulted. For birdwatchers there was help with tour booking as well as on site reference books and tripod mounted spotting scopes. Detailed guides to local viewing places were made available and Andrew always had up to date information on road conditions and accessibility. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who booked us for tours and local dining. The rooms were clean and comfortable and each had its own verandah outdoor table and chairs. The included breakfast gave a wonderful choice with lots of fresh fruit. Personal requests were attended to with a smile. An all round fantastic experience. My score, 6 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Trish & Andrew are the best hosts that you could ever wish for, they aimed to make sure that our stay was perfect down to the smallest detail. Their local knowledge meant that they were great at suggesting trips and activities for us to see and do. They also provided us with binoculars, wildlife guides, and an Esky (cool bag) with cold water for the day trips. Andrew took us on a bird watching walk showing us the local birds and kept us all entertained.

Breakfast - Breakfast on the verandah was wonderful: fresh local tropical fruits, cereals, homemade breads and a hearty cooked breakfast - we didn't need lunch!

Dining - There aren't a huge number of evening dining options in Daintree but Trish and Andrew were great at outlining what was open and arranging bookings. We had great fun eating with the locals in the village, as well as enjoying some delicious food at the Daintree Tea House Restaurant.

Wildlife - There are torches to adventure round their garden at night to spot a variety of wildlife. Also, you can feed Bandicoots or just watched them from the verandah. White-lipped Tree Frogs can be seen around reception sleeping throughout the day.

Location - We found Daintree a great location to travel north across the ferry towards Cape Trib or south to Port Douglas for a trip to the Great Barrier Reef.

Highly recommended, and a thoroughly memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beefy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just back from a short stay at Red Hill house, it was amazing! Such a warm welcome from the owners, delightful setting of trees and birds and Andrew knowing everything about them all. The breakfast on the upper deck was delicious, all fresh and such a lot to choose from, I loved it.
When asked recently what was the best part of our tour of sydney/Cairns etc I said, "my stay at Red Hill house" so am delighted to be able to pass this on to anyone visiting Daintree. I came with My son and his partner, Peter and Di, sincerely Barbara.

Room Tip: not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
6.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
8.3 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Property: Red Mill House in Daintree
Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing