We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Mill House in Daintree
Nearby Hotels
$247
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Daintree Rainforest Retreat(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
$113
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Demi View Motel(Mossman)(Great Value!)
$82
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
$153
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
$138
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$432
$395
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$142
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
390
28
7
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
28
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird watchingyogurthomemade breaddaintree villagecape tribulationcooked breakfastgreat birdingtree frogsearly morninghome madeoverlooking the gardenexcellent breakfasttropical fruitgreat hostsbird lovershelped us planlocal wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 429 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

and what wonderful hosts!
Not being seasoned birdwatchers, we were equally welcomed and introduced to some special birdlife without feeling like we were 'pushed'.
Trish and Andrew really have a flair in making people feel at home. Nothing is too much effort.
We stayed 2 nights and I hapilly would have stayed a lot longer, enjoying the yummy cooked breakfast and the yoghurt and fruit platter as well as their and other guests' company.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marthune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This (5 of us) was our first stop on our tour of Australia, and what a way to start. The owners were away but no matter as their chosen hosts, Dawn and Dennis, made us feel entirely at home and that's what Red Mill House is, a home from home but in an extraordinary place. We had our own 2 bedroom cottage which was perfect for our needs, very comfortable and full of character. Breakfast was excellent and taken on their outside terrace overlooking their pretty garden. On our second day we decided to have a BBQ that evening. Dennis did all the food shopping and presented us with several options when we arrived back later in the day after exploring the rainforest, brilliant!
This is a special place which we all felt sad to leave and would love to go back to .. and after all that's the real test isn't it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hagley39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

As very keen, but novice Australian bird watchers, we sought out some good birdwatching opportunities. Red Mill House appeared to fit the bill. We booked the 4 day bird watching package and two extra nights. This was an excellent introduction to the birds of the area. Introductory walks with our hosts Andrew and Trish, a boat trip ( where unfortunately we didn't see much because of the weather-still very beautiful ) and a full day with birder Carol Isles were all fabulous. Trish and Andrew were excellent hosts who went out of their way to ensure that they were meeting our needs. Their warmth and passion for the birds and the area added to our experience. We cannot recommend Red Mill highly enough and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I am so glad and thankful for my husband 's choice of Red Mill for our stay this Summer in Caines. Trish and Andrew are like our friends and we actually look forwared to seeing them again in near future. I enjoyed watching my husband and my kids playing card and chess games in such a cosy and peaceful house. We could hear the birds, the leaves, the rain...all the natural beautiful sound.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK_Helen_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband booked us into this B&B for several nights based on reviews from TripAdvisors and I'm so glad he did! Dawn and Dennis were. The perfect hosts at this charming oasis. Nothing was too much for them! Gorgeous rooms, delicious breakfasts to order, and they arranged our birding excursions as well. I can't say enough good things about this charming oasis! You're in for a treat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Molly_by_Golly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews