We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2008

We have been to Red Mill B&B on several occasions.
Each time it is a joy to come back and be made to feel so welcome.
Andrew and Trish are perfect hosts caring and involved but not intrusive into their guests personal lives. They are interested and knowledgeable, very helpful and good fun. Nothing is too much trouble; they are full of local advice and information and go out of their way to make people feel accepted and welcome.
The food, service, quality of rooms and their decor is of high quality.
Both Andrew and Trish are always ready to help and readily give of their time to make their guests feel at home.
We would thoroughly and unhesitatingly recommend any naturalist to visit their home.

Doug & Judy Williams - Christchurch NZ.
This visit - March & April 2008

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casuarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 423 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2008

Just a caveat for booking here - we had our stay (on our honeymoon, no less) booked and confirmed. The night before we were to show up - after travelling f. Ulhuru to Cairns, then driving up and arriving after dark - I emailed RMH to get directions. Only to be told they had no such reservation and they were full up. Our travel agency had a confirmation and we had the voucher for our 3 night stay - but were left scrambling - overnight and through an all-day's worth of travel - to find a place in Port Douglas.

So, I can't rate the experience - I'll give it 3 stars, to not take their overall rating - but definitely reconfirm before showing up!

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank NYCJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmill, Owner at Red Mill House in Daintree, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2008

Unfortunately, while the client had been issued a voucher for Red Mill House, the booking had never been made by the inbound travel agent. Direct bookings are always safer and more personal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Red Mill House B&B on our way from Wrotham Park to Cooktown. Trish and Andrew were very friendly and helpful, setting up dinner for us at a local cafe even though we arrived at a very late hour. The room was a little small, but nicely appointed and very clean. We really enjoyed the breakfast they served the next morning (cooked to order!), and wish we had more time to linger on the veranda. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teevskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We've just returned from our stay in Australia and had the pleasure of staying at Red Mill House for our first three nights of our vacation there. We absolutely loved everything about it. The setting is incredibly tranquil and beautiful, the room was immaculate, and the breakfasts were so delicious. Trish and Andrew, the hosts, are very warm and welcoming, but also go out of their way to help with arrangements, directions, suggestions, etc. We had our 14-yr-old son with us, and before we arrived he wasn't keen about staying at a B&B, but now he can't stop talking about how cool it was.

Although my husband is the birder in our family, my son and I really did enjoy staying at Red Mill House! There were so many amazing birds and animals in the beautiful gardens surrounding this place. This little B&B is a real gem in the heart of the Daintree rainforest. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dk6034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We stayed for four nights at the Red Mill House and enjoyed our stay immensely. Trish and Andrew are gracious hosts and they made us feel very welcome. They are a wealth of information about tours, places to go and things to do and made tour and dining reservations for us. Breakfasts were really tasty (loved the yogurt) and they accommodated us for breakfast when we had to leave early to go snorkeling on the Reef. Room was clean and pleasant. We highly recommend the Red Mill House.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kahsalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

Our three night stay at Red Mill House more than met our expectations. The rooms are basic but comfortable. It is the setting, atmosphere and warm reception created by the hosts, Trish and Anrew Forsyth, that make this place special. While the they graciously welcome all visitors they go out of their way to enhance the experience of those visiting the Daintree area for bird watching.
What a treat to enjoy a delicious breakfast on the veranda and watch the birds. We used Red Mill House as our base to explore Daintree National Park, Cape Tribulation, Mossman Gorge and the Mt Molloy area. Be aware that Red Mill House is in the countryside and some planning is needed for lunch and dinners as local restaurant selection is limited. Trish and Andrew will help you sort that out as well as assist in arranging local bird outings. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verdetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

What a special place this is. Our family visited the wet tropics during rainy season and enjoyed warm hospitality at Red Mill House. We enjoyed great advice on local sightseeing, amazing breakfasts, cool birds in the garden and a high standard of cleanliness. It's a difficult place to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
586 reviews
0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
0.1 mi away
Daintree Village Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range: $151 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing