We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

There are places where there is great birding, and there are places where the accommodation, the surroundings, the service and the people are great. At Red Mill House all these combine, into the perfect place to stay if you like birds and nature as well as feeling looked after, even pampered! Trish and Andrew are fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they are great company. I only wish we could have stayed longer. I think we will be back.

Room Tip: All are good. We were on the balcony upstairs and that was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jens75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Red Mill House in Daintree
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 412 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Simply the best B and B we have ever stayed in - only a shower, no TV in the room, but ambience, beautiful surroundings, birds, peace and the most charming hosts. We felt at home and relaxed and breakfasts on the terrace in the sun were magic. A definite for birders too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location, right next to the Daintree Village, and just a short walk to river tours. (Also just a short drive to the ferry to Cape Tribulation)
Great people, genuinely excited to help us have a great time, talking through our plans every morning, and helping to set tours up for us.
Great breakfast, every morning, with choice of eggs, and a tasty fruit plate.
Great room/house - comfortable room, with a nice sitting area, and a cool house. My wife has told everyone about the tree frogs who took up residence in their kitchen!
You just can't do better.
They even helped us out by having a very affordable laundry service, as Daintree was the middle of our visit to Australia, and we were running low.
Couldn't improve a thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDavis1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had a wonderful time at Redmill - can't be faulted. The kind of hospitality that makes you smile; breakfasts made with love - delicious home made yoghurt, freshly baked breads, fresh juice, home made jams and a fascinating array of tropical fruit :) Trish and Andrew go the extra mile. Available to answer wildlife questions, provide fun and interesting conversation, lent us better binoculars and bicycles, but also left us to just enjoy the peace of this gem of a place. Put Redmill House on your "to do" list!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

As an overseas tour operator,working mostly in the Middle East, I really understand the difference between ordinary accommodation and the rare places that are special. I had high expectations of Red Mill House, and they were certainly fulfilled. The rain forest setting is fabulous, the rooms are comfortable, the food is great, and best of all, Trish and Andrew are terrific hosts, always happy to share their deep knowledge of the Daintree. We particularly enjoyed the early morning bird-watching cruise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

With both kids finally through college and on their way to productive lives of their own, my husband and I wanted to treat ourselves to our "dream vacation." After much deliberation and research we decided on a New Zealand and Australia adventure (we live in the US/California). We had the time of our lives and stayed in some amazing places throughout both beautiful countries, but the highlight was our stay with Trish and Andrew at Red Mill House. We were about 2 weeks into our travels when we arrived in Daintree (during the off season-February) and it was such a welcome respite to feel like we were being welcomed into the home of dear friends. Trish and Andrew were gracious and fun and entertained us just enough to make us feel welcome and pampered but not so much that we couldn't get time to ourselves. Red Mill House was cozy, quiet and well located and we enjoyed several beautiful nighttime downpours on the tin roof above our bedroom. We almost decided against Daintree due to the heat but we were so glad we came to stay with Trish and Andrew as it was the highlight of a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKSPaloAltoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I wanted to experience the Daintree region, and we selected the Red Mill House for our home base. What a treat! We were so well cared for by Trish and Andrew. The B&B is nestled in the trees, surrounded by wonderful plants and birds. Trish and Andrew helped us plan our days in the area so we could see the most at our pace. Breakfast is wonderful each morning, and drinking our wine on the balcony each evening was memorable. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
0.1 mi away
Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground
7.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range: $155 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing