We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daintree bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Red Mill House was an absolute treat, Trish and Andrew are the most beautiful hosts and their b and b is peaceful, beautiful and so relaxing. We stayed a week and every day was filled with new adventures in the daintree. Trish and Andrew steered us in the right direction every time, we swam in waterholes, walked along wild beaches, saw cassowaries and their babies, ate delicious food and watched crocs basking on river banks. For an adventure to the daintree, red mill house is the perfect spot to be, a memorable and stellar holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 423 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Red Mill House is perfect for travelers looking for a quiet stay in very well appointed rooms close to the Daintree Rainforest. The rooms are comfortably large, ours had a king sized bed, with ensuite (shower, sink, toilet) facilities. Large verandah covers the area outside the bedrooms with an open area near the kitchen and lounge with tables and chairs. There's always hot water for tea or coffee, a TV in the lounge with internet access. Breakfasts are very well done. Hosts could not be better! Very knowledgable about the birds, local animals, and flora. Trish took me out for an introductory bird watch and Andrew pointed out bandicoots in the garden come evening. The Forsyth's will find the best tours for your interests and will sit down with you with a map explaining all the area, according to what's there and what your interests are. This place is best for adults (very quiet), bird watchers, naturalists, and all looking for a peaceful and comfortable place to rest close to the Daintree National Forest, adjacent to the Daintree River in a very quiet, beautiful area.

Room Tip: We were upstairs on the end - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheynaPurna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

4 nights and days of soothing fun. Genuine "Queenslander" house on beautiful site. Cheerful wake-up calls by the 6:30AM kookaburra made me happy. The hosts, Trish and Andrew are funny, kind, and terrific resources. Helped me fill the days with interesting events and made the evenings peaceful. On the last morning, stood at the top step not wanting to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annehuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend two nights at Red Mill B&B on our recent family holiday to Northern Queensland and the accomodation ensured the Daintree stay was a real highlight in our trip. The B&B offered two bedroom accomodation perfect for a family break. We enjoyed lovely views from our rooms and a picturesque outlook from the top balcony. There were many extra's available that made it feel like home and Trish and Andrew were outstanding as hosts. They helped us plan our trips and pointed out local attractions to suit everyone. Their local knowledge of the area and willingness to help with everything was terrific. The breakfast was lovely and it was a short stroll to enjoy great meals in the Daintree cafe. Our kids just loved every aspect of the accomodation especially swimming in the pool. We would highly recommend this for families. Gemma, Michael and girls

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Traveling alone can get lonely sometimes. But arriving at the Red Mill House, I felt as if my best friend was waiting to greet me. For my entire stay, I felt cared for. I was even given packed lunches I hadn't expected. Birdwatching was great, Trish and Andrews local knowledge was invaluable, and the location was charming. The room had everything for my comfort and sitting on the balcony in the evenings was a dream.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place is reason enough to visit the Daintree. Trish and Andrew were extremely welcoming, helpful and looked after our every need. The location was wonderfully peaceful and had everything one could ask for. They cook up the best breakfast each morning and provide samples of local fruits, which is perfect for the overseas traveller. We arrived feeling a little frazzled after a few nights in a noisy backpackers and within minutes felt all the stress just fall away. After a few days there we were ready to move in permanently and felt like old friends. Our experience of the Daintree couldn't have been better, thanks to Trish and Andrew....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pachamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Trish and Andrew are terrific birding hosts, very knowledgeable and patient and just plain lots of fun (especially watching State of Origin). The location of Red Mill House is ideal for taking a river birdwatching trip (with Murray Hunt) as well as day trips up into Cape Tribulation. There are heaps of birds lurking in the garden for watching over a glass of wine or at breakfast. Speaking of which, the breakfast was spectacular.

Room Tip: Second floor seems better for birders
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
591 reviews
0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway bnb
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
0.1 mi away
Daintree Village Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range: $155 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing