We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Birdwatchers B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Mill House in Daintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luxury Birdwatchers B&B”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

As we arrived, Trish and Andrew were about to depart for the Birdfair in England, but that did not stop them making us extremely welcome and giving us a detailed rundown of Red Mill House and advice on birding around Daintree.
In Trish and Andrews absence, we were looked after by Dawn, Dennis and Silvia. They did a superb job.
Red Mill House is the definition of a Luxury Birders Accommodation. The rooms are a sheer delight with a spacious balcony, that overlooks a wonderful garden thats designed to attract wildlife.
Red Mill House has a world wide reputation as being a perier accommodation for birding enthusiasts, and this proved to be the case. Long may it continue

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDGPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    25
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
88
257
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Birding with "Chook" for the day was outstanding. His local knowledge of bird habitat, calls, etc was superior. The two river cruises (one morning and one night) were wonderful. The new restaurant was very good (especially the smoked croc). And the boardwalks in the National Park was well worthwhile.

Trish and Andrew helped us with all of this and provided us with upstairs accomodations at Red Mill that were delightful. The gardens at Red Mill were very tropical and beautiful with much wildlife and birds. We will definitely be back.

Carolyn and Gene Peters
Originally from Texas Gulf Coast,
Now living in Bunbury, WA with daughter

Room Tip: The two upstairs apartments with large windows and balcony, overlook the gardens and is like staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genep777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We learnt of Red Mill House from fellow birdwatcher's in the UK and from our first contact with Trish and Andrew they helped to make our visit a great experience. We booked a birdwatching break. This included excellent guided birdwatching in a variety of habitats. When not training our eyes to the tops of trees we relaxed on the veranda or in the garden at Red Mill. We particularly enjoyed seeing where the fruit we so enjoyed at breakfast was grown. Trish is a skilled and versatile cook - paw paw and ginger jam, wonderful cake and yummy meusli. After four superb breakfasts 'the diet starts tomorrow!'. We now have an understanding of why and how the Daintree is is so unique and special and have had the privilege, of meeting some people who are passionate in the quest to protect this.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms can experience noise if those above are heavy footed or have loud voices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We enjoy very much our stay, including the famous breakfast. Thank you very much for the attention and kindness to the owners: it is not possible to find any better accomodation. If we return to Daintree area in Australia we will repeat in Red Mill House. Hugs and kisses.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidia1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

After a business trip to Sydney we decided to head north for a few days of R&R. We found the Red Mill on the web under driving Queensland. So grateful for the article. Trish gave us driving pointers from the airport that made the most of our short 4 days. Arriving at the B&B we were greeted with a smile and a quick tour of the grounds and our bright airy room by Andrew. The whole place is Peaceful, beautiful and squeaky clean. So many little touches, flashlights, fans, umbrellas,airconditioning(not needed, kept the windows and doors open to smell the fresh air and listen to the night noises:). Tea coffee 24/7. The common areas had comfy furniture, tons of books, and travel info for the area. We were impressed with their commitment to the environment. Arriving around dinner time Trish suggested a new place called the Croceye. The food was awesome and the owner was so friendly. Everything was delicious and the place was open air and immaculate. We bought wine next door and relaxed at Croceye, never rushed. Trish set us up for a river trip early the next morning and said breakfast would be waiting when we got back. The river trip with Sauce was informative and we got a lot of great pictures as he pointed out birds, reptiles, plants etc. Frank added over 90 new birds to his list while there. We returned to homeade yogurt and breads, an array of local fruits and a hot meal! The best ever!!Their attention to details amazing, even a cooler with water for our trip to the beach. A trip to a winery(Andrew suggested trying the ports which was a great idea) a guided tour to Wild Wings and Swampy Things with Barbara, because of our interest in reforestation, she has done a excellent job making a place for nature, and her lemonade is good too!! Daintree Forest ferry to Cape Tribulation(make sure you stop at the Daintree icecream Shop), a day at 4 mile beach and our last day back to the airport via roadtrip info provided by Trish. Thanks to Andrew who hooked us up with wotif for a nice reasonable room at the Holiday Inn at the airport in Sydney before heading back to the USA .Our hosts took the time to share a bottle of port with us and discuss similar travels at the end of a long day. Trish and Andrew compliment each other and seem to appear with helpful info when needed but at the same time they give you enough space and solitude to feel like you are the only ones there. Making dinner reservations and scheduling tours is no bother. Kudos to them and thanks for a wonderful first trip to Australia. If you are in the Cairnes area heading to the rainforest, reef or the Tablelands you can see it all staying at the Red Mill House!!! Say hello to our little tree frog if you have a room upstairs:) Ellen & Frank

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Our visit to see the sights and (most importantly) the birdlife of Northern Queensland got off to the best possible start when we were called up from our unpacking of the car by Trish to see our first Little Kingfisher perched over the pond in the garden. That typified Andrew & Trish's helpfulness - well beyond the call of duty - to visiting birders. Not just advice on locations, they also enlisted the Daintree River boatsmen to ensure that I saw Papuan Frogmouth, and took us out to a friend's garden to catch up with Lovely Fairywren. When you add in a very comfortable room in a beautiful location, you have a perfect resort for birders (and non-birders too).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RW_Payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Trish and Andrew are exceptional hosts providing a special stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
546 reviews
6.9 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
0.0 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
939 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
8.3 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mill House in Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mill House in Daintree

Property: Red Mill House in Daintree
Address: 11-15 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mill House in Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly,award winning,deluxe B&B for those with an interest in the wildlife photography, nature and ecology of the Daintree. Spacious en-suite rooms with wide verandas overlooking the extensive tropical gardens and and swimming pool. Full cooked breakfast with homemade goodies included in tariff. Owner-operated - well known for good service and comprehensive nature-based information. Convenient location for Daintree National Park, river cruises, rainforest walks and excellent birdwatching. Naturalist guide available. Free hi-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Red Mill House in Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mill House In Daintree Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing