We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed April 14, 2005

Don't believe everything you read in the other reviews here. I can only think that the Ecolodge must have done a major upgrade since March 2004. The rooms are great. The beds are perfect. The furniture is new and in keeping with the surrounds. The level of cleaning was very satisfactory, considering you are in a rainforest! And I would have loved to find a rainforest snake on our doorstep! Now that's 'in the rainforest'. The restaurant and spa are awesome. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and kind. If you want a real sense of visiting a rainforest retreat, the Ecolodge wins hands down. (And ask for Villa 12 if you like privacy, the sound of a waterfall and the most incredible outlook I have ever experienced from a room.)

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chalkie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    96
    34
    33
    17
See reviews for
72
348
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2005

We stayed at the eco lodge during our honeymoon, and I agree it is not 4 star luxury. Rooms are outdated in appearence, and even with the air conditioner on not very confortable (no insect spray available). But you are in the rainforest- expect to share your room with ants, mossies, we even had to fish out a spider from under the pillows on the first night. Things got better, when we were greeted by a snake at our door on the third night! Resort does provide an amazing restaurant and and award winning spa. So that made up for the lack of amenities.G

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gouri9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 10, 2004

I have travelled the world and stayed in the best hotels along with the most rustic. This is the worst place I have ever stayed. The location is beautiful, but there are better places to stay in the area if you want to be in the rain forest (Silky Oaks). The cabins are horrible. They are musty and damp. The beds smell of mold. The pillows are very thin from years of use. The mattresses are so old that you can feel each spring in your back. I was near tears during the night and was ready to sleep in the car until I turned upside down in the bed to get some relief. The shower went from scalding hot to freezing cold with no in-between... The rooms are dirty (the corners of the floor had imbedded dirt, the phone had dirt on it, the furniture was banged up and worn - also not updated in may years. A very bad experience. We left the first/next morning and were not offered a refund for the night. Also, we tried checking out at 9 pm the night before, but the front desk was closed and no one was to be found. Enjoy your trip to the area - don't stay here!

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 25, 2004

Although my husband and I enjoyed ourselves we wern't quite prepared for how rustic it was. We expected more amenities and more to do, espeacialy at night. The rooms are very average. However it is amazingly beautiful and the staff is sweet. If your looking for seclusion this is the place. Oh and the spa is wonderful too.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2003

Spent 4 days at the Daintree in September of 1999. If you like the outdoors, but hate crowds, this is the place for you. The rooms have a screened porch in the rear that is elevated up into the jungle canopy, so you can watch the wildlife without be attacked by the bugs. take a 4 wheel drive tour in the morning, get a massage in the afternoon then lounge by the pool and your in heaven. If you daring enough you can take a croc-spotting tour by boat just after dark.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
17.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
14.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
5.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
5.7 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
1.6 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree EcoLodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree EcoLodge & Spa

Property: Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Address: 20 Daintree Road | PMB 20, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree EcoLodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa IS pure escapism. We invite you to relish romance, to respect ancient culture, and to celebrate each day restfully nestled within an ancestral destination for the healing of the spirit. The Daintree EcoLodge & Spa offers a variety of accommodation choices with welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. Retreat from the world in one of our 'bayans', a private tree house designed for two. A micro screened balcony offers stunning immersion within the rainforest, abundant with a thousand shades of green growing before your eyes. Inside, luxurious and thoughtful amenities are tailored to satisfy our guests' wishes. Resting over a lily filled lagoon is Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, a magical destination for unwinding in the ambience of deep forest. A daily menu draws inspiration from the tropical surrounds showcasing contemporary Australian cuisine while the Bar selection is curated to complement this unique dining experience. Our Wellness Spa is a sanctuary in which to serenely disconnect. A harmony of nature, nurture, wisdom and healing infuses a luxuriant treatment menu using the Li'tya pure Australian botanical range. While guests may choose never to leave our rainforest escape, Daintree EcoLodge & Spa is also the perfect base from which to explore the wonders of tropical Far North Queensland. This sun-kissed corner of Australia lures travellers from all corners, providing an exclusive opportunity to encounter adjacent World Heritage sites. Ancient rainforest and the magnificent Daintree River meet untouched coastal ranges and the calm, azure waters of the Coral Sea, home to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Daintree EcoLodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Eco Lodge And Spa
Daintree Eco Hotel Daintree Village
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing