We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and concept, but needs some sprucing up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Perhaps I'm a bit harsh in giving a 3-star for this accommodation, because the location is good, the food was even better, and the staff were mostly friendly and helpful. But the property itself seems to be in need of some facelift...I felt like I came there a few years too late. The reception area/lounge/TV room looked rather spartan. The small pool was not that inviting (more like a big bathtub). And the short walking track to a small waterfall needs some clearing up (the waterfall itself is beautiful, and you can get your spa treatment there). At the beginning of the track there's also a sign pointing to a "swimming hole" but when I asked the staff, it was not recommended to swim there. So please remove/change the sign.

But the most disappointing was my room, which was probably the least private room on the property as it was on the lower level instead of being propped up high for the "treehouse" experience I was looking for. Some aspects of the room were also ill-designed. The AC unit was right beside the bed, so when it's on it's blowing cold air right at you, which could make you sick. The shower only had a small soap holder, whereas they provided the toiletries in big squeeze bottles so you have to place them on the floor. A shelf would be better. The shower head was also old and could not generate strong water pressure. The fridge door in my room was moldy, and although a kettle was provided, there was no tea/coffee bags.

This is a relatively small property and it's great for a more intimate experience (compared to, for example, Silky Oaks Lodge in Mossman), as many reviewers have testified. But in its current state, I'd rather spend $100 more and stay at Silky Oaks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 591 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Fabulous location well and truly away from the rat race. The food at the restaurant is outstanding. Congratulations to the chef. Definitely 5 star food. Very reasonably priced and good sized portions. Beautifully presented too. The tree houses are wonderful. We arrived and opened our door to find tea candles already alight and gently welcoming us. It rained heavily all night and we found ourselves listening to the rain and the jungle birds etc. What an absolute treat. Staff are very helpful. Well priced. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryleaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed here 3nights. Raining every day. But so much to do here or as little as you like. My husband and I stayed here for our 8th anniversary. The food is to die for, the accommodation with spa on balcony (room 8). Luke and Sara superb food service, too happy to help and so down to earth. Jacye-Leigh massage therapist - gave superb 2hr massage. We tossed up between this place, the Wilderness Lodge and Silky Oaks. So glad we cane here. Ideal and easy location to cape trib, daintree, mossman gorge, port douglas and feels like you are in the middle of a rainforest with the running creek and waterfall.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ange_n_aza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We got married last December in this most magical place!!!
We still can’t believe how amazing everything was and how beautiful and easy Jody, Sharon or better the whole team made it for us. Everything was down to the detail if location, flowers, decoration, music, food, snacks, make up artist or the amazing spa to correct my last minute mishap with nails and wait tan lines ;-). I cant thank you all enough and I still get goose bumps thinking back to our Day.
We got so lucky that the 6 of us had the whole lodge to ourselves and that the rain didn't start till after dinner which just made it more magical… and that we picked your place!!!

Again it was amazing, delicious, and so romantic, soooo special and we can’t wait to be back for one of our anniversaries!!!

Good luck to all of you and may the Daintree Lodge stay the way it is tranquil, loving and green and may the new owners be a breath of fresh air just supporting the amazing stuff that is already in place!!!!

Thank you is not enough to all of you!!!!

Room Tip: we loved the rooms all the way in the back of the property!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annett800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I've stayed here twice and both times it has been a fantastic experience. The location is the main seller here, set in verdant jungle, with the rooms on stilts in the forest. You really feel you are part of the jungle (and therefore associated noises and insects it has to be said, so you need to be happy with that). The restaurant was excellent with such a unique setting and we treated to an aborginal dance as well. The rooms were fairly good but not luxurious but that fit with the whole feel of the place. Wonderful, I want a 3rd visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dubaiuaetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

On our short stay up in the Daintree, we stayed 2 nights here and loved it. The service was great, the restaurant superb and location perfect. Although we were surrounded by other patrons in their own separate lodge, we always felt like we were away from noise and people. It was just us and nature! I definitely recommend staying here. Unfortunately we didn't try the spa.

Room Tip: The rooms with a spa made it that much more of a romantic experience for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_grig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was lucky enough to receive a Gift Voucher for my birthday and redeemed it just recently in December 2013. Although I did not stay the night, the bungalows looked wonderful nestled among the trees. I could imagine staying overnight would be a beautiful experience.

On arrival, I was welcomed by Peter at the Day Spa where I enjoyed two fantastic spa treatments including the 'Rainforest Vichy Shower' with sugar scrub and a massage.
I found Peter to have a wonderful, friendly and down to earth disposition, extremely professional and very discrete and expert at draping.

I was then treated to lunch on the balcony where Sharon attended to me with warm and friendly service without being too familiar and pushy. She was gracious enough to let me enjoy the tranquillity and quiet without skimping on attentive service. So calming to sit and take in the scene, watch the butterflies, listen to the rainforest and relax!

I also want to note the wonderful lady at Reception (feel embarrassed that I can't remember her name now) But she was extremely helpful, understanding and accommodating. She also demonstrated excellent product knowledge and obviously loves working at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
18.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
17.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,062 reviews
14.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
5.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
14.4 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree EcoLodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree EcoLodge & Spa

Address: 20 Daintree Road | Pmb 20, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Price Range: $245 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree EcoLodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daintree Ecolodge & Spa is situated in the heart of the Daintree Rainforest and offers sustainable luxury in a unique location. The retreat is the only boutique accommodation in the World-Heritage listed Daintree Rainforest and offers 15 eco-friendly bayans immersed in the canopy. The property boats majestic Bull Kauri trees, a private waterfall and dedicated walks. The perfect destination to reconnect with nature and the people you love. The suites at Daintree Ecolodge and Spa have been designed to create a fully immersive rainforest experience that treads lightly on the surrounding natural environment. The Lodge’s restaurant Julaymba offers a modern, fresh and seasonal menu designed using locally sourced ingredients in a rainforest setting. Nested right in the Daintree Rainforest, this is the ideal base to explore the Daintree and surrounds, with easy access to Mossman Gorge, Port Douglas and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Daintree EcoLodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Eco Lodge And Spa
Daintree Eco Hotel Daintree Village
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing