We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

For all the hype and high priced rooms, the hotel itself is disappointing. Like other reviewers mentioned, there was an obvious need for repairs and everything besides the lacking room itself was an extra (and extravagant) fee. While the food was delicious it was awfully expensive. The spa was already fully booked - primarily as I was lead to believe by non-guests. All the amenities that were appealing were not available or easily accessible. Worth a drive for the a meal, but save your pennies on a stay. Stayed September 2010.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank allymark214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 557 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Daintree Ecolodge from Sept 23rd - Sept 25th and had a wonderful time. The property itself is gorgeous--nestled right in the middle of the Daintree Rainforest. Since this was our honeymoon, we decided to splurge on some spa treatments at the cute spa on the property and it was excellent. My husband and I both got the Walbul Walbul treatments which consisted of a body treatment and hour long massage.

The staff are phenomenal--very sweet, personable and attentive. We ate pretty much all of our meals at the Julaymba restaurant which was very good.

Yes the property is pretty expensive and the rooms could use a bit of a makeover, but the beds were very comfortable and the outdoor patio was nice and large. We highly recommend this location for anyone looking for a unique place to stay while in Queensland!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marmar510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My mom and I spent two nights here in September 2013. While we thoroughly enjoyed the rain forest, the accommodations themselves were hardly worth the high prices for this lodge. The bathrooms are extremely outdated and by no means luxurious and all the furnishings in the room are fairly old and rustic. While I thought this experience would be sort of like "glamping" (glamorous camping), it was nothing of the sort. I would highly recommend going to many of the nearby lodges which likely have much cheaper prices for a similar type accommodation.

The pros:
-Rain forest setting was beautiful
-Breakfast was large and delicious
-Pond at reception / restaurant was lovely to watch the wildlife (turtles, frogs, snakes, etc.)

The cons:
-Very cold, unwelcoming bathroom
-Outdated room furnishings
-Dirty floors in the room
-Pool is very cold and under a roof which isn't very appealing to actually swim in (saw no one swimming while we were there)
-Extremely high prices of rooms for the quality

Room Tip: Some rooms have more privacy than others, even when reserving a spa suite. Request more privacy if...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kselund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent 3 days here among the beautiful rain forest , after my husband got over the shock of no
tv etc.. so nice to feel isolated from the world,yes its a bit overpriced & needing a make over,but the spa on the deck & romantic feel to the place wow!! the staff are sooooo nice they could not do enough for us! the food was great as you pay for quality,Im not sure how long chef was staying for? The Spa what a treat best yet worth every penny, once again the staff are soo attentive well done, we will go back 2014 will be nice to see what new owner does with the place! please do not remove the spas thou !!!

Room Tip: Have a car to do little trips,the local store is good for cold beers & yummy burgers,spend xtra...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Overpriced everything. Beware of the special restrictions on the restaurant and massages, you're entitled to more than you're offered. We were told on checkin that the restaurant was almost booked and there was nowhere else to eat in the area. Restaurant had average food. Small portions and 35+ mains. After exploring the next day we found other restaurants that were great.

Room Tip: Choose a different one.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashtravels159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place is very unique. The rooms are beautiful and private. The spa bath on our balcony was fantastic. The staff are lovely and our guided walk through the rainforest with Taliah was great. The food is also lovely. The spa is awesome we had a relaxing one hour couples massage. Would highly recommend splurging on a couple of nights here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Amazing setting..friendly..peaceful..heavenly..would love to go back sometime..not far from Cape Trib...Mossmans Gorge..Port Douglas...Vote one of the Best Eco Lodges in Australia..so fresh & close to nature & its surroundings..lovely change to hear the Daintree forest come alive at night & early morning..as well as walking through it. .Pricey sure it is Unique .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
18.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
14.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
960 reviews
5.7 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
7.9 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
6.2 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree EcoLodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree EcoLodge & Spa

Address: 20 Daintree Road | Pmb 20, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Price Range: $228 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree EcoLodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa IS pure escapism. We invite you to relish romance, to respect ancient culture, and to celebrate each day restfully nestled within an ancestral destination for the healing of the spirit. The Daintree EcoLodge & Spa offers a variety of accommodation choices with welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. Retreat from the world in one of our 'bayans', a private tree house designed for two. A micro screened balcony offers stunning immersion within the rainforest, abundant with a thousand shades of green growing before your eyes. Inside, luxurious and thoughtful amenities are tailored to satisfy our guests' wishes. Resting over a lily filled lagoon is Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, a magical destination for unwinding in the ambience of deep forest. A daily menu draws inspiration from the tropical surrounds showcasing contemporary Australian cuisine while the Bar selection is curated to complement this unique dining experience. Our Wellness Spa is a sanctuary in which to serenely disconnect. A harmony of nature, nurture, wisdom and healing infuses a luxuriant treatment menu using the Li'tya pure Australian botanical range. While guests may choose never to leave our rainforest escape, Daintree EcoLodge & Spa is also the perfect base from which to explore the wonders of tropical Far North Queensland. This sun-kissed corner of Australia lures travellers from all corners, providing an exclusive opportunity to encounter adjacent World Heritage sites. Ancient rainforest and the magnificent Daintree River meet untouched coastal ranges and the calm, azure waters of the Coral Sea, home to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Daintree EcoLodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Eco Hotel Daintree Village
Daintree Eco Lodge And Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing