We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daintree EcoLodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wow its been 3 weeks since our stay on 20 - 21 October. It was an absolutely awesome experience which we think about daily. I would love to thank Lisa, Natalie, Ronnie and Mark for making our stay unforgettable. Lisa who with her magic hands and energy for our amazing spa treatments melted layers away. Natalie whose love of food and very cool music made our drinks and meals a joy. Natalie makes the most amazing cocktails from local ingredients. Mark whipped all the yummy food we devoured over our stay. One husband who has traveled with work over the years, actually went to the kitchen to compliment Mark "which is a first ever". The way that the local food was prepared was Divine. Ronnie the new boy on the team and the Ops Manager was so helpful and thoughtful you would have thought he was local plus he got the Bledisloe set up for us to watch(happy husband :-)) The location and accommodation was comfortable and very relaxing. Soaking in the spa on the balcony with a book and bottle of red was like been in heaven. Listening to the wonderful noise of nature soothing. This visit has made us aware of the natural beauty that the Daintree offer plus once the wonderful services provided for by the Lodge but mostly the great staff I have mentioned who bring it all together. Thanks to you all for making our stay special. Karen and Craig xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoDaintree, Director of Sales at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear "AWESOME Experience"

First we would like to thank you for takig the time to write your feedback here on TripAdvisor. Being a small, privtely owned business this is a very important tool for us.

It is a joy to hear the positive and wonderful feedback you give about our lodge and our staff. When our guests leave feeling like you did we have achieved what we set out to do.
We hope to see you back with us in the rainforest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    94
    34
    33
    17
See reviews for
71
342
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here 29th & 30th October 2012 for a special treat for my birthday. We came here with no expectations and opened ourselves to the indigenous beliefs of the property. There really must be something special in the water here. We felt so at ease with a such a sense of calm that we had never experienced before. It's true there are no TV,s or radios and Internet connection can be poor. If you need that you have come to the wrong place. Rooms are clean and you can open all the windows (all are fully screened) this really makes you feel like you are apart of the rainforest.
A special shout out to Nat, for her friendly service and making my special birthday night memorable....best Expresso Martinis!
Also a big thank you to Lynda in the Wellness centre for introducing me to the joy of a head massage, body scrub and Visy shower. I am coming back for more!

Thanks to all for making our stay special

SC

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoDaintree, Director of Sales at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear "Special birthday treat amazing"

It is a great joy for us to hear such nice and positive feedback about our lodge and the people we have working here. We will make sure that the staff you mention will hear about your great feedback.
I believe we have yet another couple that are now addcited to the Daintree and hope to see you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Food was great but took so long to come given that we arrived at about 1.45pm and said we wanted lunch. We were very hungry and became annoyed when service took so long, even to get our first drink. Once our food did arrive we were asked 5 times if everything was alright by various staff. Too late for all this attention! Plus such interruptions just get in the way of our conversation. Tune in to your customers more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tufone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoDaintree, Director of Sales at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear "Dumb restaurant service"

First of all, thank you for taking time to offer us feedback on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate to hear however that you did not recieve the service you expected. I am still glad that you enjoyed the food.
We do take our feedback seriously and will discuss the areas you have pointed out to improve and better our standards and service levels.

I hope that when you visit us next time the service will impress just as much as the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here recently on a 4 night voucher deal which was reasonable for the standard of the accomodation. If we had of paid the full rack rate we would have been extremely disappointed. The room was clean and tidy though has a somewhat tired appearance on first impressions with very basic furniture. We found the bed very uncomfortable and the pillows poor quality,we mentioned this to the house keeping staff and we were promptly supplied with a topper for the bed and some extra pillows which made a significant difference. The shower recess and toilet area in our banyan was small and there is no shelving for toiletries in the shower. The spa on the balcony could do with more privacy from the next door cabin, the shelving used for screening is not very effective. Not sure why there is timber venetians on one side and not the other. Although these are minor its the finishing touches to 5 star accomodation you expect. We were impressed with the mosquito and bug proofed rooms, we didn't see nor hear one in our room the whole stay, the micromesh used works well. The pool area is very dated and could do with a sprucing up, it wasnt very inviting.
We ate at the lodge restaurant on our first night and we didn't return for dinner again during our stay.The food we ate was ok but overpriced, and certainly not in the fine dining category, and some of the choices on the menu were not available on that evening. Breakast was good, plenty of choices.
We spent a few hours at the Sea Temple in Port Douglas and this truly is 5 star, however in my opinion nothing compares to the unique experience the Eco lodge provides it's just a shame it has become tired and outdated and not the 5 star accomodation as advertised.
Recommendations: Mossman gorge 11/2 hr guided tour with Cameron was excellent, informative and authentic as the Indigeonous guide was born and raised in the gorge.
Janbal Art Gallery in Mossman.
Drive to Cape Tribulation - spectacular coast line where rainforest meets the ocean with beautiful clear turquoise water, truly magical!

Room Tip: Although I didnt see inside the banyan (tree house), certainly for location No.12 id deeper iinto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoDaintree, Director of Sales at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear "Amazing location...NOT 5 star!"

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your stay. We feel it is unfortunate that our accommodation and restaurant experience did not fully meet your expectations but feel good that you felt the magic and serenity the locations and rainforest can offer.
All feedback is important to us and we will take your comments to heart as this is the best way for us to evlove and improve our standards and service levels.
I hope to see you back in the rainforest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia & England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just finished 4 nights at the Daintree Ecolodge. We have been to the Daintree region several times previously, but this was our first stay at the Daintree Ecolodge. Overall our stay was very relaxing, rooms were lovely, staff were really friendly (especially Natalie) & all helped out with our special dietary requirements. Food was great & reasonably priced considering the location & portion sizes were large (so much so that we would share a dinner with an extra side of vegetables). Spa treatments were excellent & well worth the investment. All-in-all we really enjoyed our stay.
We were a little concerned as to how it would be based on the some of the reviews on trip advisor which is why we felt the need to provide feedback ourselves. One point worth mentioning was that we paid around $300 a night to stay here, which is actually half the rack-rate for this accommodation. Most of the complaints or poor reviews seemed to be from people who were not happy with their stay based on paying full price.
At the price we paid, we were more than happy with our stay & would recommend it to anyone. Having travelled he world & stayed in dozens of 5-star hotels & accommodation, we personally wouldn't pay the full rack rate to stay here, even considering the location.

We hope that this review is helpful to others considering this accommodation & we thank the staff again at the Daintree Ecolodge for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2rovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoDaintree, Director of Sales at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear "Really lovely stay"

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a detailed and to the point feedback. From reading your comments I understand that you use Tripadvisor as a tool to research your accommodation options prior to staying as so many others do also. It is then great to get this type of feedback based on your own experiences.
We will make sure to tell Natalie about your positive comments.
We hope to see you back in the rainforest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
146 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I went back today for another 3hr spa treatment.
I had previously experienced it 4years ago and remember it as being soooo good which has made me hesitant to return as I didn't think it could be as good. BUT IT WAS.
Lisa was the therapist on today and she was really fantastic, a great touch right from the initial leg and foot massage right through the scrub and Vichy shower to massage and facial.
This is a whole body mind experience and as someone who does bodywork themselves I tend to be ultra critical, but I cannot find anything to criticize I can only recommend it.
At the end there was a huge fruit platter and fresh tea and water. There was also tea and water during the treatment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acutlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoDaintree, Director of Sales at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear The 3 hr spa treatment is worth the $$$$$!

I am so happy to hear that we were able to live up to your expectations on your second visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this feedback as it is so valuable to us.

You are more than welcome back for a third spa treatment soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Boyfriend and i decided to get away for the long weekend in September , we wanted to go somewhere that would make us relax as we both have trouble doing so in our busy lives .

Daintree Eco Lodge and Spa was perfect . The cabins were beautiful , they have no TVs , radios or even a clock which suited us perfectly ! It meant we were forced to relax which is exactly what we did ...and loved every minuet of it !!!

A trip to the spa was the first thing on my agenda ...i highly recommend the " spirit of man" treatment , the vichy shower was the most incredible thing i have ever experienced i did not what that to end ! A very special thank you to Lisa and Linda you have by far exceeded our high expectations when it come to spa treatments . Your healing hands are still very much appreciated :)

I would also like to make a special mention to Natalie . Her service in the bar and restaurant was outstanding , she looked after us with a smile and a friendly attitude right from the moment we checked in . Thank you Natalie .

If you need some time out and endless hours to relax in the most beautiful surroundings go no further than the Daintree Eco Lodge and Spa , you will feel like you are a million miles from anything . we will definitely be returning in the near future .

Mark and Lee-Emma

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeEmma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoDaintree, Director of Sales at Daintree EcoLodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear No excuse not to relax!!!

You have hit the nail on the head with your feedback. This is exactly what we want to offer to the guests that come stay with us. A relaxing time where you can pamper not only your body but also your spirit.
It is delightful to hear your very positive feedback and we make sure that all staff mentioned by name will get informed about the lovely feedback.
Look forward to welcoming you back to the rainforest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
17.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#7 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
14.5 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
5.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
1.6 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
1.6 mi away
Red Mill House in Daintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree EcoLodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree EcoLodge & Spa

Property: Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Address: 20 Daintree Road | PMB 20, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree EcoLodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa IS pure escapism. We invite you to relish romance, to respect ancient culture, and to celebrate each day restfully nestled within an ancestral destination for the healing of the spirit. The Daintree EcoLodge & Spa offers a variety of accommodation choices with welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. Retreat from the world in one of our 'bayans', a private tree house designed for two. A micro screened balcony offers stunning immersion within the rainforest, abundant with a thousand shades of green growing before your eyes. Inside, luxurious and thoughtful amenities are tailored to satisfy our guests' wishes. Resting over a lily filled lagoon is Julaymba Restaurant & Bar, a magical destination for unwinding in the ambience of deep forest. A daily menu draws inspiration from the tropical surrounds showcasing contemporary Australian cuisine while the Bar selection is curated to complement this unique dining experience. Our Wellness Spa is a sanctuary in which to serenely disconnect. A harmony of nature, nurture, wisdom and healing infuses a luxuriant treatment menu using the Li'tya pure Australian botanical range. While guests may choose never to leave our rainforest escape, Daintree EcoLodge & Spa is also the perfect base from which to explore the wonders of tropical Far North Queensland. This sun-kissed corner of Australia lures travellers from all corners, providing an exclusive opportunity to encounter adjacent World Heritage sites. Ancient rainforest and the magnificent Daintree River meet untouched coastal ranges and the calm, azure waters of the Coral Sea, home to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Daintree EcoLodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Eco Hotel Daintree Village
Daintree Eco Lodge And Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing