We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“early birds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises

Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Daintree
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have been conducting tours on the Daintree River since 1987 and run a family operated, one hour river tour from a private jetty. Our boats are small and personalised for a quality experience and our tours focus on wildlife such as snakes and birds, with an emphasis on crocodile spotting. The tour includes commentary about the area and the mangrove ecosystem. We also provide good quality binoculars and complimentary hot and cold beverages.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“early birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Thanks to Bruce for a wonderful early morning birders cruise on Wednesday.
We braved the showers and saw 31 bird species.
Bruce was full of local knowledge about the birds, and could locate and identify them by their calls.
Wonderful time, thanks again Bruce.

Ron and Andrea C. BC Canada

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    106
    23
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bruce goes above and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just finished the 230 cruise with Bruce. We had intended to go at 930 this morning but Bruce said there had been an exceptionally high tide and it was better later. We were not disappointed. At first we thought we might have had him all to ourselves but some late comers arrived and he turned back to get them.
Bruce was v knowledgable and has cracking eyesight pointing out baby crocs - how he spotted them I'll never know.
We saw youngsters and a mummy croc. Bruce even extended the tour to try to find the daddy croc spotted that morning but alas he was hiding.
He also explained about the bits and the Eco system,
A wonderful afternoon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best trip in FNQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our guide for the cruise was Bruce's son. He was a thoroughly likeable, informative and enthusiastic young man. He showed us three crocodiles on the cruise, and also pointed out various birds. then came the highlight of the trip. We were returning to base, when I spotted what looked like a big log floating down river. On closer inspection I saw the tail of a croc behind it. I shouted to Belcher Junior that I had seen something, and he steered the boat towards it. He soon confirmed that the "log" was in fact a dead cow that the crocodile was guiding down river to it's hiding place. He said it was the "Spot of the Year". An amazing trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ashleyrobjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

best trip ever .lovely garden. friendly team.could have spent longer checking out all the different flowers

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We took the cruise as a family of 4 and all of us enjoyed it. Bruce has a keen eye to spot all the wildlife and a vast knowledge of the area. This is a well run local business that is well worth the time and money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing