We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the verandah  overlooking your private natural swimming pool. Perfect place to relax.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the verandah  overlooking your private natural swimming pool. Perfect place to relax.
Relaxing on the sumptuous outdoor furniture beside the swimming hole
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
35 reviews
View from the verandah  overlooking your private natural swimming pool. Perfect place to relax.
Relaxing on the sumptuous outdoor furniture beside the swimming hole
Luxury day bed inside the large open-plan house
Shaded natural swimming pool 15 metres long and 3 metres deep for your private enjoyment
View upstream - 400 meters of pristine waterfalls, rapids and swimming pools, and it's all yours.
A relaxing back and shoulder massage under the waterfall
Relaxing over the creek after a refreshing swim.
Private waterfalls spilling into your natural swimming pool. Swim under for a shoulder massage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Daintree, Daintree Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
P S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Second visit, first time with the kids, this time with a group of friends. Suitable for both.

One downside, the noise. But the upside is that it is the noise of your very own waterfall in your very own private backyard. If you are a photographer, you can really hone in your skills on a wide range of subjects. If you just want to relax, you can do that too.

It is remote with no internet or mobile access, and that is a good thing. Add a couple of extra days so you can really understand where you are.

Very worthwhile place to go to see the rainforest close up. Highly recommended.

Make sure you get down the road to Heritage Lodge and their restaurant On The Turps!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ahhhh the serenity ................
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan...
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This is well appointed absolutely private with a glorious swimming hole. It's quite well appointed but you have to be careful as the power system is limited. The driveway is steep so recommend arriving in h daylight. There are very limited range of goods for sale north of the ferry so make sure you bring your supplies with you. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy.
Liked least: It's quite dark inside. Mosquitoes mean you need plenty of repellant outside.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sloan W
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing place to relax and recharge!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and the kids (12 & 6) loved it too. With no mobile phone or internet access we were able to truly switch off and relax. It is such a beautiful and remote spot yet really great restaurants and activities were only 20 mins away. If you want to feel the stress melt away then this is a great way to achieve that. Recommend at least a 3 night stay to do it justice - we stayed for 5 and wished we'd booked for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is incredible
Liked least: We arrived after dark so had a little trouble finding it (our fault) - arrive in daylight
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic property in an out of this world location”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our kids (6 and 4). We found Halwyn was a fantastic property: well designed spacious and comfortable house with high ceilings, secluded in the middle of the rainforest, with a creek and natural pools right in front of the lovely veranda. The water flowing all day and night is a delight and a perfect reset for urban bodies and minds. Wildlife is amazing (of course coming from Hong Kong...). There was plenty of light during our stay despite all the trees. The house is well equipped and maintained. Electricity is provided by an on-site hydro facility, hence it is limited (dishwasher is tempting but not recommended so did not use it) but it does not matter, the low carbon print feeling is so satisfactory!

Grocery supply in the neighbourhood is very limited, so would suggest to load up before crossing the river unless you don't plan to cook at all. There are a few restaurants but you need to drive and we did not find the ones we tried offered a lot of choice and value.
There is no mobile coverage in the area and the phone provided (still helpful) is strictly local, of course no internet. It is absolutely fine in the context of a serene retreat, but can be annoying when trying to organise activities, even if there is plenty of "official" information available through leaflets.

The rainforest is a fascinating ecosystem, and it was rejuvenating to walk through multi-million year species. We were slightly disappointed because we also wanted to go scuba diving +snorkelling and had a reference provided by the owner but the company no longer operated from Cape Tribulation (basically scuba diving is currently not available from Cape Tribulation) and we had to go to Port Douglas which was a 2:30-hour return trip. From a foreigner perspective, although what attracted us in the first place was the rainforest, it just seems incongruous to be so close to the great barrier reef and yet to have to drive for so long to reach a port that can reach the reef...

Havind said that, we had a fantastic time at Halwyn and definitely recommend the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELOM19
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a real taste of the rainforest !”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family of 4 ( two girls 8&10) and it was great for a real taste of the rainforest. It is a very private property set down a track road with a steep drive down to the house. The setting is magical - with two creek pools to swim in ( our daughters loved this although a little apprehensive of the fish!!). I would say the property is perfect for a group of four or five - the upstairs bedrooms are lovely and the downstairs twin room is more of an addition. Also the beautiful day bed is the only comfy seating and Is perfect for 4/5 bottoms! The electricity is hydro and you have to be careful how much you use so not suitable people who like their gadgets. We enjoyed the grounds and being right in the heart of the rainforest. Perfect for a 3 night stay. Great BBQ for evenings on the veranda listening to the rainforest all around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting is magical for those wanting to really experience the rainforest
Liked least: We travelled in August and it was a little cold at night - take a jumper
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EatSleepP...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique rainforest setting where you can truly relax & unwind”
Reviewed November 26, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Our family enjoyed four wonderful days at Halwyn. Our girls loved swimming in the water hole with the jungle perch, catfish, eels and freshwater prawns. Gazing out from the deck at the roaring creek and spotting butterflies while we ate our BBQ lunch was just devine. With no TV, broadband or mobile phone service in the area we were able to relax and unwind. The house is clean and comfortable but it is the rainforest setting that makes this accommodation a truly unique destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rainforest setting
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Reviewed July 25, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$314
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing