We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay and very tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

we stayed here for two nights in April as part of a trip through Queensland. it seemed to be low season here so it was very quiet and we had the best view of the river from our room. the air con in the room was very efficient and essential in the heat and humidity. The deck which is for all guests has facilities to make your own meals and lends itself to guests mixing and chatting. The manager was very helpful in advising us on eating out, as because it was low season the local restaurants were not always open and the area is fairly remote. The manager also re-confirmed the boat trips we had booked. I would have given the resort 5 stars if there had been a swimming pool- this would have been very welcome in the heat.

Room Tip: we had a premium room with a beautiful river view. Air con was essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucycorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here out of season and turned out to be the only guests, but in a way that made us even more privileged to enjoy the peace, the views, the ever-changing river, the sound of the rain pounding on the roof, and the warmest of welcomes. "Bland and uninteresting" it certainly isn't - just quiet and quaint. The room is fairly small but after all, you only need to go in there to sleep. The huge deck area with its comfy seating, tables and kitchen area is a lovely area for wine at sunset and morning tea! Sally and Peter couldn't have been more helpful, ringing up both the restaurant and the boat cruise firm for us to make bookings, lending us a large umbrella to cross the road, and making sure we were OK in a power cut. We only had two choices for dinner, the latest at 6.30pm - it really was closed season! The second evening we arranged to pick up our meals from the cafe across the road, and eat them on the deck; they prepared a lovely tray for us. The jetty from where the river cruises depart is right below the deck so you can just wait till you see the boat arrive. Delightful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovegeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As a local to the region I had this place on my list of places that I might recommend, until I went there myself.

It has always been the most bland and uninteresting place to stay in the Daintree, but it was often the last place with vacancies and it is slightly cheap. And it does have a water view, but the main view is cleared paddock and some brown water.

Having experienced the brusque rudeness and strange attitude of the management, I can not recommend this place. Where previously I would stay there in a pinch, now I consider I would rather drive back to Cairns.

Room Tip: A room with a view has no privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyMakewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

and breathe in the serene river setting of this little jewel in the wilderness. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, but do expect 5 star treatment from the owners. After being on the road for a couple of weeks, this perched-over-the-Daintree RIver feels like a place you want to stay at a lot longer then you know you can. We did the early morning River Cruise from the dock here but surely did appreciate doing our laundry on-site the night before and enjoying the owner's campfire and stories while waiting for our clothes to dry. Best night's sleep we'd had in a while. And nothing can beat sitting on the lodge's porch at sunset/sunrise for the view. Give our regards to Peter and Sally from two US Southern Blondes.

Room Tip: any room in the lodge is pretty perfect but those near the end - right next to the river rule!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our room had a view of the Daintree River & a large expansive deck with communal kitchen facilities. The hosts were very knowledgeable about local tours & self-guided bush-walks and were very helpful & friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - well worth the trip, especially if you're looking for some relaxation & beautiful scenery. Thanks so much! Heather & Jeff

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hleguilloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were welcomed with a handshake at the door by a lovely man who runs the place. The facilities are very adequate and have their own country feel. We camped and found the area to be well maintained and comfortable right next to the river. I would highly recommend this camp ground to anyone seeking a lovely country retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMarion1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in the lodge section of the property , the remaining section being caravan campsites. The common area is a wooden deck overlooking the Daintree river where you can make a cup of tea, read a book or just do nothing. The views of surrounding cattle farms is serene and the property lies in the shadows of Thornton peak - a sight to behold. The lodge rooms are basic but there is a fridge and is very well-maintained as are the bathrooms. No complaints as far the rooms are concerned. It is less busy than other parts of the Daintree as it is located 5km past the turn-off to Cape Tribulation which is the launching pad for most activites in the Daintree forest. As a result, but for a few shops, the surrounds of the property are rural. This property also has boat jetty from where a few boat trips start, however it plies the upper reaches/ quieter section of the river, away from most other tour boats. We saw a crocodile about 100 metres upstream from this property's jetty! All in all, a lovely and memorable experience.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C so ask specifically for this if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex1980_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
1.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
591 reviews
7 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
8.1 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway bnb
7.4 mi away
Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground

Address: 2 Stewart St, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Daintree
Price Range: $95 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daintree Riverview offers eight en-suite lodges in the heart of the Daintree Village overlooking the beautiful Daintree River, with views of the lush, tropical, rainforest-clad mountains beyond. Each of the lodges opens out on to an extensive undercover timber deck where you can relax in complete tranquility, taking in the sights and sounds of the Daintree River and surrounding bird life. Includes a full kitchen on the deck, with a BBQ and laundry facilities nearby. Daintree Riverview also offers camping and caravan facilities, with or without power, in a lush tropical setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Riverview Lodges & Camp Ground Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing